We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice, quiet hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel de Pauwenhof

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel de Pauwenhof
Ranked #23 of 37 Hotels in Maastricht
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very nice, quiet hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2011

Lovely old building, very close to the Markt Square. Beautiful breakfast and nice antiques, courtyard garden etc. Quirky lift/elevator added to the charm. Air-conditioning very welcome on surprisingly warm nights in September in Holland. The rooms contained lots of little extras to help your stay go well. The manager was very helpful with information about Maastricht on our last morning. Sorry to read the bad experience of a previous guest at the hotel which I hadn't seen before I booked.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank visitorfromOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    67
    24
    10
    3
See reviews for
21
81
7
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South of Amsterdam, north of Paris
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2010

We were in Maastricht for our honeymoon, and this hotel was a perfect pick. We were looking for a cozy and romantic place to stay, somewhat exclusive but affordable for us (we are still young and studying). Nic (the owner) was very friendly, gave wonderful advice about what to see and do in the city. Breakfast is brilliant, the staff is friendly, and rooms were OK. We had a room in the hotel itself (not one of the garden rooms) which was quite bland compared to the stunning ground floor. Next time we would try one of the garden rooms seeing these reviews here. Another nice touch: because it was our honeymoon, one of our trips (a boat trip to Liège) was payed for by the house. We would definitely consider this hotel again when we are in Maastricht!

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank simonthemooncalf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2009

We selected de Pauwenhof to be our hotel during our short weekend in Maastricht becouse the old traditional atmosphere of the hotel as stated on the internet.
Check in was easy and pleasant, the breakfast room and the garden are adorable, but the guestrooms...
Such a shame they didnt leave any old features- all the furniture are modern IKEA-style, fake-leather chairs that are very uncomfortable to sit on, mini plastic flower arrangement on the table.. We didnt want that to ruin our weekend, and went out to enjoy Maastricht terraces, restaurants, shopping.
Later in the evening we came back (after 23 hours the reception is closed), wanted to get some sleep, but found out that the pillows were absolutely NOT comfortable. Extremely hard, and after few hours of sleep I woke up with my head smelling like rubber (?!).
The walls seem to be very thin, you can hear your neighbours doing their thing-
I was quite happy it was morning and we could continue our trip.
The breakfast was good, the lady working there very nice and friendly.
The check-out was swift (I believe we interrupted something she was doing?), the person checking us out wasn't even intrested if we had a good stay.

de Pauwenhof has a great location, good breakfast but overpriced guestrooms.
Next time we will choose something more authentic.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Somesunplease78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2009

After arriving in the city and quickly deciding that the hotel that I originally booked was small and located above a bar and grill type eatery, my daughter and I started out walking to find another hotel. We were initially told that there was "no vacancies" after the owner saw that we were black. After going down the street to yet another small and locally owned hotel, we were sent back witha note signed by this hotel's owner, who said, " give this note to him, and he'll let you stay." At this point we wer very tired from a long trip and had luggage in tow, so we decided to got back with the note to the hotel.
This time, the man reluctantly "found" a room for my daughter and I, but not before he got five types of id's, credit card number and a copy of both our Passports. He then "claimed" that he did not understand what I meant by"do you have any vacancies" the first time I was there. Generally, I would have not stayed at a place with such obvious bias and racism, but when in an unfamiliar country, I was afraid that I would not get a room for the night. At any rate, the rooms were air conditioned ( yes, it made a sound every 2 minutes or so) and clean.
After the man realized that we had money and were not going to stiff him for the bill; his attitude changed, toward us, but was never totally friendly. We stayed for 2 nights and were able to get a reasonable amount of rest.
I enjoyed the patio/garden area and the fact that the location was near town square.
The desk clerk was not helpful at all in providing information about attractions or sights.
Overall, the stay was "okay".

  • Stayed July 2009
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank AfrAmerprincgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2009

Unlike others, we found the hotel really easily with a GPS. Every thing was perfect, the staff, the location, the cleanliness etc... I forgot my phone my room and they sent it back three days later. I was really impressed by the honesty and the rapidity they did that. Definitely a recommended address in Maastricht for anyone.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Willem G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2009

If you are staying in Maastricht, I suggest you first look into staying at the Pauwenhof. The owner, Nic, greeted us, checked us in, and then , following check-in, treated us to a welcoming drink. Everything was great. The people who work there are wonderful!! Vivian who handles the morning, including breakfast, is spectacular. Nic told us of a local restaurant that was truly local--and the best food we found anywhere in Europe for 2 weeks. I would definitely stay here again. By the way, I have no idea how anyone could fail to find this hotel---it is one block from City Hall.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim12345678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luxembourg
Level Contributor
80 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2009

A small stylish hotel where you feel really at home. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. There is enclosed (though not covered) parking behind (you have to get a key from reception then drive round to it as no direct access from the hotel and you pay but it's reasonable). We had a nice room off the ground floor courtyard, where there are chairs and tables so you can sit out (and smoke) and the courtyard can be covered when the weather is bad. The room was an average size, clean, quiet, and nicely equipped including a good expresso machine which could also provide hot water for tea. The bathroom was very nicely appointed. The breakfast buffet (not included in room rate) was good and they cooked eggs to order. There is nice lounge area. There is no regular restaurant for lunch or dinner (they will cater for parties on request) but it's really not an issue as there so many good bars, cafes and restaurants in Maastricht. The location, just off the Market Square where there is a very good market on Friday, is good for walking to all the attractions and shops. It's not a bargain but is fair value for money. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luxtraveller88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maastricht hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Beaumont
Hotel Beaumont
#4 of 37 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 bubbles 969 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mabi
Hotel Mabi
#14 of 37 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel d'Orangerie
Hotel d'Orangerie
#32 of 37 in Maastricht
3.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Maastricht
Crowne Plaza Maastricht
#12 of 37 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kaboom Hotel
Kaboom Hotel
#1 of 37 in Maastricht
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Dutch
The Dutch
#6 of 37 in Maastricht
4.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Pauwenhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Pauwenhof

Property: Hotel de Pauwenhof
Address: 70, Boschstraat, 6211 AX Maastricht, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Maastricht
#15 Luxury Hotel in Maastricht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de Pauwenhof 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel de Pauwenhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Pauwenhof Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing