We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A great evening” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beluga

Beluga
Ranked #3 of 358 Restaurants in Maastricht
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Kortemark, Belgium
Level Contributor
45 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“A great evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Beluga is truly one of the best restaurants in the Netherlands. We enjoyed a 8 course meal with
accompanying wines. While tasting delicious amuses the chef himself (!), a dutch tradition I
guess, came explaning the possibilities for that night.
The courses were for some part prepared next to our table, with an element of show however.
The young sommelier was very enthousiastic about his wines, but they couldn't compete with
the excellent qaulity of the meal itself. This convinces me even more that if you can afford,
you better choose 2 or 3 good wines of the map to honour the delicious food.
Anyhow Hans van Wolde deserves his 2 michelin stars.
The interior and the views are great.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank stefaan v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    255
    68
    21
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What an experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

We had a great meal yesterday at Beluga!

After a personal welcome by the head chef we chose a 8 course meal with accompanying wines. the dinner started with 8 exquisite amuses (the parmesan foam with tomato was to die for) The flavors and textures were unbelievably good and really showed the quality of the kitchen. We tasted like we never did before! All dishes were great but we especially liked the 25 preparations of vegetables,the coquillles and the langoustine and veal.
The service was very good but quite informal (sometimes almost too informal) but this did ensure a very relaxed and lively evening.
Overall we had a fantastic time, and even though the bill was hefty (over 1000 for 4) it was a very unique and great experience and much nicer than a very formal 3 star meal I once had.
I would definetly reccommend this to everyone! You have to experience this!

    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank avwrdv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sittard, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
119 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 452 helpful votes
“It was good, it was delicious, but it did not knock me off my feet.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

For a diner with collegues and partners we went to Beluga. At previous occasions I was really impressed by the creative cuisine of Chef Hans van Wolde.

There was a warm welcome by an attentive and courteous staff. We were seated in a beautifull private dining room (14 pers. but could easily seat larger groups).

The amuse bouches were extremely tastefull and surprising, showing the craftsmanship of the Chef.
During the six course dinner we had tuna, a well grilled griet filet (don't know the translation of the dutch griet, a type of fish) a combo with scalop and crab, a tarte tatin with lobster and skillfuly prepared filet of lamb, al of the courses with realy tastefull small side dishes.

Desert with among others a beautifull easter egg (it was the friday before easter).

All of these dishes were very well prepared but dit not knock me off my feet in contrast to previous dinners/lunches at Beluga did. May be I have become to picky and have become accustomed to superb cuisine?

The wines arrangement was well chosen and tastefull but dit not really impress me neither.

But after all it was an excellent diner, in a very nice contemporary surrounding, very attentive and professional staff and with really tastefull food.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
7 Thank Gourmand_nl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
133 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Best Place in Maastricht”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

This critic here is fairly simply. If you can afford it, this place is a MUST. The food is absolutely amazing and totally deserves 2 michelin stars. Dont forget to try the home-brewed beluga beer.

    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Breakaway T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
100 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“One of the best restaurants in the Netherlands and beyond”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Atrue experience. Very unique style and cooking, worth a trip. Book weeks ahaed if you want to come on a saturday. The sommelier is also fantastic.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Batta83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beluga also viewed

Maastricht, Limburg Province
Maastricht, Limburg Province
 
Maastricht, Limburg Province
Maastricht, Limburg Province
 

Been to Beluga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing