We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Central B&B w/ very friendly staf” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bed & Breakfast De Hofnar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bed & Breakfast De Hofnar
Ranked #5 of 49 Maastricht B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
The Hague
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Central B&B w/ very friendly staf”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

We states at the hofnarmaastricht for one night with my two young daughters and my parents. Very central location and very friendly staf. They have different types of rooms, budget or bigger more expensive ones with private bathrooms.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marros_Marros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    40
    12
    5
    5
See reviews for
12
43
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We booked a night at De Hofnar on our 3 week bike trip mostly in Belgium. It is located one block from the central market. We were met by Marta, who showed us to our room and where to store our bikes in their interior courtyard. We had a second floor room in the back facing the courtyard which was very quiet except for the church bells which thankfully only chimed the hour after 10PM. The room was comfortable and well appointed. WiFi is free throughout the building. Breakfast was served by Ava, a personable college student working there for the summer. High points. Are the location and friendly staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oud-Turnhout, Belgium
Level Contributor
57 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

With four friends, I have stayed at B & B Hofnar in Roermond. This B & B is ideally located, close to the market (but without noise from the street). The host, Ronald was very friendly and helpfully. Rooms were in a very good condition. Varied delciious breakfast (only less point: for 9 rooms, the breakfast room was rather small, but waiting time is rather limited).
This B & B is a good starting place for shopping in the outlet center (which we, men, naturally haven't done), but also for biking to the "Maaslandplassen" or to other nice places in the area.
If my wife has the intention for a shopping weekend in Roermond in the future, we defintely will stay at this B & B.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank postiljon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree
Level Contributor
74 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We stayed for three nights in room 12 (2nd floor overlooking cathedral) - very large room with en-suite. The room was clean and had all the facilities. Although very central it was also quiet. The staff were helpful but in reality we did not need much help. We took the option of booking a parking space from them which was about 5 minutes walk @ €12.50 per day. Because it was central we did not have breakfast (€7.50 per person) - there are plenty of cafes to go to. As a central base in the middle of the town centre you cannot fault it for the price!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelvin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baarn, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

The Hofnar (Keizer Karelplein) is quite a big bed and breakfast place in a very charming and central location. We stayed there as a team from my work and some of us continued our stay with family and friends.
You receive an email with arrival instructions in case you arrive after the personnel has left (end of the afternoon). This may seem impersonal, but the instructions are really clear (including a phone number in case you get stuck). At your arrival, the atmosphere in the hallway and common / breakfast room is very inviting: drinks and food at you disposal, just to be payed into a bowl in the fridge (total trust). The rooms are really charming (some with en-suite facilities, some sharing facilities with two or three other rooms), awaiting you with a Belgian chocolate on your pillow.
The rooms at the front of the house overlook the charming little church square but can be noisy during weekends because of drunk passengers in the night. There is double glazing if you want to lock out this noise, but then you also lack the ventilation. Still I would opt for a front room (no.7) next time again because of the charm and view.
The rooms could do with slightly more attention. One of our curtains was running of the rail. But when we mentioned this is was immediately fixed. The head of our shower was a quite chalky, so we cleaned it ourselves and the water system is not really stable for so many guests at the same time. You may get a cool shower, while waiting for the others to finish theirs.
The breakfasts really very good, and the personnel is extremely helpful and friendly.
Two 'green' suggestions for the manager:
1. Don't offer daily clean towels to all the guests automatically: ask them to indicate whether they want them or not.
2. Give the goldfish in the small bowl a better life.
We hope to be back soon!

Room Tip: Room no 7 for the lovely view (if you don't mind some street noise).
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vselleger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beja, Portugal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Owner and employee were very helpful and nice. The bed was the best, i slept like a baby. Nice breakfast. Location is spot on, right next to the cathedral and the main square. Overall very nice for the price.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JMPMPalma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turkey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Maastricht is a wonderful city but not cheap. I found De Hofnar in a guide book and tried to reserve one of the lower priced rooms with shared bath. They were booked for the weekend but did have available a studio apartment an easy block or two away from the main square and their primary address. This is De Hofnar 2 on Capucijnenstraat 35. What a lovely, clean place. It easily sleeps three (two in a full size bed, one in a single) but has room for more. I would recommend, if traveling with a few friends to rent this as well as the room(s) upstairs, which I did not see. The studio has a fully stocked, remodeled galley-style kitchen, a large modern bathroom, a private patio, a dining table for 6+ on a great street convenient to all the shopping and sights. The physical arrangements of the beds are a bit creative/funky and would require everyone in the studio to turn in at the same time. The breakfast, which is extra, was a full Dutch breakfast, and I was assured by a frugal friend who lives in The Netherlands, that it was reasonably priced. One has to walk from the studio to breakfast, but is quick and easy as well as across the street from a fascinating historic church. A bargain.

Room Tip: Ask for the studio. Details in the review
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dkanzler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maastricht hotels
0.8 mi away
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
#5 of 40 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 stars 1,125 reviews
1.4 mi away
NH Maastricht
NH Maastricht
#8 of 40 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 stars 948 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kaboom Hotel
Kaboom Hotel
#1 of 40 in Maastricht
4.5 of 5 stars 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
#2 of 40 in Maastricht
4.5 of 5 stars 990 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mabi
Hotel Mabi
#15 of 40 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 stars 371 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Maastricht
Crowne Plaza Hotel Maastricht
#10 of 40 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 stars 558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed & Breakfast De Hofnar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed & Breakfast De Hofnar

Property: Bed & Breakfast De Hofnar
Address: Keizer Karelplein 13, 6211 TC Maastricht, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Maastricht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bed & Breakfast De Hofnar 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Next to 't Vrijthof you will find Keizer Karelplein. At this beautiful square is our main location situated. You can choose to enjoy the unique view at the Sint Servaas Basiliek from the rooms at the front side of this location. Do you want a more quite room? Then we also have some rooms at the back side of the house where you can relax after a day of shopping or hiking and sightseeing. In the morning you can enjoy a delicious breakfast with again a beautiful view at the Sint Servaas Basiliek. Our B&B has 3 types of rooms, namely Type A, Type B and Type C. All of these types are spread over the building of our main location. Type A: Budgetroom This type has one doubled bed, own sink and tv on the room. It is a very cosy room and also one of our smallest rooms. The bathroom and toilet are situated in the hall and you have to share them with other guests. Type B: Standard Room This type of room has two single beds that are put together, own sink and tv on the room. This room is larger then the Budgetrooms. The bathroom and toilet are situated in the hall and you have to share them with other guests. Type C: Luxury Room This type of room has two single beds that are put together and a tv. This room has his own private bathroom and toilet. B&B De Hofnar also has a second location at Capucijnenstraat: right around the corner of our main location. It's a small, cosy house with 3 type B rooms. Those 3 rooms have to share one bathroom. On both locations there is free WIFI! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Bed & Breakfast De Hofnar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing