We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Unusual hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kruisherenhotel Maastricht

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
Ranked #2 of 40 Hotels in Maastricht
Certificate of Excellence
Den Haag
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Unusual hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

We stayed in this hotel for two nights in April 2014. The hotel is unusual in that it was originally a church. The inside of the hotel is really beautiful. The Prestige room we stayed in was very nice and comfortable. After checking in a gentlemen from reception escorted us to our room explaining various features of the hotel along the way. All the staff we encountered were friendly and helpful.
The hotel is in a great location and we would definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SusanGrogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

905 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    513
    279
    79
    26
    8
See reviews for
117
545
29
118
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Beautiful hotel, excellent location, friendly staff. Our room in the main building was spacious and beautifully decorated. Water pressure in the shower must be improved, in our room this was below standard. Unfortunately there is no wifi in the rooms, with modern technology this is unacceptable.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HDuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
213 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

This is a very unusual and different designer hotel in an old church and cloister. It has been very cleverly modified leaving the church windows and walls totally untouched to good effect and using the space in the cloisters for lovely rooms. We had a dinner and two breakfasts and the food was reasonable and the service generally friendly. It did run out of food on the second very busy breakfast which is really not very good and the staff consequently stressed a bit which has lost them an excellent. It was still very good though. Great location for the centre of town. There are lots of other eateries there some of which I am sure would rival the dinner in the hotel. Worth a trip, worth a stay, worth exploring further

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Sagsma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

We stayed 2 nights and it was wonderful. We had a big room, and the service was very nice and friendly.
Breakfast was good, and the location is excellent.
very close to the main square.
It's an adventure to stay here !

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4JVerne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
Level Contributor
112 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

Great architectural concept, beautiful public spaces, but don't get stuck in"annex" where rooms are in separate building, windows open to street, so need to keep blinds shut or people walking and delivery truck drivers look in. Also very noisy with hotel delivery trucks idling outside room.
Hotel has no regular wifi. Took 40 min for attendant to set up special device in room.

Restaurant - interesting menu - now all "small plates". Poor service. As hotel guest with reservation, they tried to sit us between open service area and elevator. Waiter inconsistent. Overall not worth it. Most of same menu available in bar with much better service.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel4bourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

I won't repeat what other reviewers have already said about the building design and decor. It is all incredible. What I would like to add is the level of service we received from the front desk. This hotel probably had the best service of any I have ever stayed at. They arranged for car services, dining reservations, shipping packages and never missed a beat with anything we requested of them. One night we even sheepishly asked for a dinner reservation for 7 people at 8:30 at one of the busiest restaurants in town- at 8:00. Five minutes later, it was done and we had our table. That's impressive! We also had dinner at their sister property Chateau Neercanne one night which was a special treat enjoyed by all.

We stayed in the building out back, and found it very comfortable and quiet. It even had heated bathroom floors and a built in pants presser. The closet space was small, but they offered to bring in an extra rack, so no complaints there. The room was very well equipped with a hair dryer, extra pillows, and room safe. The location was convenient to the beautiful old church, shopping and restaurants. If I'm ever lucky enough to visit Maastricht again, I'll definitely be staying here! I highly recommend this property.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Stacey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
99 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

This is a hotel that you should not miss. It is the most expensive in the area but how many times you will have the chance to stay in Maastricht? Go for it and you will have a lot of memories to remember and talk about this old monastery turned to a hotel in Holland.
Will not review further as all the other positive reviews depict the proper image of this elegant hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank coastalux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maastricht
0.9 mi away
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
#5 of 40 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 stars 1,102 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hampshire Designhotel - Maastricht
0.7 mi away
Hotel Beaumont
Hotel Beaumont
#4 of 40 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 stars 908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Kaboom Hotel
Kaboom Hotel
#1 of 40 in Maastricht
4.5 of 5 stars 255 reviews
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Maastricht
Crowne Plaza Hotel Maastricht
#11 of 40 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 stars 540 reviews
1.5 mi away
NH Maastricht
NH Maastricht
#9 of 40 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 stars 895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kruisherenhotel Maastricht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kruisherenhotel Maastricht

Property: Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
Address: Kruisherengang 19-23, 6211 Maastricht, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Maastricht
#1 Family Hotel in Maastricht
#1 Romantic Hotel in Maastricht
#3 Business Hotel in Maastricht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kruisherenhotel Maastricht 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Entrance of the Kruisherenhotel, an ancient monestary and church converted in a hotel and restaurant ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Kruisherenhotel Maastricht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht Hotel Maastricht
Kruisherenhotel Hotel Maastricht
Maastricht Kruisherenhotel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing