We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel - really nice room”
Review of NH Maastricht

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
NH Maastricht
Ranked #14 of 38 Hotels in Maastricht
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed May 2, 2007

I booked this hotel on the recommendation of colleagues at University of Maastricht for a visit a little while ago. The room was really nice, lots of space, very clean, well turned out. Maybe something has happened since I stayed there judging by the other recent reviews, but my stay was very pleasant.

  • Stayed: May 2007
    • Value
1  Thank laTRIPMONSTER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,398)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

386 - 392 of 1,398 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2006

As noted by others my advice would be to stay here only if you're attending a meeting at the nearby convention center. I booked a "delux" room directly with the hotel to avoid the standard room problems noted previously. The room was ok and the staff were helpful and reasonably friendly. However, I had hoped to use the fitness facility only to find that it was open at varying times depending on the day of the week (never early when I needed to use it) and cost 9 euros per visit....so no workout. Internet access was available by wireless in my room paying for either a 2 hour, one day, or one week use period. If I was coming to Maastricht again for a meeting I'd probably stay here but otherwise I am quite sure you can do much better elsewhere and be much closer to the city center which would be much more interesting.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank upintheair-OMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2006

I have stayed in many places around the world, and this is easily the worst accommodation I have had. Our rooms were booked by the conference and neither the Maastricht Booking service nor the hotel fessed up to the fact that standard rooms at this hotel mean no air conditioning, also no cross vent. (there is some very small print on the hotel's website about this). As temperatures were around 90F while we were there, it was stifling. When we asked about ice, we were told there were no machines in our building (it seems like the hotel is actually two complexes- one built perhaps by the university without ac and a newer section built later with ac). If you care about staying cool, make sure you get a room with AC. When we asked about moving or upgrading , the staff simply replied it was impossible. The senior staffer at the desk also made some unfortunate remarks (in Dutch) about Americans complaining. Colleagues at the same meeting (from all over the world mind you) had various stories of similar rude treatment by staff, jackhammers starting outside their rooms at 6am etc. Frankly the bus is easy to catch from town- I would stay elsewhere next time. Breakfast is very expensive.

Some hints if you are staying at this place:

You can get very reasonably priced food at the University hospital cafeteria 5 minutes walk down the block (most days 8:00 to 20:00). Simply walk out the front door of the NH and go straight down the road which deadends into the hotel and conference center complex. The hospital cafe is in the middle of the block on the left just one story up from the main entrance- a decent breakfast can be had there for 4-6 euro (and you can get an American-sized cup of softdrink as well). Also, if you are in warm season, be prepared for the conference center to also underperform in cooling. We literally cooked in our meetings all day and then cooked again in the hotel at night- dress lightly!

Other tips: The city bus will take you into the City Center square were there is an Albert Hein grocery store and also a very good laundry run by a British fellow at reasonable prices. From what I saw of Maastricht- the Crowne Plaza is probably one of the best situated hotels for enjoying the town- see others reviews on that property as an alternative to this one. Maastricht itself and the conference staff were excellent otherwise.

  • Stayed: June 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank TKraftC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2005

I have stayed a few times in this hotel. The only reason why I stay here is because it is connected to the MECC (convention centre). The hotel is an average business hotel. There is an old and a new part. The rooms in the new part dont have a bath and are cheaper. you better choose these, because they look nicer and the climate control in the rooms is better. Personally I don't like the hotel that much, not much atmosphere and the staff is not of very high quality. Positive things: The hotel has all services that business travellers require. The breakfast is good. Maastricht is great city, with great hotels. If you dont need to stay close to the MECC than you better stay somehwere else.

  • Stayed: September 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank flyingdutchmannl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed yesterday
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank 92daan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels
Thank Q5174CNpeterv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antoine S, Manager at NH Maastricht, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels
Thank anneke B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antoine S, Manager at NH Maastricht, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maastricht hotels
0.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Maastricht
Crowne Plaza Maastricht
#12 of 38 in Maastricht
756 reviews
1 mi away
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
#7 of 38 in Maastricht
1,385 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Maastricht
Novotel Maastricht
#15 of 38 in Maastricht
965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Bastion Hotel Maastricht Centrum
0.9 mi away
Kaboom Hotel
Kaboom Hotel
#2 of 38 in Maastricht
619 reviews
0.4 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Maastricht
Van der Valk Hotel Maastricht
#13 of 38 in Maastricht
815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Maastricht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Maastricht

Address: Forum 110, 6229 GV Maastricht, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Maastricht
#4 Business Hotel in Maastricht
#8 Romantic Hotel in Maastricht
#8 Luxury Hotel in Maastricht
Price Range: $86 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Maastricht 4*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located next to the Maastricht Exhibition and Congress Center (MECC) and the Randwyck Railway Station, and directly outside the historical city center, the NH Maastricht provides a sophisticated gateway for business and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, NHHotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your NH Maastricht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Maastricht Hotel Maastricht
Nh Hotels Maastricht

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing