We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Stayokay Maastricht
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“An amazing hostel”
Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

We were pleasantly surprised as we did not realise we had booked a hostel. It is very upmarket and in actual fact more like a hotel. The whole building is spotlessly clean, helpful staff, excellent food. We booked a quad room, the only downside being the bunk beds. The place is situated on the river with fantastic views and a river terrace to eat or sit out on.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Andersonsabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    77
    41
    9
    4
See reviews for
28
35
25
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

This is arguably one of the best hostels there are. And because of that, expect to pay a little more. The staff are beyond nice, and will go out of their way to help with most queries. Furthermore, breakfast provided is locally sourced, and really good. The rooms are spotless,and generally, the aura of the place is so positive, that it's a shame I was only there for three days.

Wifi is decent, and free for your own computer, though pricey if using one of theirs. Also bike rentals available to tour this wonderful city.

It is in a prime location in Maastricht, next to the river and within walking distance (10 minutes) of the University, Vrijthof and Markt.

Only issue depending on tastes is that people do come and go from your room, so you could be sharing a dorm with different people each night - then again, isn't that the point? Also, the temperature rather fluctuates, at times a bit chilly in the rooms, and others too hot. Though these are minor issues.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor have brilliant riverside views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mohammed A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

The view from our room over the river was really beautiful. The hostel itself is spotlessly clean and quite funky. It did work out quite pricey as, for three of us, we had to pay for a 4 bed dorm and this isn't the cheapest hostel. Breakfast was above average for budget accommodation.

Room Tip: see if you can get a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolineSiddons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei Taiwan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

A good location for car parking.

Though it didn't provide AC during the Summer, but the air is cool in the evening and walk distances to the park and the Market as well.

It's a good experinece to have breakfast at river view.

My parents felt comforable to have a walk in the park.

Room Tip: Choose a room close to the rover side
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JUICHENG H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Came back after a visit last year and again I was welcomed very helpful!
All staff is very kind. Room is basic and clean. Breakfast superb for this price!
Location is perfect, only 5 mins away from citycenter.
I'll come back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luc B, Manager at Stayokay Maastricht, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear Joseph,
Good to hear that you have enjoyed your stay again. We are happy to receive such nice comments. We hope to see you back again in Stayokay Maastricht. Kind regards, the Stayokay Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trento, Italy
1 review
Reviewed July 24, 2013

This was definitely my WORST experience in a hostel. I reserved a bed in a female dorm and paid already a lot for it (the price in high season is 31 euro per night in a 6 beds female dorm!)
They messed up my reservation and put me in a mixed dorm; it was a very hot day and the window in the dorm was LOCKED (and could not be unlocked), so the temperature in the room was around 32 degrees (according to my iphone). I complained for the heat and for the room (as it was not what I booked) and they relocated me in a 10 square meters room WITHOUT WINDOW, where the heat was unbearable and, of course, there was no ac.
The hostel is clean and there is a good breakfast, but this is no excuse: when I complained again the day after, they admitted that they put me in a room that "they normally do not rent out because it is too small" (I had to share it with another lady). Overall, it was the worst night I ever spent in a hostel (no fresh air, no window, claustrophobic).
More in general, the hostel is the only affordable place in Maastricht, but has no charme, no character, and everything is overpriced (from lockers to every extra service). I would NEVER recommend it to anybody!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
Helpful?
Thank Rita895
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luc B, Manager at Stayokay Maastricht, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear miss Rita,
First of all thank you very much for your feedback. We apologize sincerely for the inconvenience you have suffered. We've tried to contact you via email but haven't been able to reach you. We have looked in to the mistake that has been made to make sure that this will never happen again. If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact us. maastricht@stayokay.com
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

If you are wondering the city and want to get away from the hustle (5 min walk) and enjoy a nice cold beer right on the River Maas - this is a good and cheap place to do it. They have a bar with seating right on the water and its a nice place to relax even if you arent staying there.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brendan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maastricht hotels
0.8 mi away
NH Maastricht
NH Maastricht
#12 of 38 in Maastricht
1,216 reviews
0.6 mi away
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
#6 of 38 in Maastricht
1,270 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kaboom Hotel
Kaboom Hotel
#2 of 38 in Maastricht
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
#3 of 38 in Maastricht
1,275 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Maastricht
Crowne Plaza Maastricht
#10 of 38 in Maastricht
682 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampshire Designhotel - Maastricht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stayokay Maastricht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stayokay Maastricht

Property: Stayokay Maastricht
Address: Maasboulevard 101, 6211 JW Maastricht, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Maastricht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Stayokay Maastricht 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stayokay Maastricht is splendidly located on the bank of the River Maas, in the heart of the town and with the bustling Onze Lieve Vrouweplein within walking distance. Stayokay Maastricht has a clean, contemporary interior, with a fresh, hospitable atmosphere. Stayokay Maastricht is the perfect base of operations for anyone visiting the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Stayokay Maastricht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing