We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location, close to Maastricht”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Buitenplaats Vaeshartelt
Ranked #9 of 38 Hotels in Maastricht
Certificate of Excellence
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Beautiful location, close to Maastricht”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights, since most hotels in the centre of Maastricht were pricy and boring looking. This castle style hotel is located only 5 minutes drive from Maastricht , in a beautiful and peacefull setting. The building is decorated with lots of taste - mixing modern furniture with classic interiour. Staff were friendly and breakfast was wonderfull, with plenty of choice. You can have a walk around the hotel and enjoy the beautiful gardens. The rooms are compared to the hotel rather standard - clean and comfortable, but a bit dull for such a beautiful property. Unfortunately they use cheap bed linen and synthetic bed covers, which is a downside. The airco is very noisy and like other travellers, we got bitten everywhere by mosquito's. However, if I return to Maastricht I will stay here again, since it's wonderful to wake up surrounded by beautiful gardens.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

853 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    394
    102
    28
    8
See reviews for
81
564
14
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

I visited Kasteel Vaeshartelt with a group of 10 ladies on a hen weekend! Despite the fact that there was a big wedding taking place that weekend, the staff could not have been more helpful, even when, because of wet weather we had to change meal arrangements etc. The facilities, accommodation, food and surroundings were all fine, and I would not hesitate to go back, or to recommend the hotel to friends.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2012

We stayed at the Kasteel Vaeshartelt when we went to see Andre Rieu in Concert. The hotel is set in lovely surroundings. The rooms are not situated in the old building but in a newish block behind the main property, this meant that there was no noise from the bar or restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worthingtourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kortrijk, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2012

During our business trip to Holland we got a chance to stay in this hotel, though me and my colleague both are neither history creatures nor castle lovers but we liked and enjoyed our stay in noble residence. Surroundings of this hotel are adorable, gardens and greenery make nights exquisite very different from places situated in clamor of cities. Rooms are comfortable and dining is an experience to cherish for a long time. With spotless cleanliness, expert and smiling staff and mixture of ancient and modern it is place to stay with friend, family and even to carry out business meetings and events. We are seriously considering it as next spot for our company’s Directors meeting.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alkmaar, Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2012

Kasteel Vaeshartelt is just disappointing. We stayed there for one night on a city trip to nearby Maastricht.
The hotel is located in the southern province Limburg. The surroundings are beautiful and the hotel is close to the beautiful city of Maastricht.
The rooms are situated in a seventies annex and not in the Castle. The rooms look old and dated. The matrasses are very soft and the rooms are hot and damp… without an airco! The only way to breathe at night was to open the window, but then you'll get mosquitoes …
No, it was not a pleasant night we spent there!
Breakfast is average, not good not bad.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ron_the_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2012 via mobile

We only spent one night here but truly adored it! We played golf near by and we biked into Maastricht. The gardens were wonderful and both dinner and breakfast were fantastic. We are not into cities with their noise or nightlife....so this was a perfect hotel for us.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank teedeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
piumazzo
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2012

I staied in Veshartelt for 2 nights for business trip in Maastricht, the hotel is great and placed in a fantastic old traditional noble residence. The room is good and you have free wi-fi service available. The breakfast is rich of all that things you need for both continental and english. I tried also the restaurant for a business dinner and it was good....fish, wine and sweets in the end.
From the big park that surrounds the hotel there is a walk route that arrive directly to Maastricht city centre.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank macca_piumaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maastricht hotels
2.3 mi away
Kaboom Hotel
Kaboom Hotel
#2 of 38 in Maastricht
532 reviews
2.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Maastricht
Crowne Plaza Maastricht
#11 of 38 in Maastricht
713 reviews
2.9 mi away
NH Maastricht
NH Maastricht
#12 of 38 in Maastricht
1,265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
#6 of 38 in Maastricht
1,302 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Dutch
The Dutch
#1 of 38 in Maastricht
319 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hampshire Designhotel - Maastricht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buitenplaats Vaeshartelt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buitenplaats Vaeshartelt

Property: Buitenplaats Vaeshartelt
Address: Weert 9, 6222 PG Maastricht, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 38 Hotels in Maastricht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Buitenplaats Vaeshartelt 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Buitenplaats Vaeshartelt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing