We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unexpectedly great!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Novotel Maastricht

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Novotel Maastricht
Ranked #13 of 37 Hotels in Maastricht
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
home
Level Contributor
89 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Unexpectedly great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014

Chose this hotel for its convenience, but was pleasantly surprised with the quality of the hotel, and the helpfulness of the staff. The parking lot is secure and free. Couldn't have been a better experience. I will stay here again if ever in Maastricht!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fabthunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra0991, Supervisor Front Office at Novotel Maastricht, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your nice comment!
I am grateful for your feedback about your stay.

I look forward to seeing you again at Novotel Maastricht!

Kind regards,
Sandra van der Horst
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

869 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    474
    166
    36
    8
See reviews for
286
331
38
135
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014

Overall a good experience for a one week stay with friends, mix of business and visiting the region. Unfortunately, although rather pricey, the Hotel's only real superb value was the breakfast.

The rooms were ok, the courtyard (garden with a well spaced table configuration and a small pool) offered a welcoming experience and the staff was helpful most of the times, although extremely slow in response. (One example of several: The sink was clogged, it took 2 days for the staff to respond).
Great bathrooms with a very nice configuration, but no toilet brush, brrrr...

Be careful: there seemingly are NO twin bed rooms (rooms have only one king sized bed). We were not sure whether this is a dutch thing or just a weird feature of this Novotel, but you have to either share the same bed (and the same blanket) with your colleague or try and convert a couch into a bed, which did not work well. Repeated requests to at least bring us a second blanket did not yield any result. (The existing second blanket was only a very rough, thin and used wool thing).

Breakfast was very much appreciated by everyone, excellent choice, good quality. Unfortunately other meals/drinks are pricey in comparison with much better restaurants in town.
Location is terrible as you have to walk for at least 20-25 min. to get into some relevant city areas. There is a shuttle, but it's not as readily available as advertised. The same goes for the advertised taxi service (the (cheaper) advertised price worked only outbound, inbound we got a rather huge quotation). You can rent a bike for 10 EUR a day, which is very ok, but there are only few bikes available, so be quick! Watch out: even if the breakfast is very rich, if you don't get it included with your room deal, think twice, it's almost EUR 20, and definitely not worth such a price!

Most of all we appreciated the fact that the small garden area is open through the night, so you can spend some quality and fun late nite time with friends outside. Unfortunately the sound reflects off the concrete floor so every word you whisper is heard up to the 4th floor rooms - if the guests leave their windows open. But we had no complaints :-)

There is a Xbox, a table soccer game, a small children's playground, table-tennis and 2 bocce fields - so, plenty of things to do while not out to visit the region. But why, oh why, can a 4 star hotel not afford a decent set of table-tennis rackets? The ones available were completely peeled and broken. But, hey, they were free, so what could one expect...

Count in plenty of time for the billing and checkout. They completely messed up our invoices and settling that literally took forever...

All in all it's been a good stay, at a correct and clean place, but nothing special, like you maybe would expect from a hotel in a charming small city like Maastricht. Would we like to come back to Maastricht? Definitely yes. Would we stay at Novotel again? Probably not, except if nothing else in the price range would be available.

Finally a great tip for a wonderful little Maastricht restaurant: Try the Restaurant Villeneuve in the Observantenweg 2. It's far from the hotel (10 min. with the bike, 45 min. on foot) but it's 1,000% worth it.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Skystalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra0991, Supervisor Front Office at Novotel Maastricht, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all I would like to thank you for taking the time to tell us and other travellers about your experience in our hotel, we really appreciate it.
It is a must for us and all Novotel’s around the world to reach a great guest experience. We believe that having the chance to know what you have experienced is the best tool we can have to improve.

We regret to know that your visit did not reflect the standards that we set for our hotel. Our hotelrooms are designed from the “novation-style” of the Novotel’s chain. All rooms are equipped with a kingsize bed and besides the bed a pull out bed. ( this bed is also made up when you pull it out ). This means that our rooms are suitable for double or twin use. To create a toilet in a separate room is also made especially for twin and double use. The toilets are not allowed to be equipped by a toilet brush because of hygienic reasons.
Our staff will clean the toilet every day or on demand.

I am very happy to read that you enjoyed our breakfast.
However the breakfast price is not € 20.=, but € 18.50 and if guests book their breakfast ahead the price is even much lower.
The hotel is indeed situated 2 km from the historic city center, which will take you 20-25 minutes to walk to the center, therefore we offer free of charge a shuttle bus for all our guests, so that guests can leave their car at the hotel, which saves high parking costs in the center. This bus is available every day from 08.00 till 18.00 pm for all our guests.

Our garden and terrace overlooking the swimming pool is very much appreciated, and I am happy to read that you also enjoyed it.

Once again I would like to thank you for the time spent in posting your comment and most of all for the chance you are giving us to improve ourselves.
Effective actions will be taken to avoid these inconvenience in the future.

It is my hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you better in the near future.

Best regards,
Sandra van der Horst
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerpen, België
Level Contributor
409 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2014

Stayed here over weekend for a little city trip in Maastricht,
Very clean and nice hotel,
Staff was very helpfull to help you further with any questions you could have about visiting the city.
Rooms are pleasant,quiet and comfortable.
Towncenter is a fifteen minutes walk away. but there is also a shuttle service every hour for those who don't want to walk.
They also work together with a taxi company who can bring you back from anywhere in the town center to the hotel for 8.50 €.

Breakfast was correct.(typical hotel breakfast)
We also had a three course evening meal the first night.
The food was correct but i am sure you can find a better restaurant inthe city center....
Would defintitely come back here for sleeping although i would skip the restaurant

Room Tip: Get a room on the garden side and not on the street side
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DjangoDjango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra0991, Supervisor Front Office at Novotel Maastricht, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Thank you very much for your nice comments on Trip advisor.
It is nice to read that you had a pleasant stay in our hotel!

We will be looking forward to welcome you back in Maastricht.

Best regards,
Sandra van der Horst
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ottersum
Level Contributor
130 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

We visited Novotel Maastricht for two nights in March 2014. It is located in one of the suburbs (Heer) next to the ring road. For the guests there is a free shuttle bus to the city center, convention center or train station which departs every hour. Once a day you can take a return shuttle at 18.15 hrs. For intermediate times the hotel recommends a special cab which brings you to the hotel for 8,50 euro.
The hotel itself is rather modern with a huge entrance hall where you can find the reception and a bar which ends into the restaurant. Checking in was a little bit messy, checking out was quick and professional. Staff is very kind and helpful; this also implies to the staff in the restaurant and other personnel. There is a large garden with a large swimming pool which was out of order at that time.
We were four and occupied two superior rooms (304, 306) with textile floor coverings and view on the garden. The rooms have a large double bed with a firm mattress and a side table at each side. The bedside lamps are beautiful but not functional enough for reading. There is also a sofa bed which makes the room suitable for two extra children. There is a large working table with a flat-screen TV with a lot of channels. Left from the working table you’ll find a minibar and tea/coffee facilities and a safe. There is a large linen cupboard near the entrance. We did not need to use the air-conditioner. Wifi is for free.
The bathroom is excellent: a large room with a walk-in shower with a good working shower and a large washstand, all impeccable clean. A hair dryer, shower gel and soap complete the whole. The toilet is in a little separate room.
The warm and cold breakfast buffet is excellent and abundant, but pricey if not included in the price of your stay. There are at least ten kinds of bread, several meat and cheese products, fresh fruit, fresh yoghurt, sweeties, scrambled eggs, etc. Coffee is really good. Diner was rather disappointing: although three of us asked for medium baked pork tenderloin it was all well done and rather dry. It is fair to say that we were compensated by giving us a drink on the house. But if you have diner in the hotel, we recommend you to order another main course. Our diner was included in the price of the arrangement we booked, but a price of 29,50 euro for a three course menu is acceptable, if the quality is o.k. Wine, on the contrary, was very fine (22,50 euro a bottle).
We booked this arrangement through Travelbird and paid 173,00 euro for 2 nights including breakfast and one diner. If you have to pay the full price, the hotel is rather expensive.
All in all, partly due to the very good service the hotel is very recommendable.

Tip: there is an excellent Greek Restaurant in Maastricht, Kesselskade 42, where you can have an excellent meal at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jwmpet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra0991, Supervisor Front Office at Novotel Maastricht, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a positive review on Tripadvisor, we really appreciate it!
I have shared your comments with the team, so that they are aware of their contribution in helping to satisfy you and meet your expectations.

Positive feeback from satisfied clients is our greatest reward. Thank you!

We look forward to welcoming you again at Novotel.

With kind regards,
Sandra van der Horst
Supervisor Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
234 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

This is quite a nice hotel, having been fully refurbished relatively recently I assume. Very friendly check-in and pleasant, comfortable room. Dinner in the restaurant was surprisingly good for a chain hotel and decent value too. Although it is located about 2.5kms (20-25 minutes) walk from the city centre they do offer an hourly 8 seater shuttle-bus. Bizarrely however, this only runs on the hour until 6pm and only the 6pm shuttle will bring passengers back out of the city - at all other times you are expected to take advantage of the hotel's deal with a taxi firm (€8.50). We got the shuttle in but walked back out so it was no big deal in the end. Although the hotel is outside the centre you still have to pay €3.50 for parking. Breakfast was overpriced at €18.50 per person with no option for a smaller breakfast - so we ate in town. Despite these little annoyances, I'd still recommend this very nice hotel to anyone travelling to Maastricht.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank declanjhayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra0991, Supervisor Front Office at Novotel Maastricht, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Google Translation
Allereerst willen wij u hartelijk bedanken dat u de tijd genomen heeft om uw ervaring met ons te delen.
Wij vinden het heel leuk om te lezen dat u een fijn verblijf gehad heeft en dat u lekker gegeten heeft in ons resaurant.

Wij hopen u in de toekomst nogmaals te mogen verwelkomen in ons hotel!

Met vriendelijke groet,
Sandra van der Horst
Supervisor Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maastricht hotels
0.5 mi away
NH Maastricht
NH Maastricht
#11 of 37 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kaboom Hotel
Kaboom Hotel
#1 of 37 in Maastricht
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
0.2 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Maastricht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
#5 of 37 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,235 reviews
0.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Maastricht
Crowne Plaza Maastricht
#12 of 37 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hampshire Designhotel - Maastricht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Maastricht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Maastricht

Property: Novotel Maastricht
Address: Sibemaweg 10, 6227 AH Maastricht, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Maastricht
#5 Family Hotel in Maastricht
#8 Luxury Hotel in Maastricht
#8 Business Hotel in Maastricht
#11 Romantic Hotel in Maastricht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Maastricht 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Maastricht is situated on the edge of Maastricht city centre, close to the Maastricht Exhibition & Congress Center (MECC). The Novotel Maastricht is ideal for business trips and weekend breaks, and can be easily reached by car or public transport. There is a Shuttle bus to the city center, central train station or MECC. The Novotel Maastricht welcomes children, and in the summer months you can enjoy the heated outdoor swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, ACCOR, Agoda, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Novotel Maastricht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maastricht Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing