We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“St. Pietersberg Caves”

St. Pietersberg Caves
Ranked #1 of 84 things to do in Maastricht
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Take a guided tour in this subterranean network of caves and tunnels.
Boynton Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“St. Pietersberg Caves”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Very interesting experience. We had a great guide who really brought this sight to life. You are walking in a cave so the ground is a bit rough but no problem for almost any traveler who is not disabled. Remember to check ahead of time because not all tours are in English.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaastrichtUndergroud, Manager at St. Pietersberg Caves, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Richard B,

Thank you for writing this review and your tip! You are right: via our website you can check the times of tours in English or German. Hope you enjoyed the rest of Maastricht too!

Kind Regards,
The Maastricht Underground Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,042 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    637
    326
    60
    12
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
242 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Made our Maastricht visit complete”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

This was a really great activity to do in Maastricht. We went on the english tour-- which was funny, informative and interesting. We learned interesting history and scientific facts and even got to try to walk in the caves in the pitch black dark. I won't ever forget the random facts or amazing coal drawings from the tour. I highly recommend taking the time to go. Its a nice 30 minute walk from the city center.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Domfas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaastrichtUndergroud, Manager at St. Pietersberg Caves, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Domfas,

Thank you for writing this great review and your compliments about the tour!

Kind Regards,
The Maastricht Underground Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Very interesting experience”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We went into the caves not really knowing what to expect - I had been in large caves before, but was not aware that the one we would walk into were manmade.
It was a very impressive sight and the guide we had was great in bringing us in touch with the history of the site.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank null815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaastrichtUndergroud, Manager at St. Pietersberg Caves, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear null815,

Thank you for writing this review! Good to hear that you found it an interesting experience. A lot of visitors do not know that these caves are manmade!

Kind Regards,
The Maastricht Underground Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Tour!”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We visited Maastricht last weekend and had a tour of the caves. Our guide, Anton, was fantastic. He has a true passion for his subject and his knowledge of the caves, and of other caves in the area is impressive. One feels a connection with all those who worked in and visited the caves through the ages as you move through the dark passages and see chisel marks and graffiti. The earliest signature we saw was from 1554 - amazing! I get a bit claustrophobic so had to take a few deep breaths as I began to understand what a labyrinth it is and how easily one could get lost. But this is part of the experience! Many thanks!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 456jessica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaastrichtUndergroud, Manager at St. Pietersberg Caves, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear 456jessica,

Thank you for writing this review. Very brave that you visited the caves even though you are a bit claustrophobic!

Kind Regards,
The Maastricht Underground Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Amazing history, great tunnels, awesome informative tour guide, highly recommend.”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We got to Maastricht and it was about to rain. We basically ran to the caves for the last english speaking tour and were hoping we did not make a mistake. The Grotten Nord was absolutely worth it. 90 ft below the city the rain didnt matter. You walk through awesome limestone tunnels and learn about the tunnels its mining and how they were used for safety since 1000 b.c. There at 68 degrees, and total darkness are awesome works of art drawn on the walls with coal. There is an interesting history below the city as there is above and you should not miss it!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nadnerb5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaastrichtUndergroud, Manager at St. Pietersberg Caves, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Nadnerb5,

Thank you for writing this review! Great to hear that your visit to the caves was not only a perfect place to hide from the rain, but that you really enjoyed the tour. Hopefully we will see you again in Maastricht!

Kind Regards,
The Maastricht Underground Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Pietersberg Caves also viewed

Maastricht, Limburg Province
Maastricht, Limburg Province
 

Been to St. Pietersberg Caves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing