We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Haas op het Vrijthof
Ranked #2 of 51 Maastricht B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Magnificent”
Reviewed January 31, 2014

We've just returned from Haas op 't Vrijthof and are booking ready to book our next stay. It's obvious the owners have made no compromise while setting up this high-end guesthouse. During our stay we felt pampered all the way through.

The modern furniture stands of great against the nicely preserved old building. Service and amenities were top notch: valet parking, breakfast served in the room, enough tips for places to visit for a week, free wifi, nice and clean rooms, silent rooms, free nespresso and tea, a lift, and most importantly, sincere smiles of the staff all day long.

Location cannot be better in Maastricht, everything can be reached on foot. The owners recommended us a nice spa on 10 min walking distance, where we had a very relaxing massage.

Book as many days as you can afford, you will not be sorry.
We definitely will come back soon. Thanks Haas.

Room Tip: The elevator does not reach the top floor, but the last from the top.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MadMax247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    19
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
50
4
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

I stayed at the superior suite of this guesthouse for 1 night, together with my husband, and it was wonderful. The location is great, service is excellent, and the suite was really nice. There was a huge Christmas tree in the middle of the living room, and everything was nicely decorated with lots of attention to detail.
Only negative remark: there are not so many toiletries provided, which was a bit inconvenient... And the bathtub was so big I couldn't lay down in it, but that's more of a luxury problem I guess.... :)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank krrlijn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Level Contributor
94 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2013

This hotel is under the B&B category but would rank in the top 10 great places to stay for me - and I have stayed in hundreds of hotels!
The service is impeccable. We had great difficulty in finding the place, having got to within 200m as the crow flies but about 2km as the car drives! We rang the hotel and someone came to us, jumped in the car, and guided us to the front door! They then took the car and parked it. The room was spacious, very clean and well equipped. Coffee machine, a small kitchen, excellent wifi, great shower/bathroom. The bed was very comfy, the breakfast (only had one in the 3 days as had meetings) was good. You even have a key to your own personal wine cellar in the basement. Good value, stunning location (once you find it). Bath robes, good local advice, friendly service. Any criticism? Yes - no chocolate in the mini bar so only 9.5/10 :-).
Would definitely stay here when returning to the region. A delightful place in a delightful and friendly city.

Room Tip: We had the comfort room, which was good. the others look even better. For a family they turn the c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oceanographer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Figtree
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

This guesthouse is located on the famous Vrijthof Square which makes it an ideal location to just wander around the historic areas of Maastricht. The apartment that we had was the superior suite which had its own elevator to the 2nd floor room, which was essential as I had a broken leg. The lounge room has magnificent views over the square and the churches next door. The bells were lovely to hear though not at all intrusive. The accessibility to all of the sidewalk cafes was fantastic. There was a bathroom, a shower room and a separate toilet as well as a 2nd small bedroom. The master room was large, though if being a little nit picky a bit bland. A painting or some type of decoration would have been good. Again being nit picky, as this is so close to being a real 5 star, some toiletries in the bathroom would have been good as well as some tissues and definitely need a better supplier of toilet paper. I have still given it a 5 star and would recommend it highly but it could just go a little bit further. The breakfast was extremely good and generous and the apartment cleaned well.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paula M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raanana
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We had an amazing stay at this small and luxurious hotel. The couple who manage the hotel were very nice and friendly. The rooms were gorgeous with a nice shower, a big bed and free wifi. The location was excellent, really in the middle of Maastricht and we had a very good breakfast. We'll come back for sure!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank choopch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bermuda
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

You cannot go wrong by staying here, we booked the ground floor garden suite, unfortunately the weather was not great when we were there so we never managed to enjoy the garden as it was wet and cold. The room and bathroom were huge - especially for a European b&b. everything was brand new and very comfortable. I understand the owner Rik spent the last year renovating. He and his staff were extremely helpful with recommendations of where to eat and what to do. The place is in a great location on a main square. We are not big breakfast eaters so Rik recommended that we just order some pastries as it could be difficult to get breakfast in town and it was definitely worth it, especially as you can make coffee and tea in the room. I would not hesitate to recommend staying there, we would stay again if we go to Maastricht and hopefully the next time we can enjoy Rik's wine cellar!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rose P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oman
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We stayed 4 nights in Triple Room with Patio. It says "Triple room", but it has 2 rooms; one is with a large bed for two with TV, fridge and tea/coffee facility, and another small room with a single bed and the patio. So our 5 year old son had his own bedroom, and we could relax while he was concentrating on Lego in his room! The room was clean and stylish, and it was nice to see some fresh flowers on the table. We met 3 different staff during our stay. Although they weren't particularly knowledgeable with the tourist information, they were very very helpful to collect the information we needed from the net. The owner was also very kind and helpful, and we enjoyed having a chat with him. Looking over the churches and having breakfast on the patio was lovely, and having a Nespresso machine was a bonus!! Being by the historical location was also great, and the train/main bus station was only 10 min stroll!
A few things we were disappointed - There was no WIFI connection in our room, and we had to sit in the patio (it was cold in the morning and the evening) or to come out of the room to get the connection. Another thing was that the extra cost for children wasn't clear on Booking.com - As we booked a Triple room with 1 large and 1 single bed, we thought the basic room charge was for up to 3 people.
However, it was really a nice place to stay and we very much enjoyed our stay here!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RitzB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maastricht hotels
0.2 mi away
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
#3 of 37 in Maastricht
1,274 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Maastricht
Crowne Plaza Maastricht
#10 of 37 in Maastricht
681 reviews
0.7 mi away
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
#6 of 37 in Maastricht
1,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Kaboom Hotel
Kaboom Hotel
#2 of 37 in Maastricht
488 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Dutch
The Dutch
#1 of 37 in Maastricht
236 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Beaumont
Hotel Beaumont
#5 of 37 in Maastricht
1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haas op het Vrijthof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haas op het Vrijthof

Property: Haas op het Vrijthof
Address: Vrijthof 20, 6211 LD Maastricht, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Maastricht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Haas op het Vrijthof 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Haas op het Vrijthof is a Luxury Guesthouse in the city centre. Full of design and personal service. We offer valet parking service, a private wine shelve with every room and suite, free wifi, coffee and tea and a city guide upon arrival! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Haas op het Vrijthof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing