We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, friendly staff”
Review of Hotel Bigarre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Bigarre
Ranked #32 of 38 Hotels in Maastricht
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Lovely rooms, most comfortable beds ever but too many dodgy characters loitering around outside. My wife and I felt very uncomfortable when we stepped outside. Girl on reception very helpful and otherwise the location was good and close to the centre

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveller333916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (175)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 175 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2013

If only the chandeliers were raised a few inches the ceiling room can indeed accommodate tall travelers as the bed is in the right position to limit ceiling crashes. The hotel is very lovely and good value. I found the room to be charming and appreciated the complimentary bottle of Masstrichtian wine. The bathroom was neat as a pin, but the shower curtain was not very clean and smelled mildewy (a problem I find in most hotels no matter how chic - wish it were common practice to wash the curtains after each guest and replace often). My biggest problem with this hotel is security. The hotel is not at fault for this but there was a group of young men outside the hotel all day and night, looking to sell or buy contraband. Some of them were drinking, one was urinating in the alley next to the hotel, and during the night there was a loud and violent-sounding street fight with much shouting and scuffling. I was scared and as there was no hotel phone, my USA cell phone didn't work overseas, and I was solo, it made for a long and tense night. Next morning I explained what happened to the professional staff and they explained that loitering is not illegal there (not so in the USA) and unless the men were committing a crime, the police would not help. Too bad this can't be restricted somehow. Anyway, for the solo traveler or otherwise, be cautious if staying at this hotel especially if returning at night. The room key also works for the front door of the hotel and the staff who checked me in failed to tell me this and that the hotel was not staffed during the night. I thought was locked out at first and then had the idea to check my room key and it worked. Be sure to tell patrons about this please!

Room Tip: I liked the attic room but had to duck to avoid hitting the chandelier. Still worth it though!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Owner is not experienced in the hotel business some etiquettes were wrong. Serving breakfast to your guest is old fashioned without asking them what they prefer is rather rude. The beds and location are excellent. When arriving on Saturday by car for the weekend it's cheaper to park outside when Sunday is free parking rather then get 20 euro per day charged by the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sergio_alberto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Stayed here in july with a friend, the room was small but recently refurbished and was very comfortable. The breakfast on the Sunday morning was a bit different, steak for breakfast.
The hotel is in a good location, only a few minutes walk to the Market and Vrijthof square.

Room Tip: If you are a tall person then the attic-room is to small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Meinema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2010

We rented one of the two bedroom apartments. Two single beds per room (pushed together to make a double). The apartment was very nice, it had a dining table that could seat 6 people, a nice sitting area with TV, one and a half bathrooms, a kitchen, and the two bedrooms. The apartment was clean, the kitchen was full-size with all the amenities, and the main bathroom had a washing machine. Very secluded and quiet spot (even for a Saturday night), with a gated in outside area that had a patio table and chairs. Parking was on the street right outside of the apartment, if you can find an open spot (we did easily on a late Saturday afternoon). The receptionist at check-out was extremely polite.
Cons - Location for this particular apartment was over a kilometer away from the reception desk, which we did not know until check-in. No phone in the apartment. The receptionist at check-in ruined the whole experience, as he was very rude. If it had not been for his very poor customer service, we would have given a four or five star rating.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HRC_79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2010

We booked a bargain room here for 52/night, but the room was in the part of the hotel that has not been refurbished. It looked really oudated and old, the decor was horrid, and the room smelled quite bad (like old musty stale smoke). After we complained about the smell etc. they suggested we spray some perfume to cover it. We were none too pleased with this suggestions, but we ended up getting a slight discount on one of their large rooms in the refurbished part of the hotel. It was very spacious and very nicely appointed, with wood floors, comfortable bed, good shower, and a big TV. It also has a large terrace that we couldn't take advantage of b/c of snow. I would recommend it so long as you stay in the refurbished part.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sparouge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2009

I have spent one night in this hotel and the accomodation was really excellent.
I have the very best memories of this day in Maastricht and the night in the hotel. The staff was really welcoming and the room was nice (for a longer stay I would surely have missed the warderobe and the fridge). This old building is in the very heart of the historical city centre. For my next stay in Maastricht I would choose the same hotel again.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank redbaron813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maastricht hotels
0.2 mi away
Bastion Hotel Maastricht Centrum
0.5 mi away
Hampshire Designhotel - Maastricht
1 mi away
Select Hotel Apple Park Maastricht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Kaboom Hotel
Kaboom Hotel
#2 of 38 in Maastricht
596 reviews
0.5 mi away
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
#6 of 38 in Maastricht
1,354 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mabi
Hotel Mabi
#8 of 38 in Maastricht
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bigarre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bigarre

Address: Van Hasseltkade 8, 6211 CC Maastricht, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 38 Hotels in Maastricht
Price Range: $76 - $302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bigarre 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Bigarre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing