We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fine Boutique Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Botticelli

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Botticelli
Ranked #29 of 37 Hotels in Maastricht
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
203 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Fine Boutique Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

The Botticelli is a fine boutique hotel in the very heart of Maastricht near the famous Vrijthof (city square). The hotel facade is unassuming; once inside you're in for a nice surprise. A beautiful courtyard garden, finely decorated public rooms, a well-appointed breakfast restaurant. There's an easily climbable grand stairway up to the bedrooms (no lift, though).
The bedrooms (ours was #7) are spacious and comfortable with everything you might need; A TV but also to our delight a good, modern radio. Spic-and-span sizable bathroom
Beds though not as comfortable as you might want though large enough. But with a soft sagging; terrible on one's back.
Absolutely superb breakfast!
Very welcoming staff; friendly and efficient.
Fine hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stoic1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    37
    20
    6
    2
See reviews for
7
39
3
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Midlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

I have just stayed at The Hotel Botticelli and I cannot praise it enough. It is centrally located alongside the Vrijthof Square, and provides a beautiful base from which to explore a captivating city. The staff are friendly & helpful, the public rooms beautifully decorated and also features a stunning garden terrace. The two rooms used by my party were well appointed, charmingly decorated and very clean. Breakfast each morning offers a wide choice and is well stocked. I cannot praise this hotel enough, and I will return.

Room Tip: Room 10 is a duplex, so be prepared for stairs to the bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StuartMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alderley Edge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

Location superb, some of the staff unhelpful, unfriendly and quite arrogant. Room no. 10 unsuitable for unfit over 60-year olds, in fact it is quite dangerous. I felt the hotel should take the trouble to inquire about ages before allocating the room. There is a very pleasant garden for those rare sunny days in June!

Room Tip: Room no. 10 has a steep flight of stairs to the bathroom, not suitable for unfit over 60's!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fmhamil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daylesford, Australia
Level Contributor
184 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

We stayed 6 nights during the coldest May on record. The hotel is centrally located in the old town, one street back from main square, many quaint streets, great shopping, bars & restaurants within 5 minute walk - we loved Cafe Madrid. We stayed in room 4, junior suite overlooking the courtyard - a great room, good free wifi, good heating & bathroom. Hosts Marlou Charles & Jana were great, including excellent breakfasts, early if required. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 4 is great. Laundry off site - a 5 minute walk, 10 euro, washed but not ironed - fine with me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jonathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copley, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

Room was quaint, super clean with beautiful view of patio courtyard. Staff was extremely helpful and attentive. Location so close to the square, market and shopping. Could not have been more pleased...this coming from the ultimate hotel snob!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kott_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

If you can afford, book the honeymoon suite. Beautiful classic room with a large king bed, fireplace, sofa's and a nice huge bathroom. However a honeymoon suite needs al least a jacuzzi but bath was oke. You will get the best room overlooking a small inner Italian courtyard. Breakfast room is really cosy. Breakfast is sufficient but it could be better. Hotel itself is situated at the center of Maastricht. No parking or valet service. Other service was excellent.
Botticelli, we loved it.

Restaurant "Wijnrestaurant mes amis" also a tripadvisor winner, is just on the corner.

Room Tip: Honeymoon room, do it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KuprasM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

We stayed in a wonderful room overlooking an inner courtyard laden with flowers and places to enjoy food or a drink. Our room was huge with a fireplace (not needed), medieval type chandelier, art work and very large bathroom. Immaculately clean! The breakfast that was served with your stay there was very good and typical of what we were served in most of the hotels that we stayed at in The Netherlands. The downside was the inability of the person who was working there when we arrived to handle a large (about 20 people) group, as every room was different and he didn't know who to put where. If your are not traveling in a group this probably wouldn't be an issue.Those in our group that didn't have the type of room that we did were not as pleased with their accommodations. It was just not a typical hotel but more boutique like and we loved it.

Room Tip: Make sure that reserve a specific room as there is a lot of difference in size. We were traveling w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maastricht hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Au Quartier
Hotel Au Quartier
#24 of 37 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
0.2 mi away
Amrath Hotel DuCasque
Amrath Hotel DuCasque
#19 of 37 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel les Charmes
Hotel les Charmes
#15 of 37 in Maastricht
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Boutique Hotel Grote Gracht
Boutique Hotel Grote Gracht
#31 of 37 in Maastricht
3.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
0.2 mi away
Derlon Hotel Maastricht
Derlon Hotel Maastricht
#17 of 37 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel de Pauwenhof
Hotel de Pauwenhof
#23 of 37 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Botticelli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Botticelli

Property: Hotel Botticelli
Address: Papenstraat 11, 6211 LG Maastricht, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 37 Hotels in Maastricht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Botticelli 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Botticelli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Botticelli Hotel Maastricht

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing