We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute Delight”
Review of Hotel les Charmes

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel les Charmes
Ranked #18 of 38 Hotels in Maastricht
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Great location, nice breakfast, good service and beautiful rooms! This hotel was absolutely pleasure to stay in. All the guys here are always accommodating and nothing is ever too much trouble. The facilities at the hotel are very good. My stay was very comfortable and refreshing. I would highly recommend this place to all my friends and family members.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (123)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 123 reviews

Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

The location is excellent. The room are lovely. However, there was no haïr dryer, no gloves in the bathroom, no "peignoir" and a bit of moist in the bathroom. The staff is really nice. Our room (9) was extremely peaceful!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NanaRoubi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2012

There were several disappointing aspects to my stay.

1. The rooms are in desperate need of updating and scrubbing. Furniture is old and mismatched.

2. When I mentioned to the front desk employee that I was unable to pick up a wireless signal in my room, she suggested that I could come down to the lobby when I needed to work on my computer. (???) Eventually I was moved to a different room where the signal was detectable.

3. While smoking isn't permitted inside the building, the staff frequently smoke just outside the back door (and sometimes leave the back door open while doing so). The smoke travels straight up the stairwell making the air unbreathable in the hallways. This was a frequent problem.

4. Anyone staying in rooms that face the front of the building may be bothered by street noise. The property is on a side-street, but it is frequently used by students on their way to/from their social activities. We were frequently awakened by the loud conversation of pedestrians, occasionally by drunken singing, and on one occasion by someone playing a drum. You might want to try a room facing the back of the building, but I didn't have an opportunity to try such a room and thus cannot vouch for its features.

5. Basic hospitality was at a minimum. For instance, I noticed on my last morning that there was a stack of local guidebooks available, but these were not kept in an area where guests would notice them, so unless an employee dug one out, you'd never get one. Why don't employees offer a guidebook to all guests upon arrival, or place them in rooms by default?

6. I should also reinforce a point made by another reviewer: the stairs in this property are narrow, steep, and downright treacherous. As a lean, fit adult, I had a nervous time making my way up and down to my room. There is no elevator, so anyone with mobility issues should definitely stay elsewhere.

Bottom line: The city of Maastricht itself is fantastic, but if I return, I will stay in a different hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TrulyTessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2011

Very charming building and rooms. Exellent location. Nice beds. We stayed in the attic room with a lovely high ceiling, though you shouldn't be afraid of climbing several flights of stairs.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beau-fb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2011

The entrance, common parts and location of this hotel are nice. The room was however below standard. It was badly cleaned (if cleaned at all) with very cold curtains, an uncomfortable bed and a very dated bathroom. The service was not customer-focused. I was happy to leave.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank b12346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2011

This is an old and charming hotel right in the middle of the old town. Our room (10) was large with lovely period furniture and very comfortable beds. Small shower room was absolutely fine. I didn't see a lift so be prepared to carry cases up stairs. Its very quiet but due to the cobbled stones on the narrow road outside and height of houses if there is any noise in the street it does reverberate quite loudly so if you are worried about that ask for a back room.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank margaret_rundall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2011

Was here for the third time in about six years. It's still a very cute and charming hotel, just four minutes away from the very center of Maastricht but very quiet in a cobblestone street. Breakfast room also very pleasant, wireless Internet for free, what do you want more? Maybe within some years it's time do a little bitbof renovation work on some rooms, before they get old. Also, I would be happy with breakfast slightly healthier. But it's all details.
PS for good espresso, go to Coffeelovers, in the university building (see website for exact address)

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EuropeanVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maastricht hotels
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Maastricht
Crowne Plaza Maastricht
#12 of 38 in Maastricht
750 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Beaumont
Hotel Beaumont
#5 of 38 in Maastricht
1,201 reviews
0.7 mi away
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
#6 of 38 in Maastricht
1,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
#4 of 38 in Maastricht
1,422 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mabi
Hotel Mabi
#9 of 38 in Maastricht
557 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Dutch
The Dutch
#1 of 38 in Maastricht
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel les Charmes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel les Charmes

Address: Lenculenstraat 18, 6211 KR Maastricht, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Maastricht
Price Range: $124 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel les Charmes 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel les Charmes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Charmes Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing