We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“What a fantastic place - exceeded all my expectations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel St. Martenslane

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel St. Martenslane
Ranked #17 of 40 Hotels in Maastricht
Certificate of Excellence
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“What a fantastic place - exceeded all my expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

From the fantastic welcome in reception to the design, layout and quality of the room everything in this hotel did just what it should - an more.
The rooms are very modern in their layout - and the bed arrangement is somewhat unusual, but actually all the more comfortable for it. The shower pressure in excellent, the little "butler's pantry" in the entry hall to the room was a useful addition, and the free wifi was also useful. Parking was €15 per day - and could probably have been negotiated if I called direct. The breakfast room was in the Town Hotel on the other side of the road, but was great and all the food served was fresh, well prepared and showed a complete lack of packets and fast food. I didn't use the gym, but it was well equipped.
I would thoroughly recommend this hotel. I paid £63 for my room, parking city tax, breakfast - a bargain if ever I had one. I shall be going back again - my son is at Maastricht uni, and I now have somewhere to stay everytime I go to see him.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ralphblack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HipHotelMartenslane, Manager at Hotel St. Martenslane, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Dear ralphblack,


Thank you very much for your great review!

Nice to hear that you had such a good stay in our hotel!
We hope we may welcome you again in our hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,
Team Hip Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    116
    37
    8
    4
See reviews for
24
119
19
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Opwijk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

The personnel were very helpful and polite.
We stayed on the second floor, on the streetside of the hotel. The noise was okay.
The lay-out of the room was not great. On the frontside of the room was the bathroom, separated by a door from the sleeping area. This makes that when using the bathroom, you can't really vent the bathroom, so it's stays damp en smells a little bit after 3 days. Seeing that the door between the areas closes automatically, it's hard to vent the bathroom, unless you jam the door.

There were 2 designer chairs in our room, but the designer chair in white plastic was cracked and looked dirty. The lighting of the bed was pretty cool although.

The price for the breakfast (€17) is overpriced, but it was a normal, good breakfast.
The parking was a little cramp, but convenient.

The location is good, it's about a ten minute walk from the center of Maastricht.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Koen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HipHotelMartenslane, Manager at Hotel St. Martenslane, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
Dear Koen V,

Thank you for writing this review!

We will take your advise points in consideration, thank you for those.

We hope that we may welcome you again in the near future!

Kind regards,

Team Hip Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
100 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Since you hardly want to meet the other guests in a hotel, this place is comfortably anonymous. Checkin at the Town House hotel is warm en welcoming, secured parking around the corner (at € 22,- for the first day) and the entry of St Martenslane is stylish. The room (I was in 160) is spacious and clean. You can see that the hotel is a few years old, the reconstruction the did in ceiling and walls, and also on the little desk give it a bit -best years are behind us- feeling.

The room itself was quiet, with a great bed (Loved it!!!!) and the playing with the mood-light is kinda old-school these days. The big lamp in the room did not work and after calling the frontdesk, the said they would send someone to fix it, but that didn't happen.

WiFi-signal is good, coffee and tea are also free and downstairs you can get a midnightsnack from the vendingmachine.

I would definitely go here again when I'm in Maastricht, though the only bad thing about it is that the trolleys of guest on the floor above you will make a lot of noise. It sounded like a plane flying over at 7 am.

Room Tip: They are probably all equal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LiveLikeTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HipHotelMartenslane, Manager at Hotel St. Martenslane, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Dear 010surf,

Thank you for your review!

Good to hear that you had a good stay with us and we would love to welcome you again in the near future!

Kind regards,

Team Hip Hotel St.Martenslane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
121 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

I stayed here with my husband for one night in July. The name is accurate, but not pretentiously or uncomfortably so. Excellent service through the Townhouse Hotel (Hip Hotel doesn’t have its own front desk, you check in at the Townhouse Hotel across the street). Super comfortable bed. The shower in our room had that half-door thing that one sees in a lot of places, which we don’t like and we got water all over the floor, but that’s probably my only negative about the place. It is very close to the train station and a quick 10-15 minute leisurely walk to the main tourist area (e.g. St. Servatius, shopping, and restaurants).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank laurenjamie816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HipHotelMartenslane, Manager at Hotel St. Martenslane, responded to this review, August 11, 2012
Dear laurenjamie816,

Thank you for your review!

We are glad to hear that you had such a nice stay.

Kind regards,

Team Hip Hotel St. Martenslane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Bad:
First time ever have sandy bed sheet for our 2nd night.
No Air conditioner, when room is hot and you need to open the fan and windows. That makes room becomes noisy
No footmad in bath room, then you use towels instead, just waste more towels when we can still sue that 2nd day...
No refrigerator/mini bar, can not store food is really a problem when the weather is warm
The LED blue lights for switches makes us can't sleep as it's just next to your eyes 15 cm away...
The pillows need to be replaced
Bed cover shall placed between Mattress Pads, was placed under top thin mattress. This makes the mattress not flat to lay on anymore
Good:
Stylish room but it becomes no cozy couch at room
The hotel change the bed sheet immediately after our complaint.
Really nice location near Maastricht train station, but it becomes extra cost for parking space
Breakfast is nice and price is fair.
Free wifi is really a plus

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CR827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HipHotelMartenslane, Manager at Hotel St. Martenslane, responded to this review, July 29, 2012
Dear CR827,

Thank you for this review!

Also thank you for your advices, we will certainly discuss these comments.

We would like to welcome you again in the near future!

Kind regards,

Team Hip Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

I very rarely complain about anything - in fact it makes me cringe to do it but we had no choice during our stay here. I will briefly list the issues we had below:

Room not cleaned for three days in a row; bins not emptied for three days in a row; tea and coffee not replaced for three days in a row; room was very hot but on ground floor next to busy road so unable to open windows; road outside was extremely noisy with buses travelling up and down till well after midnight; only one small pillow per person with no spares in the cupboard; smokers gathered outside our room so the smell came in through the window; vending machines with only 3 things available, were very expensive (2€ for a Kit Kat) and didn't have any water (Townhouse Hotel across the road also ran out of bottles of still water...); incredibly expensive room; our room didn't seem to have any of the amenities described on the website - the TV was attached to a bracket on the wall, not inside the bed frame as advertised; shower was over the bath at an angle which soaked the floor when it was used; no 'built in radio system' in bathroom; no 'large work and dinner desk';

... I think this enough for now. It doesn't seem like many other travellers had the same issues as us so possibly the problem was that we were put in a small and unfinished looking room on the ground floor - the upstairs rooms may have had more suitable beds and would probably have been quieter from being further away from the road.

To end on a positive, the location is brilliant and was perfect as we arrived very late in Maastricht, so we only needed to walk literally two minutes from the station to get there. And to their credit, the staff discounted our stay when we brought up some of these complaints - although it didn't seem as though they needed to authorisation of a manager to do so, so possibly they are aware of some of these issues and instruct the staff to give discounts accordingly?

I would not stay here again, but I fully appreciate that other travellers have had very good experiences in this hotel and will probably chalk it down to us just having been unlucky with our room allocation this time.

Room Tip: Absolutely avoid room 010 if you do stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank heyitskelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HipHotelMartenslane, Manager at Hotel St. Martenslane, responded to this review, July 29, 2012
Dear AtticusFinch19,

Thank you for your review!

We are verry sorry to hear that you are not satisfied with your stay.

Do not hesitate to contact us, so we can find a suitable solution. We hope to hear from you soon!

Best regards,

Team Hip Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Great location, quite room, wonderful facilities. Huge room, very clean, and comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank macka31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maastricht hotels
0.0 mi away
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
#5 of 40 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 stars 1,110 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kaboom Hotel
Kaboom Hotel
#1 of 40 in Maastricht
4.5 of 5 stars 264 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampshire Designhotel - Maastricht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
#2 of 40 in Maastricht
4.5 of 5 stars 923 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Maastricht
Crowne Plaza Hotel Maastricht
#11 of 40 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 stars 545 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Beaumont
Hotel Beaumont
#4 of 40 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 stars 913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St. Martenslane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Martenslane

Property: Hotel St. Martenslane
Address: Sint Maartenslaan 6, 6221 AX Maastricht, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Maastricht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel St. Martenslane 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Budget Places, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel St. Martenslane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hip Hotel Maastricht
Hip Hotel St Martenslane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing