We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Dis

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Dis
Ranked #4 of 49 Maastricht B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Eagan, Minnesota
Level Contributor
128 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
“Historic Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

We spent two days in Maastricht staying at the centrally located Hotel Dis. If you are driving to the hotel, be sure to have detailed directions as 28 Tafelstraat is a very narrow street and not well marked. Once we found the hotel, the staff assisted us in taking our bags to our second floor room (room # 3). Yes, there is no elevator but the stairs are manageable. We reserved parking in one of the hotel’s reserved spots a short distance from the hotel as parking is scarce. The main floor gallery consists of three rooms of beautiful artwork that leads into the breakfast room. Our bedroom was large and faced the front of the building. Some traffic/street noise during the night so if you are a light sleeper, request a room toward the courtyard in the rear of the building. Nice size bathroom but the tub/shower has no door and water covers the floors when you shower. In addition, the tub is very high making it somewhat difficult to get in and out. Bed was comfortable and the artwork and furnishings appropriate. Room is showing some wear with one coat hook pulled out of the wall and the bathroom needing a fresh coat of paint. The best part of staying here was the location so close to the square and center of Maastricht. The original first city wall is literally feet from the hotel as well as restaurants, museums and shopping. Tourist information provides a great self guided walking tour of the historic district that is well worth the time. Enjoyed a delicious four course meal paired with lovely wines at Mes Amis, a short 5 minute walk from the hotel. While we did not eat breakfast at the hotel, be aware that most places do not open for breakfast until 10:00 am. Overall the Hotel Dis was a comfortable and convenient place to stay for our visit to historic Maastricht

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EaganTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    28
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
42
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lafayette, CA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

We had a fantastic two-night stay at the Hotel Dis. We selected the room at the top and loved it. The room had views to two sides -- of a lovely square on one side, and of two church steeples to the other. The location can't be beat, within walking distance of the nicest areas in the old section of Maastricht. Breakfast was very good. The bed was very comfortable and there was free wifi. We loved our stay and recommend this hotel highly. (Maastricht is also a charming old town, with many really nice cafes and restaurants and great for exploring. We're very happy we visited.)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank freshairfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Messina
Level Contributor
89 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

Very tastefully renovated old building which is also used as art gallery. Breakfast is served in a nice vaulted room at the back. Well located for car travellers and a stone-throw from the famous central square of Maastricht. We managed to stay there on a cheaper then usual rate because it was off peak, which was great 'cause we would probably not have chosen it otherwise. It is really a high-end B&B not a hotel. No reception, no bar, no lift, no fitness centre. But the owner has it all very well organized and he is happy to give useful advise on your visit to Maastricht.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SpecieMigratoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alkmaar, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2010

Enjoyed a 1 night stay in the Dis hotel. Very helpful owners who made a nice combination of a small boutique hotel combined with a nice art gallery.
Parking close by is a problem but the hotel has an enclosed parking area 100m down the road, 15 euro per day.
The room on the 2nd floor was large and met our expectations, all amenities present and clean.
Have dinner in the "Coin des bons enfants" restaurant nearby!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RobertKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teesside
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2010

Great location close to the centre of Maastricht, with pleasant bar/restaurant in square across road. Excellent large, individually designed rooms above art gallery, but only reached using steep stairs, so don't bring a heavy suitcase. Super breakfast and very good service. Car parking off street 100m away, but limited, so book beforehand.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teesside_tourer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
97 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2010

Excellent place. In the old centre of the town with very nice restaurants, galeries and shops. The very friendly owners have made an artistic and design hotel of it with 6 very quit rooms. Eat at Beluga (next door) or cafe Sjiek :-)

  • Stayed April 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paulus024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2009

We recently stayed at this hotel on our first trip to Maastricht. It's a charming and historic hotel on a small/quiet cobblestone street about a 5 min walk to the main squares.
We were greeted by the owner upon arrival and received personalized attention throughout our two night stay. Our room was on the top floor, and felt more like a spacious studio apartment than a hotel room. A small dining table and sitting area in the room made it feel large with wood floors, and wood beams. There are two excellent restaurants within a block or two. We can't wait to visit again!

Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank vttraveler28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maastricht hotels
0.4 mi away
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
#2 of 41 in Maastricht
4.5 of 5 stars 1,025 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kaboom Hotel
Kaboom Hotel
#1 of 41 in Maastricht
4.5 of 5 stars 305 reviews
0.7 mi away
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
#5 of 41 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 stars 1,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Beaumont
Hotel Beaumont
#4 of 41 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 stars 933 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Maastricht
Crowne Plaza Maastricht
#11 of 41 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 stars 573 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Mabi
Hotel Mabi
#14 of 41 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 stars 382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dis

Property: Hotel Dis
Address: Tafelstraat 28, 6211 JD Maastricht, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Maastricht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Dis 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Dis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing