We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good breakfast and clean rooms”
Review of Novotel Maastricht

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Maastricht
Ranked #14 of 38 Hotels in Maastricht
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Koege, Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good breakfast and clean rooms”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

The hotel seems a bit outdated, especially the hallways. But the rooms are up-to-date with modern furnishing and nice clean bathroom. A bit annoying that the toilet is separated from the bathroom (I know it is common in some countries). The reception and restaurant was nice and reasonable in price. The breakfast buffet was huge and fresh. Parking facility and location to the city was good. They offer shuttle to the center, but it is never avaible.
All in All a good experience and I would definitely stay here another time.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

917 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    496
    183
    38
    8
See reviews for
299
350
41
143
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Just for one night we stayed here visiting a conference in Maastrichs MECC.
The hotel is ok. But the neigbourhoud a bit unwellcoming.
But we had a good sleep and breakfast here.
The room was quiet and spacious and very clean.
Ww were a bit dissapointed that the MECC conference centre was not really in walking distance, due to the higwaycrossings one has to make. But the hotel provided a free shuttle service!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Max M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mons, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Very good hotel, the situation is not too far from the center and the station. Possible to walk to the town in the morning without the car!
The food was very good (only the breakfast), the choice was vast. I hope to go again at the end of the year.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We have now stayed as a family twice at this hotel, and have really enjoyed our stay both times.

One thing I should mention right away is that staying here probably isn't for everyone because of the location. If you want to be right in the center, this isn't the best hotel for that. If you don't mind taking the bus (the bus stop is nearby), the hotel shuttle, or driving into the center, this is an option worth looking at, though -- it's only a few minutes away. If you want to walk into the center, or from the train station to the hotel, I would advise thinking twice, though -- the city is bisected by the A2, and the center and train station are on one side, while the hotel is on the other. On foot, it isn't obvious where you can cross, so you really have to know, in advance, what route to take.

With all that said, on to the hotel itself. We came with two children, ages 9 and 4. Check-in, and all later interactions with the hotel staff, was friendly and professional. The rooms we've had both times have been equipped with a large bed and a sofa bed for the kids. There are plenty of towels, pillows, etc, and a good sized bathroom with either a shower or bath tub. The room is a bit snug once you have the sofa bed pulled out, but there is still plenty of room for luggage and we haven't had any issues. Everything is comfortable and clean. Since the Dutch don't dub most television, finding shows in English isn't a problem.

Breakfast is available, and is free for children if the adults are eating too. It's a bit pricey, but in our opinion is worth it, with a large amount of variety and quite generous hours that it is open. The restaurant is also nice if you feel like staying in for the evening -- not cheap, but not really out of line with the prices in Maastricht or the rest of the Netherlands.

One thing we really like, and that makes it a great hotel if you are coming with children, is the kid-friendly features of the hotel. Children get a small gift when you check in. There is an outdoor pool and playground, but both times we've visited the weather has made it impractical to try them out. There are also building blocks, video game consoles, a foosball table, and a TV with children's movies (on one time we visited, off the other) in the lobby. This makes the lobby a great place to unwind as a parent -- you can bring a book, your laptop (free wireless in the hotel), etc, and just let the kids play. Since the lobby is right outside the restaurant, this also means you can linger over your meal while the kids go and have fun.

Overall, especially if you have children, I would highly recommend this hotel, and we definitely plan to return on our next trip to Maastricht.

Room Tip: I'm not sure it matters which room you get -- the hotel is not far from the expressway, but we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maastricht hotels
0.5 mi away
NH Maastricht
NH Maastricht
#12 of 38 in Maastricht
1,263 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kaboom Hotel
Kaboom Hotel
#2 of 38 in Maastricht
532 reviews
0.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Maastricht
Crowne Plaza Maastricht
#11 of 38 in Maastricht
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
#6 of 38 in Maastricht
1,302 reviews
0.2 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Maastricht
Van der Valk Hotel Maastricht
#10 of 38 in Maastricht
730 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hampshire Designhotel - Maastricht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Maastricht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Maastricht

Property: Novotel Maastricht
Address: Sibemaweg 10, 6227 AH Maastricht, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Maastricht
#5 Family Hotel in Maastricht
#8 Business Hotel in Maastricht
#9 Luxury Hotel in Maastricht
#11 Romantic Hotel in Maastricht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Maastricht 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Maastricht is situated on the edge of Maastricht city centre, close to the Maastricht Exhibition & Congress Center (MECC). The Novotel Maastricht is ideal for business trips and weekend breaks, and can be easily reached by car or public transport. There is a Shuttle bus to the city center, central train station or MECC. The Novotel Maastricht welcomes children, and in the summer months you can enjoy the heated outdoor swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Maastricht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maastricht Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing