We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Feel like small & sweet home...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel de Pauwenhof

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel de Pauwenhof
Ranked #23 of 38 Hotels in Maastricht
Certificate of Excellence
Kampala
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Feel like small & sweet home...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2012

De Pauwenhof..... lives up to its description in the Portfolio guide. We were impressed by the comfortable, well-appointed rooms ; friendly and helpful staff ; and wholesome breakfast. A wonderful and nice place to stay which is very near to square.. Enjoyed our stay there

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HPSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    62
    24
    8
    2
See reviews for
21
74
7
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2011

We arrived randomly in Maastricht having not made any particular plan to stay. We parked the car and set about wandering in the central area near to the main square to find a place to stay. We found a range of pries from €90 to €200 per night for a twin room. This was the second cheapest at €99 but the room and bathroom were nice. The cheaper room in another hotel was small, pokey, smelly and above a bar!

The room was comfortable and modern with a small seating area, TV, mini bar and coffee making facilities. The bathroom, whilst dark in style, was good - although there was a heavy layer of dust in the corner under the sink. The room turned out to be very quiet indeed and we had an excellent night's sleep.

The staff were friendly and spoke good English although the bureaucracy involved at check in was like something from way back - we had to provide full details, our passports were photocopied and we ha to pay in full in advance!

The breakfast was expensive so we skipped this and found somewhere a short walk away on the square outside for much less. Beware though, we only found on place open at 9am!

Parking is also an issue in the centre of Maastricht, although this applies to all the hotels and not just this one. It cost us €16 to park in an overnight car park which was only a short walk from the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for one at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Whiskyhunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2011

Lovely old building, very close to the Markt Square. Beautiful breakfast and nice antiques, courtyard garden etc. Quirky lift/elevator added to the charm. Air-conditioning very welcome on surprisingly warm nights in September in Holland. The rooms contained lots of little extras to help your stay go well. The manager was very helpful with information about Maastricht on our last morning. Sorry to read the bad experience of a previous guest at the hotel which I hadn't seen before I booked.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank visitorfromOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South of Amsterdam, north of Paris
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2010

We were in Maastricht for our honeymoon, and this hotel was a perfect pick. We were looking for a cozy and romantic place to stay, somewhat exclusive but affordable for us (we are still young and studying). Nic (the owner) was very friendly, gave wonderful advice about what to see and do in the city. Breakfast is brilliant, the staff is friendly, and rooms were OK. We had a room in the hotel itself (not one of the garden rooms) which was quite bland compared to the stunning ground floor. Next time we would try one of the garden rooms seeing these reviews here. Another nice touch: because it was our honeymoon, one of our trips (a boat trip to Liège) was payed for by the house. We would definitely consider this hotel again when we are in Maastricht!

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank simonthemooncalf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2009

We selected de Pauwenhof to be our hotel during our short weekend in Maastricht becouse the old traditional atmosphere of the hotel as stated on the internet.
Check in was easy and pleasant, the breakfast room and the garden are adorable, but the guestrooms...
Such a shame they didnt leave any old features- all the furniture are modern IKEA-style, fake-leather chairs that are very uncomfortable to sit on, mini plastic flower arrangement on the table.. We didnt want that to ruin our weekend, and went out to enjoy Maastricht terraces, restaurants, shopping.
Later in the evening we came back (after 23 hours the reception is closed), wanted to get some sleep, but found out that the pillows were absolutely NOT comfortable. Extremely hard, and after few hours of sleep I woke up with my head smelling like rubber (?!).
The walls seem to be very thin, you can hear your neighbours doing their thing-
I was quite happy it was morning and we could continue our trip.
The breakfast was good, the lady working there very nice and friendly.
The check-out was swift (I believe we interrupted something she was doing?), the person checking us out wasn't even intrested if we had a good stay.

de Pauwenhof has a great location, good breakfast but overpriced guestrooms.
Next time we will choose something more authentic.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Somesunplease78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2009

After arriving in the city and quickly deciding that the hotel that I originally booked was small and located above a bar and grill type eatery, my daughter and I started out walking to find another hotel. We were initially told that there was "no vacancies" after the owner saw that we were black. After going down the street to yet another small and locally owned hotel, we were sent back witha note signed by this hotel's owner, who said, " give this note to him, and he'll let you stay." At this point we wer very tired from a long trip and had luggage in tow, so we decided to got back with the note to the hotel.
This time, the man reluctantly "found" a room for my daughter and I, but not before he got five types of id's, credit card number and a copy of both our Passports. He then "claimed" that he did not understand what I meant by"do you have any vacancies" the first time I was there. Generally, I would have not stayed at a place with such obvious bias and racism, but when in an unfamiliar country, I was afraid that I would not get a room for the night. At any rate, the rooms were air conditioned ( yes, it made a sound every 2 minutes or so) and clean.
After the man realized that we had money and were not going to stiff him for the bill; his attitude changed, toward us, but was never totally friendly. We stayed for 2 nights and were able to get a reasonable amount of rest.
I enjoyed the patio/garden area and the fact that the location was near town square.
The desk clerk was not helpful at all in providing information about attractions or sights.
Overall, the stay was "okay".

  • Stayed July 2009
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank AfrAmerprincgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2009

Unlike others, we found the hotel really easily with a GPS. Every thing was perfect, the staff, the location, the cleanliness etc... I forgot my phone my room and they sent it back three days later. I was really impressed by the honesty and the rapidity they did that. Definitely a recommended address in Maastricht for anyone.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Willem G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maastricht hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mabi
Hotel Mabi
#14 of 38 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel d'Orangerie
Hotel d'Orangerie
#32 of 38 in Maastricht
3.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bastion Hotel Maastricht Centrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Boutique Hotel Grote Gracht
Boutique Hotel Grote Gracht
#29 of 38 in Maastricht
3.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampshire Designhotel - Maastricht
0.5 mi away
Hotel Au Quartier
Hotel Au Quartier
#26 of 38 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Pauwenhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Pauwenhof

Property: Hotel de Pauwenhof
Address: 70, Boschstraat, 6211 AX Maastricht, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Maastricht
#15 Luxury Hotel in Maastricht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de Pauwenhof 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel de Pauwenhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Pauwenhof Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing