We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent experience”
Review of Hotel Botticelli

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Botticelli
Ranked #28 of 38 Hotels in Maastricht
Reviewed July 5, 2012

This charming hotel is centrally located, there is parking nearby and the service was just as hoped for, excellent. From checking-in, to asking about where to eat, through to the breakfast the next morning, the reception was always friendly, helpful and professional.
Our room was huge, with a great bathroom. It felt like a suite and the bed was very comfortable.

I recommend this hotel and would return.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marc T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (105)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 105 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2012

Hotel is situated perfectly in the centre of Maastricht. The staff was very friendly and professional. When the weather is nice you can have breakfast / drinks outside on the terrace and it feels like being in the country side in Italy. An true oasis in the heart of a big city!
Breakfast is very good and with the welcoming staff in a relaxed environment is a perfect start of the day. Standard rooms are good and clean. We will definitely be back! Thank you for the nice stay.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2012

We booked our room on-site approximately 3 months ago, when we visited Maastricht on another occasion. We asked for a spacious and quiet room. Reservation was made for Room #18, in a building away from the street overlooking a charming patio. Confirmation by e-mail was received. When we arrived for our stay at Botticelli, the person doing check-in took us 3 stairs up to room #7. It appeared that no notice had been taken to put the correct room reservation into the system. Fortunately room 18 was still available, so we were allowed to change (be it with some muttering of the check-in person). We felt overall hospitality was a bit "flat", a somewhat warmer welcome at arrival and goodbye at departure are easily done. During our one-day stay we rarely noticed any staff around.
Room #18 is a proper size room (in floor space dimensions), taking into account that space is confined in this old townhouse building. Room standing height may however be somewhat challenging to those with claustrofobia: the room is only about 2 meters high. We were notified about this prior to reservation, so it didn't really bother us. Disadvantage is however that the shower doesn't offer room to stand upright (unless you are no taller than 1.70 meters). Getting to the room requires mastering a narrow and steep staircase to the first floor, especially when carrying luggage that poses a challenge too.
Buffet breakfast is good, offering a decent selection, but it's price holds a bigger promise. It took a few minutes before we were noticed and were asked about coffee or tea. We don't know if any hot breakfast is served, it wasn't offered.
Botticelli's true value is its location in the middle of downtown Maastricht, right next to the Vrijthof square. You probably won't find anything better than this. Parking is conveniently close by in the underground carpark under the Vrijthof, but beware it quickly runs out of available space on weekends and festive days.
Overall: Botticelli is a good hotel with an excellent location, but not entirely living up to its promise.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TravellerJanWaalre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2011

I was in Maastricht for one night, arriving at noon; the hotel is small but very friendly.
We reserved a suite, which was the correct room size for us (not to compare with a suite in standard hotels chains..); very good and fresh breakfast, nice and friendly staff, small garden in the back of the hotel (courtyard) which must be a must in summer.
Location is excellent, public parkings in the vicinity

Room Tip: Check with the hotel for parking facilities
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TerryThor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2011

We stayed here for the Andre Rieu Concert
Perfect spot two minutes from Vrijthof
Room and Hotel absolutely spotless
Room plenty big enough for two
Very Quiet
Take your favourite DVD's with you to watch when in your room
Only discovered English News Channel on last day
Staff very friendly
Shame we were in an attic room and the window was too high for any view
If you are not very agile the stairs may be a problem as there is no lift but most of the older Hotels in Maastricht are the same.
I would stay again
Nothing to do with Hotel but please note shops shut on Sundays

Room Tip: Ask for a room on lower floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank summer0112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2011

We've stayed here for 1 night. it is a nice old looking hotel at a perfect location in the centre of maastricht. the street it's on is surprising quiet. We didn't have breakfast at the hotel. But we passed it wen leaving and it looked good. If we go back to Maastricht we will book again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 20132910hghg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2011

An unexpected stay in lovely maastricht. A city to love. Botticelli Hotel advised by
friendly Famouse Restaurant. Near het Vrijthof, the centre of Maastricht.
Charming hotel, but the "honeymoonsuite" is a simple junior suite for the price of 250 eurosI It was the last roomand a did get a price of 150. The room is really not special, apart from the bed with curtains..
No bathgown, no romantic lightning, not a room nor bathroom for a honeymoon!
Breakfast oké, nothing special. Too expensive for the room, but the location is fantastic. Must be lovely in summertime.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ferminablauw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maastricht hotels
0.2 mi away
Amrath Hotel DuCasque
Amrath Hotel DuCasque
#18 of 38 in Maastricht
131 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel les Charmes
Hotel les Charmes
#15 of 38 in Maastricht
122 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Au Quartier
Hotel Au Quartier
#25 of 38 in Maastricht
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Derlon Hotel Maastricht
Derlon Hotel Maastricht
#21 of 38 in Maastricht
361 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Zenden
Hotel Zenden
#10 of 38 in Maastricht
335 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
#3 of 38 in Maastricht
1,389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Botticelli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Botticelli

Address: Papenstraat 11, 6211 LG Maastricht, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 38 Hotels in Maastricht
Price Range: $123 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Botticelli 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Botticelli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Botticelli Hotel Maastricht

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing