We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Charm and Hospitality! Best breakfast in Holland!”
Review of Hotel de Pauwenhof

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel de Pauwenhof
Ranked #24 of 38 Hotels in Maastricht
Reviewed April 26, 2009

Location: Wonderful location right near the main market square. Walking distance to all of the main tourist sights, cafes and shops. Nearby private parking available for less cost than "Q Parking Garages".

Service and Staff: The level of service was fantastic. The friendly, English speaking staff was knowledgeable. We asked for recommendations for places to visit and dine and every recommendation was a hit. We had some questions regarding the use of the satellite TV system and the owner/manager not only provided prompt direction in person but brought us cappuccinos and delicious cake to enjoy.

The Room: We had a garden room - with big French doors leading to a gorgeous garden. The room was spotlessly clean. The beds were very comfortable. The linens were very high end. The room had a fully stocked coffee/tea service (a Nespresso coffee maker!). The bathroom was beautiful. All marble and high end fixtures. Everything you could want was provided - iron & board, umbrella, hair dryer, etc.

Breakfast: I have family all over the Netherlands and as a result I have been visiting this wonderful country my entire life. The Hotel de Pauwenhof offers the best breakfast we have ever enjoyed at any hotel. Artisan breads, traditional Dutch breakfast items, eggs cooked to order - and all in the most beautiful setting.

The garden, sun room, dining room - all gorgeous. See our photos!

If you are in Maastricht, don't miss an opportunity to stay in this beautifully restored historic hotel!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PAK_Chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (167)
There are newer reviews for Hotel de Pauwenhof
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 167 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2009

Found this place by chance on the internet, first plus was the parking which we found without too much trouble. The decor was lovely, and the staff all very helpful. Our room looked over the courtyard and was very peaceful. It was well appointed, although there was no electrical socket for the lamp on one table?? Can't comment on the breakfast as we got up a bit late. Very close to all the centre. Overall would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gammagirly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2007

I stayed at Hotel Pauwenhof for one night a t the end of May and found it a very pleasant place. I arrived by train and decided to try to walk to the hoteI, which is possible and would have taken about 20 minutes if I hadn't got lost! I would recommend a taxi!
I received a warm welcome on arrival and allocated a room on the third floor, which I reached via the rather small but interesting and quirky old lift system. The room itself was very comfortable with a large bed and plenty of room. The only criticism would be the shower - it was on a feeder up from the bath and it was almost impossible to get any heat into it and it was rather weak running.
Breakfast was fine - a self service continental buffet , well stocked with cereal, croissants, ham and cheese etc.
The hotel is very well located and just a short walk to the old town and the main square, with plenty of restaurants shops and bars. Overall a very pleasant location, though my stay was unfortunately very brief.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roundy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2006

A vg luxury bijou hotel right in the centre of Maastricht. Personal attention by the proprietor. VG breakfast. We had an excellent "Garden Room" on the ground floor accross a little patio.

1  Thank bigcheese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2006

Great hotel and staff.Airconditioning is being installed which should help as rooms on upper floor a bit airless and warm.Could do with more lighting .Nice to see a big bathroom and tub. Coffee maker came in handy.Lovely lounge and patio area

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank littlescotch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2005

This hotel and old town were very special. We stayed on the lower level in the hotel on the center garden. Just lovely. We walked to everything. As another traveler advised, we didn't take the breakfast, but enjoyed the many cafes in town. It is a very safe town and we felt comfortable when out and about either day or night. I would recommend this hotel and town to anyone who is interested in a special hotel experience and European history.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sguner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2004

We came accross it by chance, searching a good combination of price, location and hotel comfort.
We found it in this very nice hotel. The owner showed us the whole hotel/house, he was very kind and helpful. The entrance and breakfast room as well as the patio are really very nice.
Our room was on the 3rd floor, nice and clean even if not wonderful. The marble bathroom was better looking than the room.
Location is very good, pair of minutes walk from the heart of the city. We could park the car in a semiprivate nearby park for free.
We would certainly come back, a very good place to stay at a right price.

4  Thank Strady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maastricht hotels
0.2 mi away
Amrath Hotel DuCasque
Amrath Hotel DuCasque
#17 of 38 in Maastricht
130 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Maastricht
Crowne Plaza Maastricht
#11 of 38 in Maastricht
730 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mabi
Hotel Mabi
#13 of 38 in Maastricht
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel d'Orangerie
Hotel d'Orangerie
#33 of 38 in Maastricht
162 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bastion Hotel Maastricht Centrum
0.2 mi away
Boutique Hotel Grote Gracht
Boutique Hotel Grote Gracht
#31 of 38 in Maastricht
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Pauwenhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Pauwenhof

Address: 70, Boschstraat, 6211 AX Maastricht, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Maastricht
#15 Luxury Hotel in Maastricht
Price Range: $106 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de Pauwenhof 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel de Pauwenhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Pauwenhof Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing