We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Good food, rooms less good” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel de Poshoorn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel de Poshoorn
Ranked #15 of 49 Maastricht B&B and Inns
Magherafelt, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
204 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Good food, rooms less good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

I did not book this place but those whom I was with did instead. I think if I had been making the booking I would not have - due to it being above a bar, and that would indeed have been a wise move. It must be said that the food and drink in the bar were good, the waiter was very pleasant and helpful, the menu is nice, and there was even a free welcome drink. Unfortunately there were also a welcoming party in the bathroom in the shape of a number of dead flies and crawling insects. The floors were a little rough. The electrical connections were held together with tape. In terms of noise, there were many pensioners outside laughing and shouting into the night, and given it was very hot it was not the kind of evening you could close the windows. Also, I would advise those with mobility issues that the stairs to the rooms are very steep, with small steps and not easy to manoeuvre.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank b037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    16
    6
    4
    3
See reviews for
5
9
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
280 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

De Poshoorn is located on a small square, near the bridge to the city center (5 mins) and station (4 min). You can sit outside on the terrace or inside the old cafe. We ordered soup and that was a very good choice. Fresh made vegatable soup with enough veggies, wonderful meat and meatballs. The onion soup was very French and perhaps even better (fresh bread on side).
Tomato soup: perfect. Compliments, my friends from De Poshoorn.
There were 5 beers on tap, so also the fresh liquids were well-done!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gurt65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zakopane
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

Hotel-Cafe de Poshoorn is a beautiful property located near the city center and station. I stayed here for just three days to attend a meeting in the city and was very happy to book this accommodation. My stay was very comfortable and relaxing. Room which I got was very clean, spacious and had all the things of comfort. Bed was quite comfortable and pillows were large. Breakfast was amazing and the variety they included in every meal was outstanding. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kasia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

The Poshoorn in Maastricht does not go out of its way to attract foreign visitors. The website is only in Dutch and I could only find it on one booking site. This is a pity as it is a good budget option well located between the station and the centre. You check in in the lively, atmospheric bar which has a good beer selection and also serves light meals. You then ascend a traditional Dutch staircase which means steep, narrow and not for the faint hearted. The rooms are small and simple but very clean and perfectly adequate. I had room no.5 at the back which was very quiet. Breakfast (optional) is the usual assortment of breads with ham, cheese and spreads plus orange juice. Coffee good and strong. I recommend this hotel and would stay there again. Beer travellers should note that the descent of the staircase should only be attempted while sober.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NigelKLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
72 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2010

We stayed 2 nights in De Poshoorn pub/hotel last week. We were on the top floor so it was quiet. Paid 70 euros per night for a double room with en suite. I think this is good value in Maastricht. The room was quite small, with twin beds which were very comfortable. The bedding was new. We didn't have breakfast because we would rather lie in on holiday.
The hotel has a good location near the city centre and train station and the staff were really nice. The bar downstairs is great for both meals and an extensive range of local and Belgian beers.
Only complaint, they didn't have a hairdryer.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruby2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanarkshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2007

I have stayed twice at the Hotel Poshoorn, both times booked for me by a business associate to visit him in Maastricht. The hotel is above a bar on Stationstraat, which is the main thoroughfare to the train station. The area immediately outside the hotel doesn't have much traffic and this is good. However, especially at weekends, there can be some noise associated with the revellers downstairs and those leaving other bars nearby.

To check into the hotel, go to the hotel bar. There you will receive a key, map, details of the hotel (in Dutch) and a coupon for a welcome drink. To access the rooms, you leave the pub and go up the street to the side of the bar, where one of the keys will open the door to the hotel area. The side street is well lit and not narrow. There is no elevator for the hotel but a narrow-ish and quite steep staircase to the rooms and so is not recommended for the elderly, very young or those with mobility difficulties.

I stayed in room 4 both times so can only comment on this room. It is above the entrance door on the side street and had two twin beds pushed together to make a double. The room had a tv, two windows, two chairs, small table, large plant, wardrobe with hangers and some decorative prints of Maastricht. The decor was ok, some very minor scratches to woodwork etc but in good condition. Two radiators could heat the room although I did not use these. The tv showed various language channels, including Dutch, French, German and English (CNN, BBC1 & BBC2). Soundproofing was not brilliant, I could hear toilets flushing and other residents walking around their rooms. Coupled with the noise from the pub downstairs (including occasional bad singing!), this is why I chose the title of the review - good for beer, not for a quiet night!

The room was en-suite, and the bathroom was quite small. It contained a toilet, sink and shower cubicle. No toiletries were provided, only a soap dispenser attached to the wall. Four towels were also provided and were clean. The toilet flush was decent, but the sink had a dripping tap. Also, the water did not drain easily or quickly from the shower tray. However, at least the water pressure and temperature of the shower was good. The shower cubicle and toilet looked a little grubby, as though it hadn't been scrubbed for some time, but was clean enough.

Breakfast was served in the pub downstairs from 7-10 during the week, 8-10 at the weekend. Breakfast consisted of coffee or tea, hard boiled eggs, cheese, cold sliced meat, various breads and spreads including butter, honey and chocolate spread. There was not a large quantity but the hotel was very small (I think only 6 rooms or so). I also managed to find a wifi connection that was not encrypted but was also not held by the hotel.

The hotel is close to the train station, bus stops, some restaurants and is a 10 minute walk from most tourist attractions/restaurants e.g. Vrijthof, Markt.

I would stay at the Hotel Poshoorn again. It is not the best hotel that I have stayed at, but it's ok and not too expensive. If you're after a clean bed for the night, then it's exactly that. However, it's not luxury and it can get noisy.

  • Liked — Proximity to train station
  • Disliked — Noise
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank gmc2508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Maastricht hotels

Vadnais Heights, Minnesota
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2005

We have stayed at the Hotel Poshoorn many times over the last several years. I just wanted to respond to the previous review.
Our last stay there was just two weeks ago. We have stayed in maybe three different rooms there. I would not recommend it for families, due to the stairway and fact that it is above a smoky bar. We usually stay on the 3rd floor and have never been bothered by noise from the bar...although I would imagine in the summertime, if you have your windows open, you will hear bar patrons outside.
I am disappointed in the maintenance of the hotel. We stayed in the same room that we stayed in last September. The safety handle in the shower was loose then, and is still loose. Lightbulbs need replacing, sheets were not changed during our 6 night stay...
As much as I hate to say it (as we have always been treated well there and I love the big windows), I think we will be staying at a different hotel next time we go to Maastricht.

  • Stayed May 2005, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JandD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maastricht hotels
0.2 mi away
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
#5 of 38 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,181 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kaboom Hotel
Kaboom Hotel
#1 of 38 in Maastricht
4.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampshire Designhotel - Maastricht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Maastricht
Crowne Plaza Maastricht
#11 of 38 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
1.0 mi away
NH Maastricht
NH Maastricht
#10 of 38 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Beaumont
Hotel Beaumont
#4 of 38 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 bubbles 946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Poshoorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Poshoorn

Property: Hotel de Poshoorn
Address: Stationsstraat 47, 6221 BN Maastricht, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Maastricht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel de Poshoorn 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Budget Places and Priceline so you can book your Hotel de Poshoorn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing