We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth more than the trip!”
Review of Beluga loves you

Beluga loves you
Ranked #1 of 18 Dessert in Maastricht
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, Dutch, Seafood, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Special occasions, Business meetings, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
South Africa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Worth more than the trip!”
Reviewed May 13, 2012

I unfortunately never get time to write about all the restaurants we visit, so this one deserves a special note. Despite the trip going to Belgium and Germany only, we made a detour to visit this place. Coming from SA with friends it was important to impress - and it did! Nice setting, professional staff yet casual enough for me, the pre drinks (Champagne - magnum) was served with what was without doubt the best amuse bouches ever.

Chef and host Hans was personal, relaxed and a genuine superstar. Probably the most confident and non-pretentious experienced in a long time. Despite working in the open kitchen he had time to talk and shake hands. We had nothing but smiles and superb help fro. All the staff, all whom adapted easily to us by now rather wined foreigners.

We had the big menu and the wine served was matched well - did miss my range of Brunellos but rest was fairly comprehensive.

As food goes it was in the very top. Adding the ambience makes it worth another visit.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WineloverSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    334
    80
    27
    13
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Heerlen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
146 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Superrrrrrrrrr!”
Reviewed May 5, 2012

It was a suprice so we were a little underdressed but the owner treated us just the same. We had a table in 'the kitchen' so you could see everything! We think its the best place to sit because the other part of the restaurant is very passionless (like you are sitting in a show window). We had 8 courses and every course was a feast. Also the wines: delicious!!! We like to go again but it is quit expensive so I don't think we will go tomorrow ;-).

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank NataschaR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
225 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Modern restaurant with indeed Michelin star quality food”
Reviewed March 31, 2012 via mobile

Modern restaurant near the river, nicely located, foot bridge over the river to the old town centre. Very imaginative cooking, very tasteful and nicely presented. Perfect service. Not cheap, but very much worth it. Private dining room very nice, with a glass based wine cabinet along one side of the room.

Helpful?
Thank ML-NL-Amf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maastricht/ the Netherlands
Level Contributor
136 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Vegetarian explosion of tastes and colours”
Reviewed March 30, 2012

Visited Beluga with recently "converted" vegetarian for an extended lunch. We both were wowed by the unbelievable combinations (eight dishes if I remember well), tastes and colours.
Being not a vegetarian myself I was very much surprised by the fact this food challenges you to taste and smell and look with more intesnity then the "regular". My observation however.
Peter van Minderhout

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank petervanminderhout_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo Prefecture, Japan
Level Contributor
85 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good and close to El Bulli in Catalunya”
Reviewed March 18, 2012

I think one of the best in Holland. I can compare it to El Bulli but they are in good line. We always choose "chef's recommendation menu" which is good. Only if serving time can be shorten, more better because 3 hours is a bit too long for dinner.....

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank Nori K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beluga loves you also viewed

Maastricht, Limburg Province
Maastricht, Limburg Province
 
Maastricht, Limburg Province
Maastricht, Limburg Province
 
Maastricht, Limburg Province
Maastricht, Limburg Province
 

Been to Beluga loves you? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing