We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (927)
Filter reviews
927 results
Traveler rating
314
449
115
28
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
314
449
115
28
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsample free parkingandre rieu concertmain restaurantgood sizefree shuttleour room was spaciousvery nice hotelexcellent breakfastrooms are bigcold meatspleasant staythe hotel offerscoffee machinehotel is locatedconferencetaximotorway
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 927 reviews
Reviewed September 28, 2017

Good Hotel Large Rooms Free Parking Space Swimming Pool Sauna Good Restaurants
Wenn I Travel inthe Netherlands Van der Valk is almost always my first choice!
The overall offer is among the best you can get for your money in NL

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank marcvW9765SW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2017

We stayed here during our weekend away to see André Rieu and it really added a little something to the whole trip. Even when we entered the reception we knew we made the right choice, it was full of André Rieu memorabilia and a TV playing one of his concerts.
Our room was spacious and clean and, although facing the road and the motorway just further away, very quiet too. The free use of the pool and saunas was a great unexpected surprise, we thought we would have to pay extra for it and the breakfast was great. A huge range of items including made to order pancakes and other goodies.
The hotel isn't in the heart of Maastricht but the hotel runs very fairly priced shuttle buses during weekends and can arrange transport for you during the week too. They put on coaches every night of the concert that take you there and pick you up. After the concert there was a little queue to get on one of the coaches back to the hotel but the Van Der Valk staff were on hand, going down the line giving out sweets while we waited.
They really went out of the way to make sure we had a great André Rieu weekend, I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone going for this purpose, or if you're just going to explore Maastricht without seeing the concert!

Room Tip: If there are only rooms looking onto the road left, don't let it put you off, we didn't hear a thing!
  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Hannah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2017

I must say that the Van der Valk Hotel Maastricht was one of the best hotels i have stayed in. The staff where lovely and very approachable, also the cleanliness of the hole building was at a very high standard so thank you to the Domestics/cleaning staff. The food was exquisite not one bad thing about it. If you like to relax well it has a very nice spa and pool to swim in. The time i spent at this Hotel was FAB.

probable the only small issue i had was that i did not have a small fridge in my room, so i had to put my milk in my friends fridge so every time i wanted a cup of tea, i had to go and disturb him and his wife which we all know sometimes that is not the best ;) ;).

But apart from that this Hotel is very very good. I would certainly recommend this lovely Hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jamesmV6875XI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2017

An excellent hotel 20 mins walk from the centre, there is also a bus which goes to the station. We had a standard room facing the highway so decided to upgrade to comfort. It was a big room with a nice view on the 4th floor. Visited the gym which had equipment but found it had a stale smell, there was no cleaning liquid for the equipment which is not hygienic. Towels had to be collected from the reception. This is also for the sauna. The spa area was modern and very nice. The pool nice but too busy with kids.

Breakfasts are very good, with a large selection.

The Brasserie food is also good and the waitress very amicable.

We had dinner one night. It was a disaster. Instead of a bottle of wine, the waitress brought one glass, we had to wait a while before someone else rectified the mistake. The water I had ordered was forgotten until reminded almost at the end of our meal. We only ordered the main dish - fish with extra veggies instead of potatoes, and meat from the grill. Both were rather tasteless although a sauce was served separately. We got exactly the same sides as everyone else with French fries, not what we requested. It took so long we decided not to say anything. The service was very slow. Will not have dinner again there. A pity!

Room Tip: Rooms away from the highway.
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moonbeam666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2017 via mobile

I stayed here for one night. Staff was friendly. Restaurant and breakfast are great,very tasty and nice interior!!Breakfast buffet offered a fantastic variety of both traditional options as well as healthy options.It looked as everything was served in an hygienic manner. The room and bathroom were spacious and clean. In my opinion the interior,walls and carpet in the room need a make-over in order to make the room more cosy and less cold. This in spite of the purple bedcover and pillow. bathroom was also spacious,with both shower and bath tub. But also the bathroom lacked a contemporary and cosy feel. There were tea and coffee facilities, which consisted of a waterheater in which you have to put capsules, both for coffee and tea. I'd advise to put in a normal water heater and teabags. The hotel has a great indoor pool! Fitness area with nice view. The hotel is located near the high way and a 10min walk to the railway station. Overall Great for a business stay!!

Stayed: August 2017, traveled on business
Thank artemisAntwerp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saronne S, Director of Sales at Hotel van der Valk Maastricht, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2017

Dear sir/madam, Thank you very much for this nice review. We will be refurbishing all rooms shortly, we hope by the end of 2018 all rooms and bathrooms are renovated.

We hope to see you again! Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews