We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maastricht Residences 79d Boschstraat 4th floor - Not recommended”
Review of Hotel Bigarre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Bigarre
Ranked #31 of 38 Hotels in Maastricht
Bathgate, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Maastricht Residences 79d Boschstraat 4th floor - Not recommended”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Apartment 79D Boschstraat. Definately Not Luxury City Apartments more like student accomodation.
No hot water entire stay and not very clean overall. Dirty Dishes, dirty towels and bin had not been emptied for arrival. Bedding had not been pressed, it was all crushed not to sure if it was fresh. Dish washer not working.
Description of accomodation far from reality.
Very basic apartment on 4th floor. They don't tell you that on arrival and basically just give you the keys for you to find it yourself. We had to wait till 3.00pm for the apartment to be cleaned ( what a joke).
Not recommended

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    51
    56
    24
    14
See reviews for
27
82
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

I used booking.com to visit maastricht recently and was persuaded by the reviews for hotel bigarre and its 4 star rating. I am being polite when I say it was "unusual". 4 houses with bedrooms along a street does not constitute a hotel. While the de luxe room we had was clean and comfortable enough,there was literally no space for any clothing except a rail with 5 coathangers. The air conditioning motor was hanging from the ceiling with wires hanging loosly. Breakfast was adequate but don,t expect a pleasant outlook from the tall slim brunette in tight jeans who thought it was rude to ask for anything as simple as a bowl of sugar! She was certainly at the back of the queue when personalities were issued.The only saving grace was the location,being only a 5 minute walk to the city squares. I know the star ratings in europe vary,but to call this establishment anything but 2 star is stretching the imagination.

Room Tip: beware of young drug users hanging around the doors! always walk about in two,s or in daylight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank colin d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
Reviewed June 30, 2013

It is 8:13 AM and we've just been woken up by the construction crew that's working on the hotel's new terrace right outside our window. Funny, I had previously been kept awake until 5 AM by the loud humming and buzzing of whatever machinery is beneath my room.... We're checking out as soon as we can.
That's a pity, the hotel is quite nice, well located and the staff is nice enough, rooms are big and beds comfy. Seems to me it would be common courtesy to tell in advance "welcome to our hotel. Hey guess what? Some guys will be outside your window by 7:30 drilling and hammering! Enjoy your stay!"

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Favereauj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Maastricht hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bremen, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We arrived by car and were happy to find covered parking very close. The hotel staff are exceptionally helpful and very friendly. There is a bus stop almost opposite the hotel, but it is located near the river and everything is reachable if you don't mind walking a few minutes. We parked the car and then didn't need it all weekend. The hotel has a lovely ambiance with high ceilings and is full of character. We didn't see any lifts, so if you are not very mobile, this would not be for you as the rooms are all up some stairs. Very good value for money and I would certainly recommend it. We came to look around Maastricht University and found the whole experience fantastic.

Room Tip: I had room 12 which was great. The bathroom had a large shower, sink and toilet. Very modern, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoanneBremen_Germany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
156 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

A pleasant and relatively inexpensive historic hotel situated close to the centre of Maastricht overlooking the Western side of the river Mass. It is about fifteen minutes slow walk from the railway station. Recently extensively and tasteful modernised, although I had the distinct impression (April 2013) that the builders have not quite yet completed their work. Bedrooms are clean and pleasantly furnished in a modern and practical manner, I had a walk-in shower. Some of the bedrooms are accessible only via steep stairs as there is no lift access to some parts of the historic building. Although situated on a large road, the amount of traffic noise is low. Breakfast is served in a suite of rooms with interesting historic decorations. If you want a USofA breakfast buffet you will be out of luck but the slightly unusual breakfast was pure Dutch and delicious. There is a small walled patio at the back of the hotel overlooked by a modern residential development, good for drinks in the summer. There is no restaurant for lunch or evening meals. Some of the bedrooms are situated in an adjacent building with a separate entrance but this should not be a concern. The reception closes at ten o’clock in the evening. If you want a modern bland hotel the Bigaree will not be for you and you should head across the river Mass to the Crowne Plaza. If you are looking for a historic Dutch hotel which is mildly eccentric - then the Bigarre will fit the bill.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marc S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night and booked two rooms (one for friends). We first received a room which smelled terrible. However, this was only that room, since we received a different room after we complained.

The rooms are clean, well decorated and spacious. There is no elevator, so you have to walk the stairs (we were on the 2nd floor). It was ok for us!

The location is great. In the city centre, near 'the bassin' (a nice spot with bars/restaurants), 'the vrijthof' and the modern area 'wijck'. There is indeed a drugsboat nearby, however we really had no trouble with this at all! Maastricht is really safe!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank avwrdv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aerdenhout
1 review
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed in the hotel or one night and slept in the adjacent building on the street side. Opening the window was no option due to the traffice noise. A wardrobe was not in the room, instead you had to use a rack placed on wheels. Room doors closed loudly, something we took into account after having experienced this - but others apparently forgot in the middle of the night. Stairs made of woon without a carpet, so this too caused noise. Pillows were uncomfortable. Breakfast was served in the other building the next day (in two shifts). Very friendly staff, but a surprising breakfast: unasked for we got eggs (half baked) together with steak ! Only fruit teas and no regular black tea. Jam was only jam with ginger. Raisinbread was overdue, some of the rolls were wet. Croissants could be used to drive a nail in the wall. They tried but it is way overpriced for what you get - there are better offers.

Room Tip: Do not choose a room on the street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luydert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maastricht hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel d'Orangerie
Hotel d'Orangerie
#32 of 38 in Maastricht
160 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bastion Hotel Maastricht Centrum
0.3 mi away
Boutique Hotel Grote Gracht
Boutique Hotel Grote Gracht
#30 of 38 in Maastricht
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Kaboom Hotel
Kaboom Hotel
#2 of 38 in Maastricht
532 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel De la Bourse
Hotel De la Bourse
#26 of 38 in Maastricht
149 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Au Quartier
Hotel Au Quartier
#24 of 38 in Maastricht
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bigarre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bigarre

Property: Hotel Bigarre
Address: Van Hasseltkade 8, 6211 CC Maastricht, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 38 Hotels in Maastricht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bigarre 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Bigarre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing