We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nice little hotel for a one night stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Colombe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel La Colombe
Ranked #39 of 40 Hotels in Maastricht
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice little hotel for a one night stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2009

Stayed at this hotel in April last year for one night during a quick stop in Maastricht on my way to Belgium.

The hotel was very easy to find, just got on a bus from the main train station and it dropped me right in the main market place, right across from the hotel.
You have to go through the cafe/bar to check in. The staff member who checked me in was very nice, spoke perfect English (like most people in NL) and was very helpful.
It was a bit tricky negotiating the steep and windy stairs to the 2nd top floor with my suitcase, but it wasn't too much of a drama. I was very excited when I opened the door to the room as it was decorated exclusively in orange (my favourite colour).

The room had nice light wooden floors and was very light and sunny, a very happy room.

It was a reasonable size with heaps of space for one person. Two very comfortable single beds, a little bathroom and a little table with two chairs and a TV on the wall with lots of English channels.

The view was great, my two large windows opened onto the market and I could sit by the window and do some people watching.

The hotel is in a perfect location, very close to excellent shops and right in the middle of the old town. I was able to walk around and see alot of the city in just one day.

I ate at the hotel restaurant at night and the food was reasonably priced and excellent quality with lots of good options. Breakfast in the morning was basic continental but good and all I needed.

The only thing that detracted from my complete enjoyment was that the ceiling must be very thin, as while I was trying to get to sleep I could hear the people in the room above me pacing around quite clearly. No big drama though.

All in all, a really nice little hotel with a great pleasant little room with wonderful view, great service and reasonable price. I'll stay here again the next time I'm in Maastricht.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank traveller0158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    19
    17
    17
    10
See reviews for
15
29
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2009

The hotel does not have a car park, so we parked at a nearby underground car park. This costs €20,50 for up to 24 hours. According to the hotel staff, there was another underground car park below the hotel, but we could not see signs for it anywhere and it was the same charge. Anyway, we were only parked a 2 minute walk away so it sufficed.

The location of the hotel couldn't be better as it's right in the centre of town, on the square. The windows were very effective at blocking out the noise, although the room did get rather hot and with the window open it was quite noisy. There was a fan provided in the room however.

The room was very clean and bright. It was quite small, but it was just a base for us and we did little else but sleep there. The rooms are situated up a VERY steep staircase, so it wouldn't be the ideal place to visit if you can't manage stairs very well.

To watch the TV in our room we had to pay a refundable deposit of €10,00.

Breakfast is not at the hotel itself but across the square in another hotel (Hotel de la Bourse) - it's literally a 30 second walk.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank yvette_tim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2008

This hotel was recommended by the local VVV service. We asked for what we really wanted: accommodations for our family of 4. They called and verified the quad room was available, highlighted the route on our map, and off we went. The hotel is very old, but we found it charming and fun to climb the steep stairs to our room. Great location in the heart of the city. Don't be put off by the 2-star rating. It's clean and safe. The restaurant is also recommended.

  • Liked — Family size room
  • Disliked — Everything is pretty small
  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SunriverLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2006

Have stayed at this hotel twice and staff are good. Breakfast, the usual ham/cheese, cereal. Rooms, wardrobes, shower cubicles all very small. Not advisable for a stay longer more than a couple of nights. There is a club over the road that beats out loud music until 5 in the morning, so if you are a light sleeper, give this hotel a miss. The hotel would have been bearable apart from that. The market square consequently is very noisy with people shouting and taxis coming and going.

Stayed September 2006
Helpful?
4 Thank Juda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Maastricht hotels

4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maastricht hotels
0.5 mi away
Botel Maastricht
Botel Maastricht
#33 of 40 in Maastricht
3.0 of 5 stars 86 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel De la Bourse
Hotel De la Bourse
#29 of 40 in Maastricht
3.5 of 5 stars 123 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel d'Orangerie
Hotel d'Orangerie
#32 of 40 in Maastricht
3.5 of 5 stars 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Kaboom Hotel
Kaboom Hotel
#2 of 40 in Maastricht
4.5 of 5 stars 282 reviews
0.2 mi away
Boutique Hotel Grote Gracht
Boutique Hotel Grote Gracht
#26 of 40 in Maastricht
3.5 of 5 stars 58 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bigarre
Hotel Bigarre
#31 of 40 in Maastricht
3.5 of 5 stars 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Colombe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Colombe

Property: Hotel La Colombe
Address: Markt 30, 6211 CK Maastricht, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 40 Hotels in Maastricht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel La Colombe 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel La Colombe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing