We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It was boring for me :)” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of St. Pietersberg Caves

St. Pietersberg Caves
Ranked #2 of 83 things to do in Maastricht
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Take a guided tour in this subterranean network of caves and tunnels.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
68 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“It was boring for me :)”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

We were with group of student ... nothing very special for me :) ... it's a man made cave all parts are almost similar to each other. and long walking distance to entrance door.

Helpful?
Thank Atapi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

900 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    538
    285
    59
    11
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
FIVEMILETOWN
Level Contributor
74 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“True darkness”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

Took the cruise on river with cave trip, was a great experience and the guide we had was superb . The caves have a great story to relate with or guide giving great detail and explanations. I really loved the part where we had the chance to experience true darkness when lights were dimmed and hidden, we were then-given instructions to feel our way round the walls over a short rectangle course.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank hrfmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tilburg, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nice tour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

The ticket costs 11 euros for 2 adults.
On Saturdays and Sundays the English tour starts at 2pm and it lasts 1 hour. The guide is very friendly and he speaks slow and clear.
The terrain in the caves was not muddy but it's better to wear comfortable shoes. The temperature in the cave system is constant 10 degrees.
It would be very handy to take a small flashlight with you, else you'll have to count on the people who will be carrying the lamps.

Helpful?
7 Thank Evangelos I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sweeden
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“caves are always a litle mystery.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

I think these are the caves with the carving around the beginning of the tweniest century? Where you can have the dinner in the cave? Feels a little bit cold, but in winter time must be warm enough.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mieke483
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sweeden
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“cold and rain, so slippery, but it is still interesting.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

maastricht is a nice town, a liitle crowded, so you can go for a rest in the caves. do not forget to drink a witte wieckse. ladies like the rose.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Mieke483
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Pietersberg Caves also viewed

Maastricht, Limburg Province
Maastricht, Limburg Province
 
Maastricht, Limburg Province
Maastricht, Limburg Province
 

Been to St. Pietersberg Caves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing