We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A Wonderful Hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kruisherenhotel Maastricht

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
Ranked #2 of 40 Hotels in Maastricht
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
65 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We chose this hotel because of the reviews we read on Trip Advisor. And are we glad we did! What a wonderful hotel it was! We were in Maastricht to visit our son who is taking a semester abroad at University College Maastricht. This hotel was half way between the international dorms and his college. The hotel was on a quiet street, with beautiful big trees in front. It is an old monestary converted into a hotel, and so very unique. We loved our guestroom, which had both a bath and a shower, and was very comfortable and roomy. The view from our windows of the courtyard was perfect! We enjoyed a free breakfast buffet with our package, which was exceptional! We also enjoyed going down to the bar in the evening for a drink before dinner. The hotel is within walking distance to many wonderful restaurants, pubs, and shops. We were also able to walk to St. Servaiss and the underground tunnel tour, both which I highly recommend. This was our first trip to Maastricht, and to Europe as well. We thought that the Kruisherenhotel Maastricht was the nicest hotel on our trip, which also included Paris and Amsterdam. If we ever return to Maastricht, and I hope we do, we will definately stay here again! Be sure to check out the hotels website when booking, as they have wonderful specials!

Room Tip: We chose the second level of rooms, not a standard room, and I highly recommend it! Very roomy, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sunkitten60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

999 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    570
    307
    88
    26
    8
See reviews for
136
601
32
123
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

It was a unique experience staying in a hotel that has been converted from a monastery. The architecture is stunning, full of character and very nicely designed to mix the old with the new. I really liked the courtyard area and highly recommend the sliders as a snack.
The bedroom and bathrooms are lovely, very arty rooms! Great customer service and good local knowledge. The Michelin star restaurants in this area are fantastic!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Stayed overnight booked through Andre Rieu Travel as VIP guest. Hotel is something of a misnomer for this amazing and beautiful converted monastery. Room was fabulous, food outstanding and the service first class. A very special and memorable experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gbonarh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

The first thing to say about this hotel, and the thing that will define your impressions of your stay, is that it is staggeringly beautiful.

This is not one of those 'design hotels' where the attraction is only skin deep, or where the design is at the expense of practicality, or where the opulence just starts to look a bit crass or over the top.

This is a hotel whose every corner has been thoughtfully and tastefully decorated, a converted church which manages to retain the splendour of the original building with the startling finish of a modern boutique hotel. Each room is individually styled and the beds are fantastic, coming with a choice of pillow.
.
The communal areas, particularly the bar, are like being whisked to the hippest parts of New York, but without the attitude and with the space to relax.

Yes, it is pricey, but if you are in the market for a hotel with a genuinely unique and quality feel, you will not feel like you have been ripped off.

The reason I have given this four rather than five out of five is because of some mistakes, none of which spoilt our experience. The room was not cleaned one day because a night lock on the inside of the door had been triggered as we left the room. It was dealt with and cleaned that evening instead but no one apologised. One of the sinks was blocked. And the first draft of the bill featured breakfasts we hadn't had. They were removed, though again no apology.

As I say, none of those things would stop me wholeheartedly recommending this delightful, friendly hotel in a city which is completely overlooked by many.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank troubleinthecit... t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washingtonville, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I stayed in this hotel with my husband for Andre Rieu concert. Staff was very polite and helpful. Food was excellent and breakfast with so many choices that can satisfy anyone's taste. Later on we travel through Europe and stayed at many hotels but breakfast choices were the best in Kuirsherenhotel. Rooms were modern and comfortable. I also liked location of the hotel walking distance to Vrijthof plaza where concert took place and also close to shopping and sightseeing. Maastricht is beautifull and hotel (former monastery) makes nice landmark. I highly recomend for anyone to stay there.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Iwona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

This hotel is really excellent. I booked it through the website of the hotel after having spoken to reception. We booked the superior room and it was a real experience. The features of the old monastery are clearly visible in the room but it has all the comfort you would expect from this class of hotel.

Highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: When booking online, you have an option to book non refundable with breakfast included, later it wil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobbertVV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We loved being here. It's a gorgeous hotel. Really a beauty. Definitely NOT for young kids though.
The only con and a big one- no wifi in the rooms. It was really a big thing for us. And even to have Internet access in the room you have to pay about 10 euros a day. This should have been free of cost considering they don't have wifi in the rooms.
That having said the service was amazing.
Do take time to go through the bills when you check out. We were charged for breakfast for 2 everyday when we didn't have breakfast even once. They were quick to remove the charges once we brought it to their notice.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Geil27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maastricht
0.9 mi away
Kaboom Hotel
Kaboom Hotel
#1 of 40 in Maastricht
4.5 of 5 stars 285 reviews
0.9 mi away
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
#5 of 40 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 stars 1,130 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hampshire Designhotel - Maastricht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Beaumont
Hotel Beaumont
#4 of 40 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 stars 925 reviews
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Maastricht
Crowne Plaza Hotel Maastricht
#10 of 40 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 stars 560 reviews
1.6 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Maastricht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kruisherenhotel Maastricht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kruisherenhotel Maastricht

Property: Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
Address: Kruisherengang 19-23, 6211 NW Maastricht, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Maastricht
#1 Luxury Hotel in Maastricht
#1 Romantic Hotel in Maastricht
#3 Business Hotel in Maastricht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kruisherenhotel Maastricht 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Entrance of the Kruisherenhotel, an ancient monestary and church converted in a hotel and restaurant ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Kruisherenhotel Maastricht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht Hotel Maastricht
Kruisherenhotel Hotel Maastricht
Maastricht Kruisherenhotel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing