We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay in Maastricht”
Review of Hotel Dis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Dis
Ranked #7 of 51 Maastricht B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We were upgraded to the front room on the first floor. Excellent, huge, well lit room. Luckily the street is rather quite, as the windows let every noise go through. Another part of town would have been a nightmare. Breakfast was great, we must say that the place really has a lot of magic, old house, nicely renovated, interesting art gallery, breakfast in an old chapel. It is true there is no lift but depending on your condition, you reserve where you want to be. Parking can be easily arranged if you care to reserve for it. Centrally located in the old town which allow you to discover it in a very relaxed way : by foot. We will go back. Excellent staff by the way.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chrissassen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (89)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 89 reviews

Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

Stayed one night on a stopover in Maastricht and wasn't disappointed. Other reviews sum it up pretty well. Quiet, clean, and a5 minute walk to grot markt. We stayed in room 7, right at the top of the building under the eaves, and there's lots of narrow stairs to get there. Fine if you're full of energy, but a bit daunting after a hard day's drive or sight seeing, or perhaps a few to many beers at any of the fine local pubs or restaurants in the vicinity. (Note to hotel proprietor: room 7 door needs oiling, if only for the sake of other guests sleep.)
Parking is down the street in a( locked 7 pm to 7am) parking area (warning: do NOT park in any space other than those designated for the hoteloor your car will either be clamped or towed. Saw poor sucker from Austria with a big yellow clamp on their BMW front tire.)

Didn't have breakfast there but on checking out saw the spread and it looked fresh and plentiful.

Id definitely stay again, though maybe not in room 7!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Excellent location. Professional and friendly staff. Spacious rooms with high quality fittings. Some initial problems accessing the wi-fi service in my room - but this was quickly attended to and rectified. Room rates are high and generally the hotel was value for money - but at the price I think that the (beautiful) Breakfast should have been included and not an extra charge. The only real criticism I have is that there was very subdued lighting in the rooms, making it almost impossible to read - and the separate toilet area off the bathroom was very dark with completely inadequate lighting.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Judy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

Stayed here for a couple of nights for the art fair in March. The city is basically old town (left of river) and new town (right of river and where the train station and exhibition centre are located). Location of Dis is excellent close to the Vrithof and its restaurants and little shops. Each room is different as it is a converted house, so when booking do say what you want, and what you do not want. Room was on top floor as requested and which I like, as there is no noise above me (no lift but that is fine with me), it had lovely view out to the adjoining house, and was quiet. Hotel Dis itself is down a narrow lane but it did not feel unsafe. Narrow lanes are characteristic of the Old Town. Bedroom was a generous size ( I booked a deluxe, double bed) . Bathroom good size with good water pressure for long bath but it is somewhat dark. Some of the rooms have rather 'bizarre' art painted in the walls so if that freaks you out do say so. Hotel is spotlessly clean, and recommended for solo female travellers. Bed was comfortable, lovely pillows and duvet. Breakfast is Dutch style, boiled eggs on request, and adequate cold buffet table. Owner is a bit brusque but that's just his style, but you do see him every morning at breakfast, so it does have an effect on one's stay. You get a front door key to let yourself in, and of course your room key.
On the whole, an OK stay, expensive for what it is, due to owner's "service style". Friends who stayed at the Beaumont for the same price said they had a good stay there.
Tip: lovely home furnishings shop nearby- Toro Interior Design, Sint Pieterstraat 34.

Room Tip: Do be specific when booking, as to what sort of room you need. Email works fine with the booking/the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LuxurynCulture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2012

Stayed for a short Spring break in this hotel, conveniently tucked away in a residential area but only a stone’s throw away from the sights of Maastricht. This is a delightful ‘living’ city not yet discovered by the mass tourist market. The Hotel Dis is situated in a beautiful old building – don’t be surprised – there’s no lift and the floors do creak! A lavish buffet breakfast is served in the dining room (though annoyingly is not included in the room rate). Our room on the second floor (Americans read 3rd) was well-furnished, had very comfy beds and a small bathroom – surprisingly for a ‘design hotel’ the only case of design-over-practicality was the shower which splashes water abundantly onto the bathroom floor. If coming by car, be sure to reserve a secure parking space located maybe 30 meters from the hotel - the hotel is easy to find despite Maastricht's one-way systems. James and his team make great hosts, friendly and informative with plenty of local dining tips. One downside is, that whilst marketed as a hotel, the place has more of a feel of an upmarket B&B as there are no public rooms; the beautiful rear courtyard (a key factor in selecting this hotel) was under renovations during our visit and could have been mentioned on the website – for the prices advertised, I expected a little more. Nevertheless, this remains probably one of the smartest small hostelries in Maastricht.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Garfster_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Starting with a beautiful location on a cobbled street, above an art gallery with a cute little square across the road we had high expectations of this hotel and we werent disappointed.
Once you get over the three flights of narrow stairs, everything else about the hotel was perfect. The rooms were big and though perhaps a little tired, they had real charm and character.
The breakfast was one of the best i have had in any hotel, quality ingredients in a beautiful setting with lots of coffee!
Our host gave us a lot of suggestions of things to do and see and great restaurants to eat at. If we return to Maastricht, we will definitely be returning to Hotel Dis.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gregandcath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2012

We had a short weekend break in Maastricht traveling as 2 couples. The rooms are spacious and nice, bathrooms are very good (we had the one with walk-in shower) but the beds are in no good condition. Both our friends and we had the same complaint: terrible mattresses and cushions! Provided this issue is properly addressed, Dis hotel could be rated as very good. Our nightly unease was however quickly forgotten thanks to a lavish breakfast buffet accompanied by friendly service. The hotel is in a very quiet location in the old city center near to a guarded parking lot. As the hotel was very quiet, we got upgraded to the 2 biggest rooms which was a very nice gesture.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mathilde46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maastricht hotels
0.7 mi away
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
#6 of 38 in Maastricht
1,333 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
#3 of 38 in Maastricht
1,390 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Maastricht
Crowne Plaza Maastricht
#11 of 38 in Maastricht
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Mabi
Hotel Mabi
#13 of 38 in Maastricht
531 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kaboom Hotel
Kaboom Hotel
#2 of 38 in Maastricht
565 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Beaumont
Hotel Beaumont
#5 of 38 in Maastricht
1,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dis

Address: Tafelstraat 28, 6211 JD Maastricht, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Maastricht
Price Range: $132 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Dis 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Dis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing