We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GOOD VALUE FOR MONEY”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Au Quartier

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Au Quartier
Ranked #24 of 37 Hotels in Maastricht
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
164 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“GOOD VALUE FOR MONEY”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

Hotel Au Quartier is a three-star hotel which provides good value. The room I had was spacious, the bathroom was very clean and the amenities were above average. It provides a good breakfast and a bonus is that it houses an excellent restaurant. The location is tremendous -- right in the center of town, walking distance from Onze Vrouwe Plein and the Vrijhof as well as the University of Maastricht. I was in Maastricht during a heat wave and I missed air-conditioning. But it is not reasonable to expect air-conditioning in a city that rarely experiences such heat waves. In normal circumstances, one would not need A/C.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MIKKAVON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    29
    11
    3
    0
See reviews for
4
21
4
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kirkby-in-Ashfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

Travelled as a lone traveller attending a conference at the local University. Had a very pleasant 3 night stay over all.

Staff were friendly and welcoming. I messed up setting my safe password and it was rectified instantly.

My room was very clean. The beds were very comfortable indeed, crisp white sheets and lots of comfy pillows. There were blackout curtains on all the windows. The room also had an ample wardrobe, lots of nice lighting and a desk and chair. There was a very large television, telephone, hairdryer etc. All exactly as you would expect and in good working order. The bathroom was large, warm, spotlessly clean and had a huge deep bath and great shower with ample hot water. Although the hotel advertised free wifi I must admit that the quality of the signal I got was so low it was impossible to use Skype and I only managed to check emails once during the whole 3 day visit. This is disappointing if you are relying on having internet access for work purposes.

I had breakfast on all three mornings and it was a typical continental-style help yourself buffett with lots of choice of breads, fruits, juices, cereals, meats, cheeses, etc.

My main criticism of this hotel isn't a major one and is easily overcome - noise from outside at night. Although the street is incredibly quiet the windows keep out no noise whatsoever. I was woken numerous times during the night by people riding pushbikes, the odd car, people walking and then when the pigeons started in the early hours I actually thought they were inside the room with me.

My tip, bring your ear plugs because the location of this lovely little hotel is well worth it. A few minutes walk from all the shops, bars, cafes and sights of Maastricht.

If I ever have the pleasure of going to Maastricht again I would rebook without hestiation.

Room Tip: I would ask for a non-street side room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SueEEESue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape town
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

This 3* hotel in the old part of Maastricht was a hoot, but I would not recommend it to anyone who likes his/her hotel to be predictable and untroubled. Arriving in Maastricht at 1330 I found the hotel front door closed and no amount of knocking or ringing could rouse anyone. After finding another hotel and ringing, they opened the door, having been in a far off part of the restaurant. My room wasn't ready yet, although I was sent up there with the key to find it unwelcoming. 20 minutes later I was in. I had a room on the street and it was noisy despite being far enough away from the Vrijthof main square. Would definitely bring ear plugs. Breakfast was great, although expect to boil your own egg. The guest at the next table cracked his open not realising it was raw with predictable results. Finally, needing some shirts cleaned, I sent them for laundry. 48 hours and ready to leave, they were not back. The owner's brother was dispatched and ll turned out well in the end. I really liked this hotel despite its various oddities. The manager was always willing to make a plan and it was certainly never boring. But nervous travellers beware and probably go for something a tadge more boring.

Room Tip: Didn't get to check out rooms off the street, but bring ear plugs whatever happens
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marc M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
145 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

Very nice hotel where we stayed for two nights. The hotel is located in an attractive part of historic Maastricht. The road outside the hotel has hardly any car traffic. Breakfast is quite basic. Bedroom was fine. Had an evening meal in the restaurant where the food and service met our expectations. Snowing outside but the rooms were nice and warm.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Marc S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Level Contributor
60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

It's ok. Not bad, not good, just fine for a couple of nights in Maastricht. The first night and morning there was no hot water; it was fixed the next day. Breakfast ok too. The service was correct, not polite, not unpolite; for example, nobody said "sorry" about there not being hot water, nor was I informed that it had been fixed; I had to ask around. But all in all, I would recommend it.

Room Tip: Upper floor is nice, maybe not in the summer though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank violeta r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottish Borders, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

Stayed in this lovely hotel in what must have been one of the hottest days in August. The room was not air-conitioned but the staff placed a fan in the room which made it bearable. Despite being on the front of the hotel, noise was not a problem. Breakfast was fine, and served in the restaurant. The evening before we ate in the courtyard which is delightful. The food is OK, the menu doesn't seem to change very much, and I would have preferred a choice of sweet rather than the sloppy trifle.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank themoustache
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012 via mobile

I've just returned from a trip to Maastricht with my husband. We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights and could not find any fault. The staff were friendly and the room was spacious and clean. Breakfast was plentiful and served until 10.30, so good for those that like a little longer in bed. We ate in the restaurant one evening and this was included in the price of our stay. You can't book online but it is worth it to call or email and ask for a deal - we got 3 nights with breakfast and 1 dinner + wine for 192 euros each.
The hotel is close to the town and lots of lovely restaurants too. Please don't overlook this hotel - it is a real gem!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MissGeorgeLittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maastricht hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Zenden
Hotel Zenden
#10 of 37 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel les Charmes
Hotel les Charmes
#15 of 37 in Maastricht
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel de Pauwenhof
Hotel de Pauwenhof
#23 of 37 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Botticelli
Hotel Botticelli
#28 of 37 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.3 mi away
Amrath Hotel DuCasque
Amrath Hotel DuCasque
#19 of 37 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chambre d'Hote Rekko
Chambre d'Hote Rekko
#25 of 37 in Maastricht
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Au Quartier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Au Quartier

Property: Hotel Au Quartier
Address: Kapoenstraat 32, 6211 KW Maastricht, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 37 Hotels in Maastricht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Au Quartier 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Au Quartier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing