We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean Lodging with great views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Stayokay Maastricht
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Clean Lodging with great views”
Reviewed September 8, 2010

The stayokay was a pleasant surprise for somebody who has'nt stayed in backpackers lodges before. We used it on a bike trip and the rates were good. It doesn't have secure parking but the motorcycle parking in front of the lodge is under 24h surveilance.
Rooms are a bit industrial (stainless steel beds with latex covered pillows) but the beds are comfortable.
Bathroom facilities aren't great but this is what you can expect from budget accomodation.
Private rooms are available so it isn't necessary to share with other backpackers.

If you want style with comfort - look elsewhere. If you are looking for a budget place to stay clode to town - then this one is for you.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wentzelj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    77
    41
    9
    4
See reviews for
28
35
25
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, England
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2010

We stayed here with our kids aged 12 and 14 on our way back to the UK and it was a great stopover destination. Maastricht is areally elegant ,lively city and night with loads of cafes and restaurants to suit all budgets. The Stayokay hostel is a 10 minute walk from the centre, along the river or through the park. It is awell equipped hostel with a lovely terrace bar, TV room and internet access. We stayed in afour bed room with our own bathroom. The bathroom facilities were basic but adequate and the beds comfotable.Staff were very helpful. We have stayed in a couple of hostels run by the same people and find them a really good option for families, and much more flexible than some of the cheaper hotel chains.

Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Charnick0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queensland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2010

Stay Okay Maastricht is in a great spot in easy walking distance to the city with a great view. It is overpriced though as it is still a youth hostel. When we stayed there was a very large, noisy school group and we had a sleepless night thanks to the drug-taking of a couple in the room next door- beware of the thin walls! Stay Okay does have security bicycle storage though, which was great for us.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sms09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts, England
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2009

We were pleasantly surprised by the stay okay. Great price, good size room and location. Staff were accomodating and were good banter during our stag nights out and dress code to match. They have a great terrace over looking the river whcih was a great place to sink a few beers before exploring the rest of the city ( I recommend Eds Bar).

Good breakfast to start the day and Wii in the main lounge area to pass some hangover time. Lovely city, obviously not used to Stag dos but most were accomodating and joined in the fun. Pop over to Liege in Belgium for an awesome night out!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank themancalled_Dan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2009

I stayed at this hostel for 4 nights in May of '09. It's a bit pricy, but it is clean, safe and has a great location. The rooms themselves aren't large but they are comfortable. I stayed in one with 6 beds (two bunks, two singles) and we had an ensuite bath and shower. I thought that it would be convenient to have them so close, but they turned out to be a nuisance as everytime one of my roomates got up early or in the middle of the night they would wake us up. The toilets flushed very loud. My only real complaint was that they had 2 internet terminals available for the public and one was broken the entire time I was there. The staff showed no desire to fix it.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MsLibby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maastricht hotels
0.8 mi away
NH Maastricht
NH Maastricht
#12 of 38 in Maastricht
1,216 reviews
0.6 mi away
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
#6 of 38 in Maastricht
1,270 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kaboom Hotel
Kaboom Hotel
#2 of 38 in Maastricht
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
#3 of 38 in Maastricht
1,275 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Maastricht
Crowne Plaza Maastricht
#10 of 38 in Maastricht
682 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampshire Designhotel - Maastricht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stayokay Maastricht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stayokay Maastricht

Property: Stayokay Maastricht
Address: Maasboulevard 101, 6211 JW Maastricht, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Maastricht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Stayokay Maastricht 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stayokay Maastricht is splendidly located on the bank of the River Maas, in the heart of the town and with the bustling Onze Lieve Vrouweplein within walking distance. Stayokay Maastricht has a clean, contemporary interior, with a fresh, hospitable atmosphere. Stayokay Maastricht is the perfect base of operations for anyone visiting the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Stayokay Maastricht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing