We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice new rooms - terrible old rooms”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Bigarre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Bigarre
Ranked #31 of 37 Hotels in Maastricht
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice new rooms - terrible old rooms”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2010

We booked a bargain room here for 52/night, but the room was in the part of the hotel that has not been refurbished. It looked really oudated and old, the decor was horrid, and the room smelled quite bad (like old musty stale smoke). After we complained about the smell etc. they suggested we spray some perfume to cover it. We were none too pleased with this suggestions, but we ended up getting a slight discount on one of their large rooms in the refurbished part of the hotel. It was very spacious and very nicely appointed, with wood floors, comfortable bed, good shower, and a big TV. It also has a large terrace that we couldn't take advantage of b/c of snow. I would recommend it so long as you stay in the refurbished part.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sparouge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    48
    52
    22
    13
See reviews for
26
75
10
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
amsterdam
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2009

I have spent one night in this hotel and the accomodation was really excellent.
I have the very best memories of this day in Maastricht and the night in the hotel. The staff was really welcoming and the room was nice (for a longer stay I would surely have missed the warderobe and the fridge). This old building is in the very heart of the historical city centre. For my next stay in Maastricht I would choose the same hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank redbaron813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maputo, Mozambique
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2009

We stayed in one of Hotel Bigarre's self-catering apartments whilst on holiday in Maastricht in June 2009.

The apartment was on the main square and the location was great. It was a bit odd as the front entrance was inside of a womens wear shop.

The apartment was spacious and clean and had everything we needed except a toaster and working internet (this was being fixed apparently).

The drawbacks were: 1) that the stairs going up to the apartment were extremely steep and narrow. I would not reccommend it for older travellers, travellers with young children or anyone with heavy luggage; 2) The vertical blinds in the living room were falling to pieces and they couldn't be closed properly; 3) there is a bank of airconditioning units outside the bedroom window that could be a bit noisy during hot weather.

I think if I was going back to Maastricht I would ask to see another apartment rather than this one and when booking I would suggest that you check the situation regarding the stairs as they do have other apartments in Maastricht that are on the ground or first floors I believe.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnny_Monkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2007

My husband, daughter and I booked an apartment at this property. It is ideally situated a few minutes from the main market square and a short walk from the best dining, shopping and sightseeing in Maastricht. The staff was extremely courteous and professional. They also have regular hotel rooms, which I did not see. The apartment was clean, up-to-date, well-appointed and comfortable.

Stayed October 2006
Helpful?
4 Thank sualau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maastricht hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel d'Orangerie
Hotel d'Orangerie
#32 of 37 in Maastricht
3.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bastion Hotel Maastricht Centrum
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mabi
Hotel Mabi
#14 of 37 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel de Pauwenhof
Hotel de Pauwenhof
#23 of 37 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
0.3 mi away
Boutique Hotel Grote Gracht
Boutique Hotel Grote Gracht
#30 of 37 in Maastricht
3.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kaboom Hotel
Kaboom Hotel
#2 of 37 in Maastricht
4.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bigarre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bigarre

Property: Hotel Bigarre
Address: Van Hasseltkade 8, 6211 CC Maastricht, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 37 Hotels in Maastricht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bigarre 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Bigarre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing