We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Beluga Maastricht” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beluga

Beluga
Ranked #3 of 369 Restaurants in Maastricht
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European, Dutch, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Maastricht, The Netherlands
1 review
“Beluga Maastricht”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Excellent food. Excellent wines. Excellent service.
Value for your money? That's completely subjective.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Joop d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    265
    70
    22
    12
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We've been there yesterday. Food was brilliant and original. Loved all courses. Took an eight course arrangement and enjoyed every moment. The varity of tastes and colors was just marvelous. I wish they had more fruits and vegetables in the menu.

I've been to many good restaurants in my life but this is one of the best, food wise. I cannot say I admired the ultra modernist- minimalist setting, but that is a matter of personal taste.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ZviyaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Intricate flavours”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Tried the ten course chef's special. As expected for a michelin two-star, the ingredients were fresh and the food delicious, but what makes this special is the delicate play of different flavours that you get in every course. Even between courses, there were delicious little breads with butter or olive oil to showcase the local ingredients. Definitely worth a visit if you're anywhere nearby.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank ShortFatUgly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kortemark, Belgium
Level Contributor
45 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“A great evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Beluga is truly one of the best restaurants in the Netherlands. We enjoyed a 8 course meal with
accompanying wines. While tasting delicious amuses the chef himself (!), a dutch tradition I
guess, came explaning the possibilities for that night.
The courses were for some part prepared next to our table, with an element of show however.
The young sommelier was very enthousiastic about his wines, but they couldn't compete with
the excellent qaulity of the meal itself. This convinces me even more that if you can afford,
you better choose 2 or 3 good wines of the map to honour the delicious food.
Anyhow Hans van Wolde deserves his 2 michelin stars.
The interior and the views are great.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank stefaan v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What an experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

We had a great meal yesterday at Beluga!

After a personal welcome by the head chef we chose a 8 course meal with accompanying wines. the dinner started with 8 exquisite amuses (the parmesan foam with tomato was to die for) The flavors and textures were unbelievably good and really showed the quality of the kitchen. We tasted like we never did before! All dishes were great but we especially liked the 25 preparations of vegetables,the coquillles and the langoustine and veal.
The service was very good but quite informal (sometimes almost too informal) but this did ensure a very relaxed and lively evening.
Overall we had a fantastic time, and even though the bill was hefty (over 1000 for 4) it was a very unique and great experience and much nicer than a very formal 3 star meal I once had.
I would definetly reccommend this to everyone! You have to experience this!

    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank avwrdv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beluga also viewed

Maastricht, Limburg Province
Maastricht, Limburg Province
 
Maastricht, Limburg Province
Maastricht, Limburg Province
 
Maastricht, Limburg Province
Maastricht, Limburg Province
 

Been to Beluga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing