We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“An elegant option in Maastrich” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel de Pauwenhof

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel de Pauwenhof
Ranked #23 of 38 Hotels in Maastricht
Certificate of Excellence
Switzerland
Level Contributor
131 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“An elegant option in Maastrich”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

In my serach for a hotel in Maastrich, I found a lot of trendy options with reviews about noise, thin walls, etc. I choose Pauwenhof, and it was is good choice. The hotel is charming, the owner helpful, and the location amazing. And, we slept great, and only saw and heard other guests in the morning at breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room, at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2travelingbugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    62
    24
    8
    2
See reviews for
21
74
7
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, Ca
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

I stayed here during a recent business trip and found it to be very much as described by others on TA. Nice, small boutique hotel, wifi and breakfast were included in my rate, but based on other reviews that seems to vary. Staff were helpful and friendly, some more than others knowing more about local tours/attractions. Location was excellent, close to old town, but also the bus stops which could take you elsewhere around town. Breakfast was a nice variety. I would definitely recommend the hotel to others.

Room Tip: If you can not manage flights of spiral stairs make sure to book a room on the ground floor, the lif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Globe-trotter-too
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grindleford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2012

For anyone wanting to spend a few days in this lovely city then this Bed & Breakfast hotel is a must. The hotel is so very homely and the management and staff cannot do enough to make the absolute best of your stay. The recomendations for restaurants as well as suggestions for things to do were second to none. The location is ideal, just off one of the squares. The only problem we had is on arrival, by car, in finding the hotel. We would definitely stay here again if for nothing else but the wonderful breakfasts.

Room Tip: The garden rooms are very nice indeed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sirwillcottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
54 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2012

The hotel is right next to the Markt, about 15 min. walk from the central train station and only a few minutes walk to all the fun places Maastricht has to offer. It is very easy to find.

We planed on staying for 2 nights, but ended up adding an extra night :)
The staff was very friendly, the room was nice, the shower was amazing and the location was incredible. There is a Nespresso machine in the room, and although the bed wasn't the best, everything else was great. There is a mini bar in the room and a Jambo supermarket near by - very convenient. A map of the city was left in our room along with a magazine suggesting fun things to do in the city.

Unfortunately there was no free internet :(

The only thing you should know is that there is a city tax - Per Person Per Night. Perhaps it's in all the hotels (I don't know), but it wasn't fun to have extra 22.5 Euro extra on our bill... I know it's not much, but this amount made our bill almost 400 Euro for 3 nights... It was a bit expensive for us.
(If you are staying for one night - it's ok, but if you're traveling with a partner and staying for several nights, you should take this under consideration).

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CitizenVictoria_AMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
117 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2012

A nice smaller hotel with character in the centre of Maastricht (all on walkable distance), garage nearby, which is out of the ordinary in the sense that it is cosy and not frequented by many tourists. Building is out of the 18th century with all its characteristics. Rooms therefore are larger then a usual hotel room with a high ceiling. All for a reasonable price.
The breakfast room is very nice and all is being offered for a luxury breakfast. That though comes for a price of EUR16 a person. The living room is cosy and invites guests to have a stay at 'home' but who would with a city as Maastricht is?
Bathrooms offer all one needs although these slowly are getting older (though no issues were found!).
Staff tries to comfort you and help wherever possible; ensuring a relaxed stay.
When I would need to make a remark it would be the noise level, meaning that neighbors can be heard! We enjoyed our stay and certainly will be back!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WBastiaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2012

De Pauwenhof..... lives up to its description in the Portfolio guide. We were impressed by the comfortable, well-appointed rooms ; friendly and helpful staff ; and wholesome breakfast. A wonderful and nice place to stay which is very near to square.. Enjoyed our stay there

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HPSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2011

We arrived randomly in Maastricht having not made any particular plan to stay. We parked the car and set about wandering in the central area near to the main square to find a place to stay. We found a range of pries from €90 to €200 per night for a twin room. This was the second cheapest at €99 but the room and bathroom were nice. The cheaper room in another hotel was small, pokey, smelly and above a bar!

The room was comfortable and modern with a small seating area, TV, mini bar and coffee making facilities. The bathroom, whilst dark in style, was good - although there was a heavy layer of dust in the corner under the sink. The room turned out to be very quiet indeed and we had an excellent night's sleep.

The staff were friendly and spoke good English although the bureaucracy involved at check in was like something from way back - we had to provide full details, our passports were photocopied and we ha to pay in full in advance!

The breakfast was expensive so we skipped this and found somewhere a short walk away on the square outside for much less. Beware though, we only found on place open at 9am!

Parking is also an issue in the centre of Maastricht, although this applies to all the hotels and not just this one. It cost us €16 to park in an overnight car park which was only a short walk from the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for one at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Whiskyhunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maastricht hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mabi
Hotel Mabi
#14 of 38 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel d'Orangerie
Hotel d'Orangerie
#32 of 38 in Maastricht
3.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bastion Hotel Maastricht Centrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Boutique Hotel Grote Gracht
Boutique Hotel Grote Gracht
#29 of 38 in Maastricht
3.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampshire Designhotel - Maastricht
0.5 mi away
Hotel Au Quartier
Hotel Au Quartier
#26 of 38 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Pauwenhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Pauwenhof

Property: Hotel de Pauwenhof
Address: 70, Boschstraat, 6211 AX Maastricht, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Maastricht
#15 Luxury Hotel in Maastricht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de Pauwenhof 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel de Pauwenhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Pauwenhof Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing