We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect situation, charming, not yet perfect”
Review of Hotel Botticelli

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Botticelli
Ranked #25 of 38 Hotels in Maastricht
overijse
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“perfect situation, charming, not yet perfect”
Reviewed April 22, 2011

An unexpected stay in lovely maastricht. A city to love. Botticelli Hotel advised by
friendly Famouse Restaurant. Near het Vrijthof, the centre of Maastricht.
Charming hotel, but the "honeymoonsuite" is a simple junior suite for the price of 250 eurosI It was the last roomand a did get a price of 150. The room is really not special, apart from the bed with curtains..
No bathgown, no romantic lightning, not a room nor bathroom for a honeymoon!
Breakfast oké, nothing special. Too expensive for the room, but the location is fantastic. Must be lovely in summertime.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ferminablauw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    40
    21
    6
    2
See reviews for
7
44
3
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2009

This hotel looks nice, good location, apparently a good restaurant, but the rooms are too small. Very claustrophobic.

However do not dare to check in before 3pm (that's this hotel's check in time) cause then the receptionist can be very annoying. I was disappointed in the welcome in this hotel. Very arrogant ladies at reception who found their computer much more interesting then a waiting client. We were very much looking forward to have dinner in the evening, but after this unfriendly welcome we decided to have dinner outside.

Very disappointing service and very small room. Rates are way too high.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank Virverp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2009

The hotel's staff, room, and setting were beautiful. We highly recommend the hotel. The morning breakfast was one of the best on our trip through Holland.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SyracuseVisitor1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2009

Only complaint is we were given two twin beds pushed together, when we had specifically asked for a large queen (double).

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank blumo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
99 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2008

The Botticelli is a nice small `boutique` hotel in the heart of Maastricht, with an italian theme (as implicated by its name). The rooms vary in size but are quite comfortable. Try to avoid the rooms facing the street, as they are noisier. The hotel serves a great breakfast - in summer also in the courtyard. There is no dinner option, but the Botticelli is so close to the great restaurant scene in Maastricht that one has really many options. As a special perk, each guest room is equipped with an individual DVD player and you can get DVDs to watch free of charge at the reception from an extensive collection to fit all tastes. I think the value/prize ratio is really good for a three star hotel.

  • Liked — location, overall atmosphere, value for money
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Batta83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2008

I stayed at the Boticelli for 1 night in summer 2008. The hotel is in an excellent position, and its public areas as well as the courtyard are exceptionally pretty. Our room was spacious, the bathroom, spacious as well, decently equiped, and clean. While the walls and furniture looked a little worn, this could be put down to shabby chic and was actually quite charming . The reason for the 3/5 rating is the bed - there was a deep valley in the middle of the matteress and I felt suffocated the whole night with dust, resulting in very little and poor sleep. It may well be that the hotel has replaced beds in other rooms - I did not check. NB: the hotel only has single beds (so a double room simply has 2 of these pushed together, with the inevitable ravine resulting - in addition to the individual mattresses being weak and worn out).

  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kickboxingshrimp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maastricht hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Au Quartier
Hotel Au Quartier
#24 of 38 in Maastricht
59 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel les Charmes
Hotel les Charmes
#15 of 38 in Maastricht
117 reviews
0.2 mi away
Amrath Hotel DuCasque
Amrath Hotel DuCasque
#21 of 38 in Maastricht
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Derlon Hotel Maastricht
Derlon Hotel Maastricht
#17 of 38 in Maastricht
345 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Zenden
Hotel Zenden
#8 of 38 in Maastricht
285 reviews
0.2 mi away
Boutique Hotel Grote Gracht
Boutique Hotel Grote Gracht
#31 of 38 in Maastricht
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Botticelli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Botticelli

Property: Hotel Botticelli
Address: Papenstraat 11, 6211 LG Maastricht, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 38 Hotels in Maastricht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Botticelli 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Botticelli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Botticelli Hotel Maastricht

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing