We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“cute inn, not a hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Colombe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel La Colombe
Ranked #39 of 40 Hotels in Maastricht
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
82 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“cute inn, not a hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

very central, friendly staff, excellent bar-restaurant with nice beers and tasty cuisine, cute but very very basic rooms, awful smell from the bathroom and intolerable stairs! Before i go i thought that most of the people were exagerating about the steep stairs but believe me they are not!!! Is rather an inn than a hotel but you can have a nice sleep, the beds are confortable and the location excellent. The breakfast was decent.
If it was cheaper i wouldn't mind staying there again.

Room Tip: take the lack of elevator under serious consideration!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eleninik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    19
    17
    17
    10
See reviews for
15
29
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

The main selling point of this hotel is the central location on the beautiful square. The room we had the first night was up in the roof and pretty horrible. I hardly slept. It was a cramped garret. The small window opened into a roof gully with no view at all - but worse, in August, no air circulation. At night an air conditioning unit right outside the window was running all night - not that we had the benefit of a/c - we just got the noise. The bathroom was v basic without a proper door. the next day I asked for and got a move to another room on the first floor. This was adequate for the type of establishment and the cost and had a pleasant view into the street. The steep stairs aren't suitable for anyone with a mobility problem but, if you're fit, they're part of the genuine dutch experience

Room Tip: Ideally don't book a room unseen. Our room on the first floor was much better than the one on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolineSiddons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Maastricht hotels

4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Israel
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Seems to be the best location in Maastricht - located in the 'Markt', clean room and good breakfast (but take care - many sweets).
The room is quite small but clean and comfort
However, the entry is via the restaurant, which shares the same employees. The stairs are so narrow - you can't bring in large suitcase
Lucky enough, we left in the morning, so I did not have to hear my wife's complaints any longer

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ehud B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Firstly to state that I did not stay at this hotel, I just used the restaurant downstairs. Food was in substantial portions and contained more than the menu suggested. However beware if dining as a group as it seems their till system can't split a bill onto multiple credit cards.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I stayed in this wonderful accommodation a few months ago and it was a fabulous experience. Everything was beyond my expectations - the food, the rooms, the building, services of staff, etc. No issues regarding cleanliness or location. The property is well maintained and beautiful. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Location is top, but very noisy. A disco on the opposite side of the street with noise till 4am and street cleaners starting at 8am. The hotelrooms are small, and so is the bathroom. Breakfast was ok.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Carlo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maastricht hotels
0.5 mi away
Botel Maastricht
Botel Maastricht
#33 of 40 in Maastricht
3.0 of 5 stars 86 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel De la Bourse
Hotel De la Bourse
#29 of 40 in Maastricht
3.5 of 5 stars 123 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel d'Orangerie
Hotel d'Orangerie
#32 of 40 in Maastricht
3.5 of 5 stars 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Kaboom Hotel
Kaboom Hotel
#1 of 40 in Maastricht
4.5 of 5 stars 281 reviews
0.2 mi away
Boutique Hotel Grote Gracht
Boutique Hotel Grote Gracht
#26 of 40 in Maastricht
3.5 of 5 stars 58 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bigarre
Hotel Bigarre
#31 of 40 in Maastricht
3.5 of 5 stars 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Colombe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Colombe

Property: Hotel La Colombe
Address: Markt 30, 6211 CK Maastricht, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 40 Hotels in Maastricht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel La Colombe 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel La Colombe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing