We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Weekend in Maastricht” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Novotel Maastricht

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Novotel Maastricht
Ranked #14 of 37 Hotels in Maastricht
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Purmerend
Level Contributor
285 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Weekend in Maastricht”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

Getting to the Novotel by car is easy, it's a 2 hour drive from Amsterdam. The hotel is located outside the City Centre but the Novotel offer a free shuttle bus which leaves every hour until 18:15. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The hotel is modern , the rooms are well furnished and equipped for the modern traveler. Free Internet is available.
We had dinner at the hotel which was disappointing, not much flavor to the mixed grill and fish.
Breakfast on the other hand is very good . excellent buffet with much to choose from. Fresh fried eggs. The advise I have is to have dinner in Maastricht where you will find many great restaurants and have breakfast at the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TRIPSPJLEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewi N, General Manager at Novotel Maastricht, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel and for taking the time to share your experiences with other travelers.

It's always a pleasure to read that our guests appreciated our hotel. I will give the feedback to the team about your nice stay.
I am very sorry that on this occasion you were disappointed about your diner. We are currently busy with the implementation of our new restaurant concept URBN and training al the staff with the new dishes. I will investiga further what happened that evening.
I hope that this incident will not effect a future stay in our hotel & we are very much looking forward to welcome you again.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

861 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    471
    164
    35
    8
See reviews for
283
329
38
134
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
269 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

In itself, hotel ok if you like the somewhat aseptic environment that Novotels and the likes provide.
Room was mostly clean and functional, with free WiFi, but very bland decor and a rather hard and uncomfortable bed.
Overall hotel decor more of the same, "design" but without much charm. However, the terrace and garden around the pool quite unexpected and lovely.
And very pleasant staff.
Breakfast spread was nice, but certainly not worth the very steep Eur18+ p/p. Limited and pricey dinner menu, but the food was tasty.
We booked this hotel as it was supposedly close to the Merc conference center, and while hotel hourly shuttle buses do get you there in less than ten minutes, it is more like a 25/30 minute walk than the 15 advertised. And same is true about getting into the very pretty town center.
Hotel is in the middle of nowhere, or more accurately, in the middle of very major road works, as a tunnel is being built to put the A2 highway underground. This is not the hotel's fault, however it does give a wasteland feel to the environs, with huge mounds of dirt all around, and constant noise and dust. Unfortunately, works are scheduled to go on for a few more years!
I don't plan to be back in Maastricht in the foreseeable future, however, were I to return, I wouldn't book this hotel based on proximity to the conference center!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

we prepaid our hotel room for 5 nights but on check-in novotel took €1, 200 from our credit card as deposit; this is ludicrous! we stayed in so many hotels accross europe this month but all only took €100 deposit. Maastricht missed out on our shopping due to Novotel's policy. we will never stay again in a novotel hotel around the world.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fwmack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trollhattan, Sweden
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

Overall the hotel was really nice, room was nice, shower great and the bed extremely comfortable! No noise from roads or other guests. We did not buy the breakfast which was really expensive and didn't use the restaurant in the evening for the same reason. Our room overlooked the small swimming pool and also a huge pile of rubble from major construction work close by. However this did not really distract us. There was a free hotel shuttle bus available to take guests into the city centre (it ran on an hourly basis up to 1815h), just need to prebook spaces at the reception desk. Overall enjoyed our stay and would be more than happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Shakey2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maastricht hotels
0.5 mi away
NH Maastricht
NH Maastricht
#11 of 37 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,122 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kaboom Hotel
Kaboom Hotel
#1 of 37 in Maastricht
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
0.2 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Maastricht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
#6 of 37 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,226 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hampshire Designhotel - Maastricht
0.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Maastricht
Crowne Plaza Maastricht
#12 of 37 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Maastricht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Maastricht

Property: Novotel Maastricht
Address: Sibemaweg 10, 6227 AH Maastricht, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Maastricht
#5 Family Hotel in Maastricht
#8 Business Hotel in Maastricht
#9 Luxury Hotel in Maastricht
#11 Romantic Hotel in Maastricht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Maastricht 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Maastricht is situated on the edge of Maastricht city centre, close to the Maastricht Exhibition & Congress Center (MECC). The Novotel Maastricht is ideal for business trips and weekend breaks, and can be easily reached by car or public transport. There is a Shuttle bus to the city center, central train station or MECC. The Novotel Maastricht welcomes children, and in the summer months you can enjoy the heated outdoor swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, ACCOR, Priceline, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Novotel Maastricht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maastricht Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing