We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hip Hotel - Very Cool!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel St. Martenslane
Ranked #16 of 38 Hotels in Maastricht
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 25, 2012

I stayed here last spring when I went to visit my sister while she was studying abroad at Maastricht University. I'll have to admit, I was a little unsure of what I was getting into when I first saw the photos of where she was putting me up during my visit. My first thought was, "I went to Maastrict to stay in South Beach?" but once there I found my initial assessment unfounded. St. Martenslane is a very cool hotel. One that I would definitely stay at again, should I ever get the chance to go back to Maastrict. My room had very much the feel of an apartment and not at all that of a hotel room, all the more enhanced by the fact the main lobby was across the street. I was very comfortable and felt very much at home. The room was clean, quiet and secure. It was also very modern in its decor, whether it be the bed in a cube-like frame that is centrally located in the bedroom with controls for every light in the room or the shower with LED's in the shower head that cycle through various colors while in use. All in all a very cool, very creative hotel.
The hotel is near literally across the street from the train station and about a fifteen minute walk from the older city and markt, which I didn't mind at all. It gave me a chance to go a different way everyday and see something new. There are, however, plenty of great restaurants within walking distance to the hotel, should you not want to walk that far.
St. Martenslane - definitely a hip hotel and definitely worth a stay if you're in Maastricht.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boarder_Ian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HipHotelMartenslane, Manager at Hotel St. Martenslane, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2012

Dear Boarder_Ian,

Thank you for writing this great review!
If you ever coming over from Florida again, please do not hesitate to contact us!

Kind Regards,
Team Hip Hotel St. Martenslane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (280)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 280 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2012

Nice place to stay for a weekend-trip to Maastricht. Close to the central train station and 15minutes to the center, the shopping area and the 'old town'

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fixspoun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HipHotelMartenslane, Manager at Hotel St. Martenslane, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2012

Dear Fixspoun,

Thank you for writing this positive review!
We hope to welcome you again!

Kind Regards,
Team Hip Hotel St. Martenslane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2012

Location was excellent! The room was clean and spatious. The design element was really beautiful. Well worth a stay. Would advise and will definately go back next time. It might me a bit overpriced though but I guess for one night the price quality ratio is ok.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexandra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HipHotelMartenslane, Manager at Hotel St. Martenslane, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2012

Dear Alexandra G,

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and we would be happy to welcom you again!

Kind Regards,
Team Hip Hotel St. Martenslane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2011

Stayed on a Friday night in one of the top floor rooms, having heard much about various other Hip Hotels and read some positive reviews on here. Slightly disappointed...

This hotel sits very close by the railway station so is conveniently located if you need to transport luggage, but a 15 minute walk from the old city (which is where most people will want to head to).

Check is across the road at the Townhouse Design Hotel, where you are handed a key (to access the Hip Hotel building) and keycard (to access your room) and can have breakfast for 17 Euros per person - seemingly expensive, but par for the course when compared to other hotels in the city.

The bathroom was functional yet sparse - not a great shower (attachment over quite a small bath), no toiletries (dispensers instead) and a lack of proper towels (both real and paper!).

The room itself basically houses a framed double bed (which was comfortable) with a "bar" and stools at the foot and a small TV hanging from the frame. A small closet is also built into the frame, and that's pretty much it. There are controls by the head of the bed allowing you to change the lighting colour scheme in terms of brightness and intensity in shades of red/pink. Activating these options though leads to a constant and rather annoying humming sound - kind of defeats the purpose if you're trying to set a relaxed/romantic mood. That and the control panel is right by where you rest your head... fine, if you can ignore the annoying blue LEDs that stay on through the night - an item of clothing hung over these solved the problem easily enough. The free standing safe on the floor was a laughable idea...

So, comfortable enough to sleep in, but not a place you'd spend any time in otherwise.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lax P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HipHotelMartenslane, Manager at Hotel St. Martenslane, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2012

Dear Lax P,

Thank you for writing this review and your usefull comments!

Kind Regards,
Team Hip Hotel St. Martenslane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2011

- noisy room, loud closing system of the doors and next to the garage is not peaceful and all
- no cleaning of the room nor making the bed
- too expensive for this room 010
- basic bathroom
- handy to have a safe that is not built in but easy to carry out...
- reasonable breakfast
It would be ok for the correct price,
Room 010 is overpriced, had much Better trendy hotels for less money

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peterdha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HipHotelMartenslane, Manager at Hotel St. Martenslane, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2011

Dear Peterdha,



Thank you for writing this review! We would love to see you again someday in one of our hotels. Do not hesitate to contact us!



Kind regards,

Team Hip Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2011

very nice and comfortable hotel,friendly and educated people at the reception desk.
Coming back for sure !!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EDDY V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HipHotelMartenslane, Manager at Hotel St. Martenslane, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2011

Dear EddyV,



Thank you for the nice compliments!

We hope to see you again soon in Maastricht!

Kind regards,

Team HipHotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2011

the Hip hotel St.Martenslate is cool place to stay,everthing was all right,the stuff is young and very friendly (!!),your breakfast is great and delicious:thanks again for your special birthday offer:breakfast four 4 for the price of 10 € the double rooms very hip and clean,we'll come back to you!

met hipe groet
Mara,Janis,Petra & Bert

Room Tip: our rooms:No 160 and 140 are good ones
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HipHotelMartenslane, Manager at Hotel St. Martenslane, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2011

Dear Mara S,



Thanks for your stay in Hip Hotel St. Martenslane. Thank you for your enthusiastic review. We’re glad you’ve enjoyed it!

See you soon in Maastricht.

Kind regards,

Team Hip Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maastricht hotels
0 mi away
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
#6 of 38 in Maastricht
1,360 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kaboom Hotel
Kaboom Hotel
#2 of 38 in Maastricht
598 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Mabi
Hotel Mabi
#9 of 38 in Maastricht
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
NH Maastricht
NH Maastricht
#13 of 38 in Maastricht
1,370 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Maastricht
Crowne Plaza Maastricht
#12 of 38 in Maastricht
750 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampshire Designhotel - Maastricht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St. Martenslane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Martenslane

Address: Sint Maartenslaan 6, 6221 AX Maastricht, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Maastricht
Price Range: $89 - $281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel St. Martenslane 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel St. Martenslane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hip Hotel Maastricht
Hip Hotel St Martenslane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing