We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top notch”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Buitenplaats Vaeshartelt
Ranked #7 of 37 Hotels in Maastricht
Certificate of Excellence
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Top notch”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stayed here in July for the Andrea roux concert and the place was areal bonus and good value compared to other places in the town centre. It is ashort taxi ride from the town but well worth it for the surroundings,it was so nice we actually spent the whole day in the gardens and surrounding area.big thank you to all the staff who are happy and obliging

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peterandjanice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaeshartelt, Employee at Buitenplaats Vaeshartelt, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Mark,

Thank you for your positive response.
We hope to meet you again at Buitenplaats Vaeshartelt.

Kind regards,

Lisa Beurskens
Buitenplaats Vaeshartelt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

824 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    312
    382
    99
    26
    5
See reviews for
80
546
13
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

I really enjoyed our weekend at this Hotel. It is outside of Maastricht but only 10 minutes to one of the Park & Walk car parks which are again about 10 minutes walk away from the central Vrijthof.The Castle is set in it's own grounds and is very picturesque.The grounds are lovely to walk around and give great views across to the Castle.
All the Staff we met were friendly and helpful and spoke very good English.
The room was nicely decorated but relatively basic, ( no bathtub, no tea & coffee making facilities).
We found the restaurant to be very good and the breakfast buffet was excellent with a large choice of hot and cold food.
The only things that seemed out of place were the plastic chairs scattered around the grounds.
I would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to my friends.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkP58_02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naarden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
113 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

This place is located 5km north of Maastricht, and you really do need a car to get to the centre, if you wanted to. Beautiful location and very nicely decorated building. The rooms are located behind the castle, in a separate building, and have a more modern feel to it. They are not luxurious, but this is to be expected for the price we paid (€82 per night). No bathtub or minibar.
Restaurant is good, with very good service and nice food. We enjoyed the Easter brunch, which was perfectly organized, and a tip for families with young children. Staff was friendly. All in all a very enjoyable stay and I would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lou2204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaeshartelt, Director of Sales at Buitenplaats Vaeshartelt, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear guest,

We are truly thankful for your kind comments about our hotel.

We are happy to know that you like our facilities as our restaurant, trips and the Easter brunch, and our staff that made your stay enjoyable.

Also I want to thank you for your comment about our rooms, we will take it into consideration. As you might like to know we are going to update our rooms and we hope to welcome you in the future.


Yours Sincerely,

Toos Hofstede
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotselaar, Belgium
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We had high hopes for this hotel: descriptions and reviews looked good.

The check-in went very smoothly, helped by friendly staff. We also were offered a welcome drink (biological juice).

The room (lower floor) was rather small, but we already knew this from earlier reviews. However once we opened the door, the very distinctive smell of the air fresheners immediately came to you. We had to open the windows to clear the air...

The beds were too soft, so in the morning I had a pain in my back from the bed. If you are a light sleeper you won't get too much rest here: you can really hear everything through the walls and ceilings. Everytime someone opens a door in the hallway you hear this loudly in your room.

We had checked that it was possible to come to the breakfast until 11am. We were there at 10.50 and made our choice from the buffet. There were about 10 people from the staff running around in the breakfast area: it really didn't give you a comfortable feeling. At 11.02 the main waiter came to all tables that were still eating, telling we had to leave the area as they had to prepare it for eastern brunch. Our plates were still full, and we should take everything to the bar. They could have told us this when we came in at the breakfast area, so we could immediately be seated in the bar area. Now we had to move everything to there, for which we passed. This really is something I have never experienced and find unacceptable.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank beerbalou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaeshartelt, Director of Sales at Buitenplaats Vaeshartelt, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your opinion about our hotel on this site.

We regret that the hotel wasn't what you expected. We will take your comments about our rooms and the soft beds into account with our upcoming renovation of the rooms.

We appreciate all your remarks, and I am truly sorry about what happend during your breakfast, our guests’ feedback is the best way to aim efforts at providing the best service.


We really thank you for your review and we hope you come back soon in order to see all the improvements made in our services and facilities.

Kind regards,

Toos Hofstede
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
106 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Given the difficulty in getting a room in Maastricht during TEFAF, this is a good choice. The rooms are basic but clean. There are no toiletries in the bathrooms but you can request them at the front desk. The taxi to and from TEFAF is around Euro18 one way. Breakfast offers both hot and cold items.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ladybug789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
varik
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Room was very small, but adequate. Castle tasteful design. Beds were not made after the first night, reception not very helpful. Price/ quality raton not very high. Breakfast was really nice, but a bit overpriced in my opinion

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank basdeckers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maastricht hotels
2.3 mi away
Kaboom Hotel
Kaboom Hotel
#2 of 37 in Maastricht
4.5 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
2.2 mi away
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
#6 of 37 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
2.8 mi away
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
#3 of 37 in Maastricht
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
NH Maastricht
NH Maastricht
#12 of 37 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,187 reviews
2.6 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Maastricht
Van der Valk Hotel Maastricht
#11 of 37 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hampshire Designhotel - Maastricht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buitenplaats Vaeshartelt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buitenplaats Vaeshartelt

Property: Buitenplaats Vaeshartelt
Address: Weert 9, 6222 PG Maastricht, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 37 Hotels in Maastricht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Buitenplaats Vaeshartelt 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Buitenplaats Vaeshartelt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing