We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bastion hotel is OK, but not great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bastion Hotel Maastricht Centrum
Ranked #20 of 37 Hotels in Maastricht
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Bastion hotel is OK, but not great”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

The hotel is a few blocks from city center which was good. Breakfast was not included and very expensive, so we did not eat there. I can't comment on the quality of good. The room was very small, but clean.

If I return to Maastricht, I would look at different hotel options.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GJPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Hotel Maastricht Centrum, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for the comments which you wrote on Tripadvisor. I am sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. I assure you that I will take appropriate actions in order to improve our services. We regularly train our associates in assuring our perfect service and taking ownership.

I hope you accept my apologies ,

With kind regards,
Maik Willems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    198
    162
    59
    20
See reviews for
75
212
20
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kristiansand, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights. It is a very comfortable hotel in the centre of Maastricht. The rooms are nice and clean. Breakfast is optional. The hotel is close to the squares Markt and Vrijthof and there is a parking garage nearby. We have no experience with dinner.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philip j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Hotel Maastricht Centrum, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Google Translation
Geachte gast,

Hartelijk dank voor uw opmerkingen die u heeft geschreven op Tripadvisor. Dergelijke opmerkingen steunen mij en mijn collega’s in het geven van een goede service aan onze gewaardeerde gasten. Wij trachten altijd de verwachtingen te overtreffen van onze gast. Ik hoop u in de toekomst wederom te mogen begroeten bij Bastion Hotelgroep.

Met vriendelijke groeten,
Maik Willems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Arrived at the hotel around 11am, room not ready till 2pm. A bit of a hassle but not a big deal. We came back several hours later, upon checking in we were asked to pay for the city tax, we thought it was included in the price we booked, paid in advance. Its not much so we decided to pay in cash. Checking out the next day, we were told that we owe the hotel the city tax, we explained we paid in cash when we checked in and she gave us a bad eyed. Looks like the check in staff pocketed our cash?!
The hotel is very close to the city centre, the room looks tired and definitely in need of re decoration.
One good thing about the hotel is Wifi is free. I would explore other options if I have to come back to Maastricht again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank H L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Hotel Maastricht Centrum, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for the comments which you wrote on Tripadvisor. I am sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. I assure you that I will take appropriate actions in order to improve our services. We regularly train our associates in assuring our perfect service and taking ownership.

I hope you accept my apologies ,

With kind regards,
Maik Willems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Maastricht hotels

Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
139 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 9 nights.
the room was of good size , comfortable and the toilet was also good.
The breakfast was so boring same items everyday.
the price was so expensive 93 euros per night too much for mastricht i could have better rates!!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mtea2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Hotel Maastricht Centrum, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for the comments which you wrote on Tripadvisor. I am sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. I assure you that I will take appropriate actions in order to improve our services. We regularly train our associates in assuring our perfect service and taking ownership.

I hope you accept my apologies ,

With kind regards,
Maik Willems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

The room was cold and the heater was not working.
I had to print the boarding pass from the pc of the hotel, but the pc was not connected to any printer. The staff asked me to send them the file to print by email, but in my case it was impossible, because I didn't have the file to send in my email, and it was impossible to print to pdf because of the setting of the hotel's pc.
I asked me to help me with the pc of reception, but they said me it was not possible.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Corrado_Vannella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Hotel Maastricht Centrum, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for the comments which you wrote on Tripadvisor. I am sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. I assure you that I will take appropriate actions in order to improve our services. We regularly train our associates in assuring our perfect service and taking ownership.

I hope you accept my apologies ,

With kind regards,
Maik Willems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
372 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Big hotel, within 400m of one of the main squares. Big enough rooms. Limited free overnight street parking spaces across the road. Otherwise there is a paid parking block, adjoining the hotel. Good breakfast. Reception staff could be better, e.g. there were not helpful in giving directions and were very slow checking people out in the morning. There was a library/smoking room, equipped with a pool table. Expensive enough hotel for familes.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room, not facing on to the main street outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Hotel Maastricht Centrum, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for the comments which you left on Tripadvisor. We try to meet the expectations of our guests and I believe we did achieve this.

I hope to meet you again at our hotel in Maastricht.

With kind regards,
Maik Willems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 4, 2012

The weather was fantastic, the location is at 5 minutes walking frothe center, really nice, personals are very friendly and kind.
The problem was the price that was realy high, the cleanness and the service was at the top, and the main problem was that very few international tv channels was permitted.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Almois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Hotel Maastricht Centrum, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for the comments which you left on Tripadvisor. We try to meet the expectations of our guests and I believe we did achieve this.

I hope to meet you again at our hotel in Maastricht.

With kind regards,
Maik Willems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maastricht hotels
0.8 mi away
Kaboom Hotel
Kaboom Hotel
#2 of 37 in Maastricht
4.5 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
0.6 mi away
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
#6 of 37 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,256 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hampshire Designhotel - Maastricht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
NH Maastricht
NH Maastricht
#12 of 37 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,181 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mabi
Hotel Mabi
#13 of 37 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
#3 of 37 in Maastricht
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bastion Hotel Maastricht Centrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bastion Hotel Maastricht Centrum

Property: Bastion Hotel Maastricht Centrum
Address: Boschstraat 27, 6211 AS Maastricht, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Maastricht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bastion Hotel Maastricht Centrum 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bastion Hotels stands for a personal atmosphere, hospitality, comfort and good facilities for an attractive rate. The Bastion Deluxe Hotel Maastricht Centrum offers a 24 hour front office, comfortable rooms and an extensive choice of dishes from the a la carte menu in the atmospheric restaurant. Guests are always welcome in the cozy hotel bar or smoking lounge. This lounge contains an LCD television, air-conditioning and relaxing lounge chairs. The hotel also offers wellness facilities, which guests can use for free, air-conditioning and free wireless internet in the entire hotel. In the lobby the hotel has a computer available, for guests, for free use of the internet. Domestic animals are not allowed. Location / accessibility Bastion Deluxe Hotel Maastricht Centrum is located in the centre of Maastricht. Maastricht knows twenty ages of history, that are still visible in the town centre. The churches, treasure rooms and houses show a rich history, together with the city walls and the tunnels. From the hotel cities like Liege and Aachen are well accessible. Rooms The hotel has 119 comfortable deluxe rooms and 4 family rooms. The deluxe rooms are equipped with a television, a bureau, a safe, free coffee and tea making facilities and a bathroom with bath, toilet and hairdryer. The family rooms have the same facilities as the deluxe rooms, but there are 4 individual beds. The suites are more spacious and are extra fitted with 2 separate beds and a sleeping sofa. Food & Beverage The hotel serves breakfast on weekdays from 06:00 to 09:00 and in weekends from 07:00 to 10:30. The hotel has an attractive restaurant with an extensive a la carte menu. The restaurant is open from 11:00 until 23:00 for lunch and dinner. The hotel bar is open until 23.30. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Bastion Hotel Maastricht Centrum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bastion Deluxe Hotel Maastricht Centrum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing