We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not so charming”
Review of Hotel les Charmes

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel les Charmes
Ranked #15 of 38 Hotels in Maastricht
Certificate of Excellence
amsterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“not so charming”
Reviewed September 5, 2008

Stayed in hotel Les Charmes. Location and first floor look great. Service is ok. We stayed in room 8, the suite. Very dissapointing! The carpet and curtains had lots of stains! Not a "charming room". We expected a victorian decorated room. This was not the case. Cold and 'averidge' room. Too expensive.
We'll stay somewhere else next time.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — room
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank martijnendionne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    63
    4
    4
    1
See reviews for
18
52
5
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westchester County, New York
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2008

I stayed at the Hotel Les Charmes for 2 nights last week with my husband and 2 teenage daughters. We had the two rooms on the top floor (4th), which felt very private. If you insist upon upscale, polished, and the latest in convenience/style . . . Les Charmes is not for you. If you prefer local charm/quaintness and can tolerate a little tiredness and idiosyncrasies in furnishings/bathrooms -- and no elevator -- then you will be very happy here. Les Charmes felt more like a private home than a hotel.

We were visiting our son, who is an exchange student at the Univ of Maastricht, and the location was perfect for that. The neighborhood is wonderful and in the heart of the historic district.

We had breakfast one morning in the lovely dining room and were so comfortable that we lingered there for at least an hour, chatting over coffee.

The staff was helpful -- with arranging transportation to the Brussels Airport and with recommending restaurants and making dinner reservations.

  • Stayed April 2008
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LillianV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2007

This is an aptly named hotel; charming in all the most wonderful ways. The rooms are nicely appointed, decorated with period photography, and unobtrusively themed. I stayed for two nights in the Lila de Kammer (Lilac Room), which had blue paint, lovely velvet curtains, vintage Victorian chandeliers and a magnificent view of surrounding architecture. The Les Charmes is in the Old Part of Maastricht, so lots of touristy stuff is within easy reach. Surrounded by a tantalizing blend of restaurants! "Ginger" is the name of the Japanese Restaurant just down the street … they have world class sashimi … and the Restaurant La Brouche, around the corner, has a charming owner who will make sure you feel special … and especially full! Try the Parisian steak … I did, and it was mouthwatering, especially followed by a the house red. The desk staff at the hotel are very friendly and helpful, so long as you aren’t in a hurry … but if you take your time and smile, you’ll be richly rewarded.

Breakfast at the hotel is nothing remarkable, the typical cold ham, boiled egg and coffee, and it’s pricey, too, at 13 euros. But who stays at a hotel in Europe to eat breakfast? Besides, the dining room is airy and pleasant, a great place to fritter away the morning guzzling strong coffee and gabbing with your loved ones. For a cheaper breakfast alternative, you might try one of the excellent bakeries along the Tongersestraat. I would gladly stay at the Hotel Des Charmes again. In fact, it’s fair to say I was enchanted by the experience.

  • Stayed November 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Redkat25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2007

We were on our way back from a hiking holiday in the Ardennen (Belgium) but we chose to stop for a day in Maastricht. This hotel is related to the city's university and therefore has a free parking at the university site (a tip). We booked at the very last minute and got the Olive Room, a green tinted room with a beautiful bathroom with surprisingly an old claw foot soaker tub. I've stayed there before at one of the attic rooms that was spacious. It reminds me of staying in Oxford dorm (in a good way). Good breakfast served, staying there is like staying in one of those beautiful old mansions in style. Who needs new hotel's ambience?

  • Liked — location in the city, ambience, decoration of our bathroom
  • Stayed June 2005, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank gdekui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north carolina
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2006

This is a very charming property, the breakfast is not included and a bit pricey. But for it was easier to eat there as any resturant
was a 10 minute walk.........and I have to drink my coffee quickly in the morning! The staff was OK. the stairs are tricky, and we were on the 3rd floor.
Maastricht is a pretty city, especially in the historic section, but it is tricky finding your way around. Many wonderful resturants around. The boat trip down to the caves is well worth the small price and time. I'm surprised more Americans haven't found this city

  • Liked — location and appearance
  • Disliked — price of breakfast, the stairs
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank magnolialady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 13, 2006

For a long-term stay, I recommend staying in one of the apartments that the Hotel les Charmes manages. Our oldest daughter, my sister, and I stayed there in November. The rooms (two apartments and a studio) are located above the Universiteit of Maastricht's law school bookstore, around the corner from the Hotel les Charmes itself. The building, like so many in this beautiful city, is seventeenth century, with an amazing hanging spiral staircase that reached to the third floor. We were welcomed with a lovely bouquet of flowers that remained fresh all week. We had a kitchen with a gas cooktop, a living room, bathroom with a shower, and a cozy bedroom with white down comforters accessed by a very steep staircase (we had to climb down it backwards). The furnishings were antique and/or "vintage chic". Marco, the hotel owner/manager, was kind and helpful, as were his front office staff.
There are many 'brown cafes' nearby that are cozy and welcoming, many of which serve local Limburg specialties from menus in the local Mestreech dialect. Also, this apartment is in the Jekerkwartier, and you will be able to find the old walls nearby and the quiet little Jeker. Great location. We walked the whole week we were there, and over to Sint Pietersberg <sp> and the Belgian village of Kanne (lovely countryside) . We were in Maastricht during two of the most wonderful events . On the eleventh hour of the eleventh day of the eleventh month, there is a huge Carnival kick-off in the Vrithof. Costumed krewes, beer gardens, and merrymaking went on all day and into the wee hours. We watched the 'drunken bands ' winding their way down our cobblestone street from our windows. I felt as if we were transported back four hundred years that night. With the city's own, we also welcomed Sint Nikolaas and his Zwarte Piets as they arrived by boat on the River Maas. My husband visited our son at UM in December and the Winterland was set up, including a lovely ice rink on the Vrithof and the Christmas markets.

Stayed October 2005
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2006

We spend a weekend in Maastricht during the busiest period of the year (art fair Tefaf). This hotel however did not raise its prices (like many other hotels did). It is great value for large rooms. It is in a quiet neigbourhood but a few steps away from all the restaurants, bars, points of interest and shops.
The breakfast was charming, served at your table in antique surrounding.
We can recommend this place!

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lennie_Amsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maastricht hotels
0.6 mi away
The Dutch
The Dutch
#1 of 38 in Maastricht
319 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kaboom Hotel
Kaboom Hotel
#2 of 38 in Maastricht
532 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Maastricht
Crowne Plaza Maastricht
#11 of 38 in Maastricht
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
#3 of 38 in Maastricht
1,348 reviews
0.7 mi away
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
#6 of 38 in Maastricht
1,302 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampshire Designhotel - Maastricht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel les Charmes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel les Charmes

Property: Hotel les Charmes
Address: Lenculenstraat 18, 6211 KR Maastricht, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Maastricht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel les Charmes 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Hotel les Charmes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Charmes Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing