We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, good service.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Van der Valk Hotel Maastricht

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Van der Valk Hotel Maastricht to your Saves list
Van der Valk Hotel Maastricht
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nijverheidsweg 35, 6227 AL Maastricht, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 40 Hotels in Maastricht
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
298 reviews
220 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, good service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Overall very nice hotel with nice service, Helpful staff who went out of their way to help. I would just say though that it was severely uncomfortable to sit in the lobby with the doors wide open and a bitter wind blowing through just because there were some workmen doing something which somehow entailed leaving the door open.
However everything else was pretty good, although Maastricht itself is going through such construction that from one side one just looks out into a bleak hole.
Also windows in more than one room let in a lot of cold air.
Breakfast was great though and the staff also.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pheephox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    235
    57
    14
    7
See reviews for
67
224
14
74
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Naaldwijk, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We have been here for the 2nd time. It is a great place to stay. We stayed in a "family room" good for 2 adults + 2 children. Close to the city of Maastricht. The hotel runs a shuttle service. Free parking. Should try the "Live Cooking" in the evening. Overall the food is great. Breakfast very good, wide selection.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MartinWu4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We also stayed here for Andre Rieu's concert and it was a great . Lovely staff. Superb rooms- modern and clean. Restaurant and bar food great. Shuttle bus to city during the day - free, and a return coupon can be purchased for a taxi at reception. €9 to city in taxi- and a special rate in the hotel. We took a local bus into the centre for €2.40 per person- the bus stop is a 2 minute walk down the road. Transport was organised by the hotel to the concert so it made the whole trip very manageable. Having read about the hotel prior to visiting this is not as far out as might be presented- though I don't know about walking . I visited with seniors and it was just fantastic - no worries or concerns about further visits.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nhiggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We had a room for 3 adults which was SUPERB at a very reasonable cost and the Bistro Cafe was excellent value for lunch. Staff exceedingly helpful. amazing for what is now termed an INDUSTRIAL HOTEL. for our trip out to the Andre Rieu concert Busses were also supplied at very reasonable cost

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BagsyB37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilsyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

From the moment we entered till we left, the staff and service at this hotel was amazing. Great customer service has to be acknowledged. Nothing was too much bother, taxis laid on, shuttle bus to and from the concert was provided and the cost was really good. We thought we would have breakfast the first morning and then go and look else where but it was so good that we had breakfast every day for the 5 days. The rooms were beautiful and the beds so comfy. I cannot think of any negatives at all and we will definately return next year.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GK1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Level Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed here to go to the Andre Rieu concert and it was full of concertgoers from all over the world. The hotel is clean and pleasant with helpful staff. The room was nicely decorated, with comfy beds and there was tea/coffee making facilities although there was no milk for tea just coffee creamer, the bathroom was clean with enough toiletries. The Brasserie was well run and the staff were helpful. The a la carte restaurant was expensive, slow and pretentious. The food was ok but a touch pedestrian. More hype-presentation than choice. Breakfast was excellent, lots of choice of hot or cold items. There are hold ups at the tea& coffee dispensers

There was ample free parking but the free shuttlebus did not run during the day on Sunday and it was a very long hot walk that day although there was local bus service once an hour. As there is lots of new roadway being built in the town it would have been helpful if there were maps/road signs to help drivers get out of Maastricht.

The hotel staff spoke English fluently as did the restauranters and shopkeepers in town. Checking and checkouts are prone to delays. Good value would try other hotels the chain.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a lower floor if possible as the lifts are VERY SLOW. The top floor and those on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank silverfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Location: easy access to freeway. Not in a particular nice area. Good location for a overnight stay. Decent restaurants. Small but functional gym. Room: nice, spacious room, large shower and bad tub. Modern decor. Free Wifi in the room. Nice TV with decent selection of channels. Staff: friendly staff; upon arrival the (sofa) bed was not ready - this was corrected very fast and with care. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maastricht hotels
1.6 mi away
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
#2 of 40 in Maastricht
4.5 of 5 stars 904 reviews
0.4 mi away
NH Maastricht
NH Maastricht
#9 of 40 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 stars 894 reviews
1.0 mi away
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
#5 of 40 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 stars 1,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hampshire Designhotel - Maastricht
0.8 mi away
Kaboom Hotel
Kaboom Hotel
#1 of 40 in Maastricht
4.5 of 5 stars 255 reviews
1.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Maastricht
Crowne Plaza Hotel Maastricht
#11 of 40 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 stars 540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Van der Valk Hotel Maastricht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Van der Valk Hotel Maastricht

Property: Van der Valk Hotel Maastricht
Address: Nijverheidsweg 35, 6227 AL Maastricht, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 40 Hotels in Maastricht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Van der Valk Hotel Maastricht 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Van der Valk Hotel Maastricht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing