We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small Hotel”
Review of Hotel d'Orangerie

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel d'Orangerie
Ranked #32 of 38 Hotels in Maastricht
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Small Hotel”
Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

My daughter and I stayed here for one night last week on a shopping/sightseeing trip to the city. The hotel took some finding and we ended up parking in the Q Park city parking underneath the shopping centre very near to the hotel it cost us €25 for 24hours.


We found the staff to be very helpful and friendly and the public rooms in this tiny hotel were very quirky. We had asked for a twin room and ended up with room 19 which had a double bed ( two twin mattresses made up as one bed). The room itself faced a small side street and was quite noisy. We had to open the windows due to the fact that the room was very hot despite the radiators being turned off. When we entered the room there was a distinct smell of drains coming from the bathroom. Opening the windows seemed to solve this, however the smell soon returned once we closed the windows again.

Other than that our stay was a pleasant one. We did not opt for breakfast but preferred to eat in one of the many cafés surrounding the market square. We loved Maastricht and will return again and eat at Rantree Restaurant which we found to be exceptional for dinner.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    64
    35
    19
    14
See reviews for
25
72
8
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Regina, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014

This hotel is so pretty and it smells nice! I thought everything was so nice. It's really unique in that a lot of the decor is actually for sale, it's like a little shop. There's a lounge/bar and I love the Moroccan style of decor and the breakfast area is so gorgeous. You can sit outside, I love the patio, and the breakfast is so perfect and wonderful... delicious. The hotel is just charming and elegant and lovely. It's ideal. I want to go back to this hotel.

My bathroom was slightly less than perfect in terms of cleanliness, but was totally acceptable. The staff were wonderful and friendly. I love the location, it's not right in the square, but just a couple short blocks away. There is a really cute shisha/hookah lounge right down the street, which is also beautifully decorated. I was there for a conference at the University and it was only a 10-15 minute walk, this town is so lovely and I enjoyed the walk very much. Even the train station in Maastricht is so adorable. Anyway the only down side was that the hotel reception doesn't open very early in the morning. I had to leave, but it was okay, I just contacted them after with the payment information (I had also booked with the payment info so they had it anyway).

I had a little window with a view to these ancient buildings... the whole hotel is so old and that is very cool to me.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Great: Location
Good: Style and charm, antique in character
Value: Ok, parking eur 25, Breakfast eur 14 ok at best
Fair: Service - Mixed. Breakfast person good, Reception staff not particularly engaging
Fair: Cleaning - Bathroom smelt of Urine
Poor: Bed and sound proofing

Overall wouldnt stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiwi3604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, uk
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014

I stayed here with my husband who always stays here on business. He was disappointed that the rather ecleptic styled room had been redecorated and of course I was delighted!! It had a elegant but modern feel to the room, big and spacious with lovely views over the river. Breakfast was great in beautiful antique mish mash surroundings. We also had trouble with a drunk lady being locked out of her room so the sleep quality was not great but the décor and location far outweighed the minor gripe of the inconciderate guests

Room Tip: 2nd floor front
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hyl38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014

This is a good option to stay in Maastricht. It's perfectly located, 2 minutes from the City Hall (beautiful square), and near a good offer of restaurants.

It was a 15th century convent, and it mantains the old spirit and charm. The rooms are comfortable. The one i am in is small, but warm and very silent during the night. I feel good here.

Wifi is ok, the shower is fine, the service is friendly and helpful... maybe the only thing to improve would be the mattress. Not so comfortable, but good enough.

Important: the price is correct, good for what it is.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank noelgl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

I have been there for one night and honestly has been enough: very slow check in and check out, dirty room, very uncomfortable bed and the street of the hotel in the night is crouwded with drunk people and drug dealers!

My parents have been woken up in the middle of the night by a drank person that was knokking on thier window and screaming..... other guests had to call the owner becuase in front of the hotel entrance, in the night ( the reception is closed after 22.00), there were some drug pushers....

On the other side the Hotel has some nice details and a causy atmosphere.

Room Tip: Don't take the room at the street level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luca F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Maastricht hotels

Waterloo, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed December 23, 2013

The hotel was in a nice part of town and close to the main sights. The check-in was a bit disorganized - the staff was courteous but did not go out of their way to service their customers.

Our room was in the new "annex" and looked recently updated. While the new decor was nice, the renovations in the bathroom particularly, were substandard. Things just didn't function right (such as the sliding door not staying closed and the shower overflowing on medium flow). The bed was also a split mattress, which was uncomfortable as a couple. The room was obviously striving to be high quality but fell short in a few key areas. The view out to the river was nice.

The price, however, was fair and just slightly above the quality received. Breakfast, on the other hand, was prohibitively expensive (15 euro pp). We appreciated them holding our bags for the day after check-out. Other options might be better in town for a similar price.

Room Tip: Check out reviews of the "classic" rooms - perhaps they are different than the new "m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zwyoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maastricht hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bigarre
Hotel Bigarre
#31 of 38 in Maastricht
166 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kaboom Hotel
Kaboom Hotel
#2 of 38 in Maastricht
508 reviews
0.3 mi away
Boutique Hotel Grote Gracht
Boutique Hotel Grote Gracht
#30 of 38 in Maastricht
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Maastricht
Crowne Plaza Maastricht
#11 of 38 in Maastricht
699 reviews
2.3 mi away
Buitenplaats Vaeshartelt
Buitenplaats Vaeshartelt
#9 of 38 in Maastricht
847 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Au Quartier
Hotel Au Quartier
#24 of 38 in Maastricht
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel d'Orangerie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel d'Orangerie

Property: Hotel d'Orangerie
Address: Kleine Gracht 4, 6211 CB Maastricht, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 38 Hotels in Maastricht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel d'Orangerie 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel d'Orangerie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
d Orangerie Maastricht

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing