We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Defintely a Yes, but be aware of the location.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Van der Valk Hotel Maastricht

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Van der Valk Hotel Maastricht
Ranked #8 of 37 Hotels in Maastricht
Certificate of Excellence
Aalst, Belgium
Level Contributor
111 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Defintely a Yes, but be aware of the location.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

We booked a last minute suite at a very good price and indeed the room was spatious, very clean and equipped with a good bed. The breakfast was absolutely excellent with a large choice and we both concluded that this was one of the most tastefull breakfasts we ever had. Also the main restaurant is a nice place with enough privacy, comfortable and luxury furniture. You can also eat in the brasserie and i advise the surprise dessert (both in the main & brasserie), this is a mix of small deserts at 2€ a piece. Everyone loves this.
Finally be aware that this hotel is in my opinion just a little bit to far from the city center (45min walking), but the better "price/quality" easily allows you to drive to the city (5minutes) and park there for the whole day.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vuurvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    303
    78
    16
    10
See reviews for
95
291
17
94
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

Stayed here four nights. I was promised on check-in that breakfast was included but got charged in full on check-out. Girl on the desk insisted on full payment and treated me like I was ten years old. Nothing else going for this hotel, they are building offices on one side and a motorway on the other. Taxis are hard to get so I ended up walking everywhere. It's close to the conference centre but far from everything else. It's in a residential suburb where the foot-paths are covered with dog dirt. Best avoid.

Room Tip: Check the towels, one of mine was used.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmagDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
406 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

This is the type of hotel I would look for in any place. Excellent price against an excellent performance.
Very nice desk personnel. Beautiful Brasserie/Grand Cate with lots of choices (food and drinks). The rooms a gorgious and nicely decorated. The bathroom has both a bathtub and separate shower. The beds are excellent. We slept well.

The location is not that nice looking (there are lots of reconstruction works going on along the motorway A2. However it doesn't harm your stay.

The hotel is of walking distance from down town Maastricht. From the hotel go underneath the bridge and follow the road along the motorway (oranjeplein) untill the large crossing. Cross the motorway and continue until a food tunnel. Take the tunnel and contnue to the Stationstraat. From there iit is a nice walk into down town Maastricht.

Room Tip: The hotel is of walking distance from down town Maastricht. From the hotel go underneath the bridge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hans750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peebles, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed in this nice hotle for 5 nights, and enjoyed every minute. In particular the brasserie/bruin cafe is very pleasant and we could not get enough of it!
The room we booked was the Sinatra Suite and it was really nice and the bath was just about spacious enough for two!!
We had two problems however: the A/C seemed not to be working and also, although all rooms seems to have been renewed, cerainly not our suite. Why was this not communicated?

Room Tip: book any of the new rooms (190) but not the suite; it is not good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacob_van_Houdt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bransgore, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
250 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Excellent Hotel on outskirts of Maastricht.
Clean tidy and spacious rooms.
Good Value
Plenty of car parking.
Food is adequate but not special.
Have used this hotel as conference facility - it works well in this role.

Room Tip: One side of hotel faces residential area and rooms are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnnyAsbestos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

THE hotel was oké, missing à remote for the tv and à waterboyler. Big enough Nice rooms door to balkons wouln't open. Breakfast was verf bad, raw ego's bad coffee. Diner also bad Theo serve food made early in THE day, meat was hard and dry. Serves bad because we couldn't Eat the meat, THE refunt was poor. I would chose another hotel next time

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank renee778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Desio, Italy
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

Rooms are very basic and cold. No minibar available (not even a bottle of water)!!!. Food at the restaurant is simply horrible. We were hungry but couldn't eat. Never again!!!! I have no good feeling for tomorrow morning breakfast....

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Arimonza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maastricht hotels
0.4 mi away
NH Maastricht
NH Maastricht
#11 of 37 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,090 reviews
1.6 mi away
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
#2 of 37 in Maastricht
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,183 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kaboom Hotel
Kaboom Hotel
#1 of 37 in Maastricht
4.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
#5 of 37 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,206 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampshire Designhotel - Maastricht
1.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Maastricht
Crowne Plaza Maastricht
#12 of 37 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Van der Valk Hotel Maastricht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Van der Valk Hotel Maastricht

Property: Van der Valk Hotel Maastricht
Address: Nijverheidsweg 35, 6227 AL Maastricht, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 37 Hotels in Maastricht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Van der Valk Hotel Maastricht 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Van der Valk Hotel Maastricht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing