We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Nice location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Zenden

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Zenden
Ranked #13 of 40 Hotels in Maastricht
Certificate of Excellence
Bucharest, Bucuresti, Romania
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

The place is very nice and clean. We was with our friends and we bookt studio 2 and 3.
The design is very nice and modern.The vue from the room is beautiful. The studio had everything what we need it including cuisine, glases etc. At the bathroom they put l occitane cosmetics. The studio is vey near to the city center.we could see the castle from the room. Its better not to have a lot of laguage because they dont have ascenseur.I think that they tryed to organise the place very nice.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Diana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamZenden, Front Office Manager at Hotel Zenden, responded to this review, January 24, 2015
Dear Diana B,

Thank you for your wonderful review!
How nice to hear that you and your friends enjoyed your stay with us.

We indeed don’t have an elevator but there's always the possibility for a ground floor studio.

We hope you stay with us again!

Kind regards,
Tamara Post
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    72
    19
    7
    5
See reviews for
13
102
10
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
104 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

Very nice hotel , everything is white and clean! The apartement is big and have everything you need from plates to coffe machine ! There are 2 different buildings, we stay in studio 2 in the second building and was very nice!
The position of the hotel is good place in city center near some restaurants and bars!
They close the front desk at 18.00 but they give you the acces code and you can check in yourself! They are very organized!
I recommand this hotel , if you go there is the best choice!
The price is very good for what they offer!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alice197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamZenden, Front Office Manager at Hotel Zenden, responded to this review, January 24, 2015
Dear Alice197,

Thank you for your wonderful review!
How nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to welcome you again at Zenden!

Kind regards,
Tamara Post
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

The hotel is located in a fantastic area of the city. Very centrally located, next to the shops, restaurants and bars.

The Front Desk staff was very friendly and helpful and provided us with the information we needed.

Some things I found strange are that there is no cleaning of the bedrooms. We were informed that once every 3 days Housekeeping cleans the rooms. For the price we paid (118e per night excl breakfast), I expected more service there. The same applies to the opening hours of the front desk, during the weekend they are open until 3pm only.

The room itself was spacious and bright, but very minimal. No storage space for clothes and luggage, only 3 small drawers in the bathroom and no cupboard.
The TV behind the mirror is very fashionable, but not practical. You can't operate the TV with the remote control, as the mirror blocks the signal.

The hotel is situated in a lovely small street, but my guess is that the building itself is fairly old. This meant that it was very noisy with squeaking stairs and lots of noise from the neighboring rooms.

I might stay again mainly for the great location and friendly staff. In terms of atmosphere and service, I would probably look for another hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilse K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martijn Z, Manager at Hotel Zenden, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Ilse K,

Thanks for your visit and valuable feedback. We especially enjoyed reading the things that delighted you during your stay.
With regards to our cleaning, the rule that you mention applies to our appartement/studios. These are cleaned 3 times a week. The hotel has daily cleaning.
We were sorry to hear that you didn’t enjoy the minimal atmosphere that exists within our hotel. While we certainly wish you had enjoyed some of the unique features of our hotel, we understand when someone’s preferences are not our own.

We still hope to welcome you back soon.

Warm regards,

Martijn and the staff of Hotel Zenden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
126 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Super hotel, Really well priced. Great location. Very simple, white design interior and if that's your thing then you will love this hotel. Excellent beds. Good but fairly simple breakfast. Super for a few days Maastricht (the overdose of white would get to me after a while).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StephenGeven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martijn Z, Manager at Hotel Zenden, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear StephenGeven,

We wanted to say thank you for your visit and kind words. It will be a pleasure to welcome you back and we look forward to it.

Team Hotel Zenden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

I stayed with my partner at the hotel in early November 2012 in one of the suites in the separate building. The location of the hotel is great and allows for easy exploring of the Maastricht area. The staff was also very helpful - we had issues with our TV which where resolved that very evening.
The room came with everything we required, including a Nespresso machine which was a nice touch.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank null815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martijn Z, Manager at Hotel Zenden, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Null815,

Your feedback was a delightful read and we thank you for it.
I am glad we could have helped you to resolve the issues with the TV quickly.

Thank you and come back soon!

Team Hotel Zenden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We had a very friendly welcome at the Hotel Zenden where we only stayed for one night. We wish it could have been longer. Our room, Nana, was fantastic-on two levels. Everything worked fine and even though it was hot outside the cross ventilation kept us cool. We enjoyed a swim in the pool-magical! The breakfast buffet looked good though we didn't eat there. The hotel has an excellent central location. Our stay finished with a very warm good-bye. We will be back!
One warning: anyone with mobility problems should be aware that as nice as the hotel is there are a lot of very steep stairs with no elevator.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JaniceAnne95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martijn Z, Manager at Hotel Zenden, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear JaniceAnne95,

Thank you for the review. We’re thrilled our hotel exceeds your expectations! – we’ll pass along your compliments to our team. We are aware that for not so mobile guests the stairs might be too much of an effort, but there's always the possibility for a ground floor studio. Just contact us and you do not have to walk any stairs. We hope you stay with us again!

Sincerely,

@HotelZenden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

The room was nice (we stayed in Suite #2 in a seperate building), it was quite "design" which the girlfriend liked and the toiletries etc were l'occitane so that was nice as well. The Wifi didn't work and the reception was closed, so a bit of a pain, but all in all a nice room and hotel. The biggest issue was on checkout. I asked if I coudl leave my bike (had just finished a 500 km cycle race the day before) for 3 hours after checking out, it was 11 AM and the place was empty, I asked if I coudl leave it behind a tree in the courtyard or anywhere else out of the way and they refused with the receptionist saying her boss woudl be angry. Maybe this is their policy, but it left a bad taste with me and I ended up wheeling my racebike around maastricht for 3 hours. It was unnecessary and I was very flexible in just asking to leave it in any convenient place. Like I said, the hotel was nice and the room good value for the money, but this one piece of complete inflexibility was enough to ensure I dont' stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kyle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martijn Z, Manager at Hotel Zenden, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Kyle J,

Many thanks for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay at our hotel.
We attach a lot of importance to your feedback as it is with this information that we are able to recognize and improve the critical points within our organization.

I am happy to note that you enjoyed your stay. However I would like to extend my apologies for the inconvenience upon checkin out. We are just a very small hotel with limited space. Therefor we do not have the possibility to stall bycicles.
No need to walk with your bike for three hours though; in the city centre there are three, covered, supervised bicycle parks. The one closest to the hotel is the Kesselskade. It´s about one minute walking distance.

I would like to thank you again for your time and do sincerely hope to welcome you back to our hotel.

With kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maastricht hotels
0.5 mi away
Kaboom Hotel
Kaboom Hotel
#2 of 40 in Maastricht
4.5 of 5 stars 282 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Maastricht
Crowne Plaza Hotel Maastricht
#10 of 40 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 stars 558 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
#1 of 40 in Maastricht
4.5 of 5 stars 991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampshire Designhotel - Maastricht
0.5 mi away
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
#5 of 40 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 stars 1,128 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Beaumont
Hotel Beaumont
#4 of 40 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 stars 923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Zenden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zenden

Property: Hotel Zenden
Address: Sint Bernardusstraat 5, 6211 HK Maastricht, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 40 Hotels in Maastricht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Zenden 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Zenden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing