We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good rooms, good location but terrible service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de Poshoorn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel de Poshoorn
Ranked #15 of 49 Maastricht B&B and Inns
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good rooms, good location but terrible service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights at the end of August. The hotel is well placed within the city and close to the station and city centre.
The rooms are are clean and adequate for a short break. There is no luxury but more of a budget hotel.

Breakfast as expected is of the continental variety however is very limited 2 cold meats and cheeses. No cereal or egg etc.

Service. The level if service in this hotel is the thing that lets it down, you are left with a feeling that you the customer are nothing more than an inconvenience to the staff.
At breakfast we arrived slightly later but still 40 minutes before breakfast ended. We had to ask for clean plates, coffee bread, and cold meats. All of these requests were met with moans and groans from the server who in the ended walked around tutting and banging dishes.

On returning to the bar that evening at around 10pm we stood at the bar to have a drink, the bar man was talking to his friends around the corner. We gave him a friendly wave to show we were waiting.
After 5 minutes we had not been acknowledged and went and asked if we could have a couple drinks, a further 5 minutes passed and still no service we this time asked if the bar was closed and then got served.

Although this was a budget hotel the accommodation was of a standard we expected for the price paid however the customer service was extremely poor and I would not recommend staying here.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dbaz193672
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    15
    6
    3
    3
See reviews for
4
9
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Magherafelt, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
201 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

I did not book this place but those whom I was with did instead. I think if I had been making the booking I would not have - due to it being above a bar, and that would indeed have been a wise move. It must be said that the food and drink in the bar were good, the waiter was very pleasant and helpful, the menu is nice, and there was even a free welcome drink. Unfortunately there were also a welcoming party in the bathroom in the shape of a number of dead flies and crawling insects. The floors were a little rough. The electrical connections were held together with tape. In terms of noise, there were many pensioners outside laughing and shouting into the night, and given it was very hot it was not the kind of evening you could close the windows. Also, I would advise those with mobility issues that the stairs to the rooms are very steep, with small steps and not easy to manoeuvre.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank b037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
265 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

De Poshoorn is located on a small square, near the bridge to the city center (5 mins) and station (4 min). You can sit outside on the terrace or inside the old cafe. We ordered soup and that was a very good choice. Fresh made vegatable soup with enough veggies, wonderful meat and meatballs. The onion soup was very French and perhaps even better (fresh bread on side).
Tomato soup: perfect. Compliments, my friends from De Poshoorn.
There were 5 beers on tap, so also the fresh liquids were well-done!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gurt65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zakopane
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Hotel-Cafe de Poshoorn is a beautiful property located near the city center and station. I stayed here for just three days to attend a meeting in the city and was very happy to book this accommodation. My stay was very comfortable and relaxing. Room which I got was very clean, spacious and had all the things of comfort. Bed was quite comfortable and pillows were large. Breakfast was amazing and the variety they included in every meal was outstanding. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kasia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

The Poshoorn in Maastricht does not go out of its way to attract foreign visitors. The website is only in Dutch and I could only find it on one booking site. This is a pity as it is a good budget option well located between the station and the centre. You check in in the lively, atmospheric bar which has a good beer selection and also serves light meals. You then ascend a traditional Dutch staircase which means steep, narrow and not for the faint hearted. The rooms are small and simple but very clean and perfectly adequate. I had room no.5 at the back which was very quiet. Breakfast (optional) is the usual assortment of breads with ham, cheese and spreads plus orange juice. Coffee good and strong. I recommend this hotel and would stay there again. Beer travellers should note that the descent of the staircase should only be attempted while sober.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NigelKLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
70 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2010

We stayed 2 nights in De Poshoorn pub/hotel last week. We were on the top floor so it was quiet. Paid 70 euros per night for a double room with en suite. I think this is good value in Maastricht. The room was quite small, with twin beds which were very comfortable. The bedding was new. We didn't have breakfast because we would rather lie in on holiday.
The hotel has a good location near the city centre and train station and the staff were really nice. The bar downstairs is great for both meals and an extensive range of local and Belgian beers.
Only complaint, they didn't have a hairdryer.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruby2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanarkshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2007

I have stayed twice at the Hotel Poshoorn, both times booked for me by a business associate to visit him in Maastricht. The hotel is above a bar on Stationstraat, which is the main thoroughfare to the train station. The area immediately outside the hotel doesn't have much traffic and this is good. However, especially at weekends, there can be some noise associated with the revellers downstairs and those leaving other bars nearby.

To check into the hotel, go to the hotel bar. There you will receive a key, map, details of the hotel (in Dutch) and a coupon for a welcome drink. To access the rooms, you leave the pub and go up the street to the side of the bar, where one of the keys will open the door to the hotel area. The side street is well lit and not narrow. There is no elevator for the hotel but a narrow-ish and quite steep staircase to the rooms and so is not recommended for the elderly, very young or those with mobility difficulties.

I stayed in room 4 both times so can only comment on this room. It is above the entrance door on the side street and had two twin beds pushed together to make a double. The room had a tv, two windows, two chairs, small table, large plant, wardrobe with hangers and some decorative prints of Maastricht. The decor was ok, some very minor scratches to woodwork etc but in good condition. Two radiators could heat the room although I did not use these. The tv showed various language channels, including Dutch, French, German and English (CNN, BBC1 & BBC2). Soundproofing was not brilliant, I could hear toilets flushing and other residents walking around their rooms. Coupled with the noise from the pub downstairs (including occasional bad singing!), this is why I chose the title of the review - good for beer, not for a quiet night!

The room was en-suite, and the bathroom was quite small. It contained a toilet, sink and shower cubicle. No toiletries were provided, only a soap dispenser attached to the wall. Four towels were also provided and were clean. The toilet flush was decent, but the sink had a dripping tap. Also, the water did not drain easily or quickly from the shower tray. However, at least the water pressure and temperature of the shower was good. The shower cubicle and toilet looked a little grubby, as though it hadn't been scrubbed for some time, but was clean enough.

Breakfast was served in the pub downstairs from 7-10 during the week, 8-10 at the weekend. Breakfast consisted of coffee or tea, hard boiled eggs, cheese, cold sliced meat, various breads and spreads including butter, honey and chocolate spread. There was not a large quantity but the hotel was very small (I think only 6 rooms or so). I also managed to find a wifi connection that was not encrypted but was also not held by the hotel.

The hotel is close to the train station, bus stops, some restaurants and is a 10 minute walk from most tourist attractions/restaurants e.g. Vrijthof, Markt.

I would stay at the Hotel Poshoorn again. It is not the best hotel that I have stayed at, but it's ok and not too expensive. If you're after a clean bed for the night, then it's exactly that. However, it's not luxury and it can get noisy.

  • Liked — Proximity to train station
  • Disliked — Noise
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank gmc2508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Maastricht hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maastricht hotels
0.2 mi away
Kaboom Hotel
Kaboom Hotel
#2 of 40 in Maastricht
4.5 of 5 stars 282 reviews
0.2 mi away
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
#5 of 40 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 stars 1,128 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampshire Designhotel - Maastricht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Beaumont
Hotel Beaumont
#4 of 40 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 stars 920 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Maastricht
Crowne Plaza Hotel Maastricht
#10 of 40 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 stars 558 reviews
1.0 mi away
NH Maastricht
NH Maastricht
#8 of 40 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 stars 949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Poshoorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Poshoorn

Property: Hotel de Poshoorn
Address: Stationsstraat 47, 6221 BN Maastricht, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Maastricht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel de Poshoorn 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Budget Places and Priceline so you can book your Hotel de Poshoorn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing