We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little hotel for a one night stay”
Review of Hotel La Colombe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel La Colombe
Ranked #38 of 38 Hotels in Maastricht
Reviewed May 8, 2009

Stayed at this hotel in April last year for one night during a quick stop in Maastricht on my way to Belgium.

The hotel was very easy to find, just got on a bus from the main train station and it dropped me right in the main market place, right across from the hotel.
You have to go through the cafe/bar to check in. The staff member who checked me in was very nice, spoke perfect English (like most people in NL) and was very helpful.
It was a bit tricky negotiating the steep and windy stairs to the 2nd top floor with my suitcase, but it wasn't too much of a drama. I was very excited when I opened the door to the room as it was decorated exclusively in orange (my favourite colour).

The room had nice light wooden floors and was very light and sunny, a very happy room.

It was a reasonable size with heaps of space for one person. Two very comfortable single beds, a little bathroom and a little table with two chairs and a TV on the wall with lots of English channels.

The view was great, my two large windows opened onto the market and I could sit by the window and do some people watching.

The hotel is in a perfect location, very close to excellent shops and right in the middle of the old town. I was able to walk around and see alot of the city in just one day.

I ate at the hotel restaurant at night and the food was reasonably priced and excellent quality with lots of good options. Breakfast in the morning was basic continental but good and all I needed.

The only thing that detracted from my complete enjoyment was that the ceiling must be very thin, as while I was trying to get to sleep I could hear the people in the room above me pacing around quite clearly. No big drama though.

All in all, a really nice little hotel with a great pleasant little room with wonderful view, great service and reasonable price. I'll stay here again the next time I'm in Maastricht.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank traveller0158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (95)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 95 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2009

The hotel does not have a car park, so we parked at a nearby underground car park. This costs €20,50 for up to 24 hours. According to the hotel staff, there was another underground car park below the hotel, but we could not see signs for it anywhere and it was the same charge. Anyway, we were only parked a 2 minute walk away so it sufficed.

The location of the hotel couldn't be better as it's right in the centre of town, on the square. The windows were very effective at blocking out the noise, although the room did get rather hot and with the window open it was quite noisy. There was a fan provided in the room however.

The room was very clean and bright. It was quite small, but it was just a base for us and we did little else but sleep there. The rooms are situated up a VERY steep staircase, so it wouldn't be the ideal place to visit if you can't manage stairs very well.

To watch the TV in our room we had to pay a refundable deposit of €10,00.

Breakfast is not at the hotel itself but across the square in another hotel (Hotel de la Bourse) - it's literally a 30 second walk.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CreakyKnee456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2008

This hotel was recommended by the local VVV service. We asked for what we really wanted: accommodations for our family of 4. They called and verified the quad room was available, highlighted the route on our map, and off we went. The hotel is very old, but we found it charming and fun to climb the steep stairs to our room. Great location in the heart of the city. Don't be put off by the 2-star rating. It's clean and safe. The restaurant is also recommended.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SunriverLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2006

Have stayed at this hotel twice and staff are good. Breakfast, the usual ham/cheese, cereal. Rooms, wardrobes, shower cubicles all very small. Not advisable for a stay longer more than a couple of nights. There is a club over the road that beats out loud music until 5 in the morning, so if you are a light sleeper, give this hotel a miss. The hotel would have been bearable apart from that. The market square consequently is very noisy with people shouting and taxis coming and going.

Stayed: September 2006
4  Thank Juda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TripmanDCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Beter verder zoeken.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jozua1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank jackiefon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maastricht hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel De la Bourse
Hotel De la Bourse
#26 of 38 in Maastricht
155 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel d'Orangerie
Hotel d'Orangerie
#33 of 38 in Maastricht
163 reviews
0.4 mi away
Botel Maastricht
Botel Maastricht
#36 of 38 in Maastricht
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bastion Hotel Maastricht Centrum
0.7 mi away
Kaboom Hotel
Kaboom Hotel
#2 of 38 in Maastricht
563 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel de Pauwenhof
Hotel de Pauwenhof
#27 of 38 in Maastricht
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Colombe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Colombe

Address: Markt 30, 6211 CK Maastricht, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 38 Hotels in Maastricht
Price Range: $64 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel La Colombe 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel La Colombe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing