We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic rooms with some major issues”
Review of Hotel Zenden

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Zenden
Ranked #8 of 38 Hotels in Maastricht
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 23, 2010

I stayed in this hotel for one night during a weekend in August, and was glad my stay didn't last longer. To start with the good things: the hotel is in a very central location right in the old quarter of Maastricht, and it was completely refurbished very recently so everything feels fresh and new. The shower was smallish, but had excellent water temperature and pressure. Unfortunately these pros were completely cancelled out by some major issues, which I have listed below in order of significance.

First of all the hotel has no airconditioning. In a chilly country like the Netherlands this will not be a problem during most of the year, but during this particular weekend the outside temperature was 25 Celsius and inside it was 5 more. Our room had two big windows towards the rear which could be fully opened, but even that couldn't bring down the temperature until 5 a.m. or so. Second the pillows were horrible: much too high for anybody's taste. Third, there is nobody at reception after 3 p.m., so I coldn't go down to discuss the aircon or pillow issue until the next morning (the clerk then told me that there is actuallt an "air quality system", but that it was broken and that they hadn't been able to find somebody to fix it due to the summer holiday). Fourth, the rooms are very basic and sterile. I can imagine that some people like this style, but to me it was just too Spartan. It reminded me of the time I stayed in an easyHotel in London (read my earlier review), except this time the entire room was white instead of orange, and of course the price was more than double. The room doesn't even have a desk or proper chair. As a fifth and final issue I found the breakfast too expensive at 13 euros per person. But I'm aware that this is not an uncommon price, and at least here you have a choice whether or not to take it. After a horrible and largely sleepless night I was eager to leave the place asap, and we had a very nice breakfast at a restaurant on the Pietersberg instead for under 10 euros.

I'll be back in Maastricht to enjoy the nice atmosphere in the city and the lovely hills around it, but I'll stick with the tried & trusted Crown Plaza hotel across the river, and swallow the 30-40 euros extra per night in exchange for a decently sized and decorated room and a proper night's sleep.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris_Jetten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nightmoves, General Manager at Hotel Zenden, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2010

Dear Chris,

I am sorry that your experience at our hotel has not been positive. I still would like to thank you for taking the time to write your review and pointing out some issues.

Last summer we also noticed that the ventilation in the hotel is not optimal on 'tropical' days. It appears to be that the climate change is so radical that traditional air quality systems are not sufficient anymore. We were even informed by colleagues that they also had problems with regular airco systems last summer. Currently we are working on the ventilation problem on very hot days.

We were not aware of any pillow thickness inconvenience and will acquire thinner pillows for guests with different tastes.

As we are a very small hotel we do not have a 24 hrs reception. From Monday to Friday the reception is open until 22hrs. In weekends the reception is at least open until 15 hrs unless guests want to check in later (mostly). As you might have read in the hotel information brochure there is a 24 hrs, 7 days a week service number available in case the reception is closed.

We understand that our less traditional, minimal, white hotel design is not for everyone's taste. Though we do receive a lot of positive critics from (inter)national press and guests. Resulting in another nomination for best interior design of the year (venuez hospitality and style awards 2010) this week.

Again I would like to thank you for reviewing our hotel. We are always open for constructive critics and do our utmost best to please guests and solve any problems.

Martijn Zenden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (359)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 359 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2010

We stayed at a great design studio at a perfect location. Parkingfacilities are closeby. You can choose between the parkinggarage (expensive) or beneath the Kennedybridge for only 6 euro a day. The staff was very friendly and made us feel at home. In front of our studio the river Maas and behind the studio the center of Maastricht. No noise when we where inside. The studio had al the comfort we wished. Great bed, beautifull bathroom, smal but compleet kitchen and a nice sofa to sit on. Unfortunately the weather wasn't great otherwise we could have sit on our own terras.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elma7373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2009

This hotel is totally renewed in a very modern way. Rooms are totally white with design (Allessi) furniture. Personel is very helpful and kind. Breakfast is good. The situation is ideal. In a quiet street next no the centre. Do not hesitate.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kanaal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2007

We visited this hotel in early january. We had booked in in november and when we were checking out and wanted to pay, they told us it was 20 euro more expensive then when we booked it initially. we complained about this, but they said it wasn't their problem and we had to pay. Furthermore the hotel is located in a fitness center and there is a bad odor of sweat and chloride in the halls. Our room was very noisy. we could hear everything, outside, in the hallway, in the adjacent room and our toilet kept dripping all night. In other words, we would certainly not recommend this hotel. We received bad service, the staff was rude, it had no parking so we had to pay an extra 20 euro a night for that and the room was very noisy.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank jensonAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nightmoves, owner at Hotel Zenden, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2009

As of september 2009 the hotel is completely renovated and re-designed and has had a change of management team. Thus this review does not reflect the current status of the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 days ago
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank liliank666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Nimbus71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, traveled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Bob3006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maastricht hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Maastricht
Crowne Plaza Maastricht
#12 of 38 in Maastricht
750 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Dutch
The Dutch
#1 of 38 in Maastricht
450 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampshire Designhotel - Maastricht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Kaboom Hotel
Kaboom Hotel
#2 of 38 in Maastricht
598 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Beaumont
Hotel Beaumont
#5 of 38 in Maastricht
1,201 reviews
0.5 mi away
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
#6 of 38 in Maastricht
1,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Zenden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zenden

Address: St. Bernardusstraat 5, 6211 HK Maastricht, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 38 Hotels in Maastricht
Price Range: $108 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Zenden 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Zenden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing