We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the effort”
Review of Novotel Maastricht

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Maastricht
Ranked #14 of 38 Hotels in Maastricht
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Well worth the effort of eventually outwitting the challenging road works that interfered with our Sat Nav support when trying to find the hotel. Warm welcome, wonderful staff, a real 'value for money (19.50 euros) evening buffet which we discovered after only being offered the a la carte menu. Complimentary bus service easy to use, left on time etc. Would go again

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (927)
There are newer reviews for Novotel Maastricht
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

212 - 218 of 927 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2012

Having won a voucher for this hotel through the lottery, we went to Maastricht for the weekend. The hotel is located on the off-ramp of the highway, but we did not hear any noise in the room. The city centre, however, is quite a distance away, so be prepared to bike it there (hotel offers rentals), take the complimentary shuttle service (runs in the morning), walk it (about 1.5-2 km) or park closer and incur the parking fee.
The restaurant is very good, offers a good choice of starters, main courses and desserts and a set 3-course menu with choice of meat or fish.

The room we had was clean and had a nice firm bed. The bathroom was clean and looked recently refurbished. The room had a separate toilet - which can be a big plus for some people.

All in all, a nice hotel for a weekend getaway.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Menno D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Save your self some money and time and stay in town. This hotel is outside the city. The free shuttle is not convinient. You'll have to wait for the taxi to arrive at the hotel, or in town to pick you up.
The food is REALLY BAD!!! The breakfast is good, however the lunch buffet has only 2-3 hot meal choices and most days it was really really bad, so we had to fill up on salads, etc.

The rooms are very basic. They dont have sheets under the covers. I asked for a sheet for under the cover and it took them a long time to bring one. When I asked them what took so long they said "we had to find one in the hotel"... which hotel doesnt have extra sheets????

I was there for a week for meetings. We had blocked 40 rooms, and even though we had rented meeting rooms and paid alot of money for food, beverages, meeting space, rooms etc, they were not flexible in letting us check out late.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Noush01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We had to go through a few hoops to navigate to the hotel through major roadworks in Maastricht but finally got there! Nice hotel with friendly staff so checkin went well. Room was very nice and comfortable although shower was a little small. Hotel offered transport into the centre of Delft but we had to wait 15 minutes beyond the expected time and noticed the same thing the following day so if you have deadlines don't bank on it! We had dinner in the restaurant one night which was fine although the service was slow as the guests sitting outside seemed to be given priority. Appreciated the free parking and wifi.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WeeLuv2Travel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

We arrived late in the afternoon and waited quite some time to check in. There was only one person working the front desk, and she was taking phone calls and dealing with check-ins at the same time.

We decided to stay in the hotel for dinner that night. The restaurant is right off the lobby, and overlooks the pool. There's nothing in the world like watching a parade of hairy backs, ill-fitting Speedos and man-boobs while dining with your family.

The tomato soup is exceptional. I had a lasagna bolognese that tasted EXACTLY like Chef Boyardee, except it cost about $30. Wait staff was varied...our server was not too pleasant, but we were checked up on by a manager several times during the meal.

One note I would like to make is that I ordered a mineral water with lemon, and it arrived with a plastic stirrer that had clearly been pre-used in a tomato drink. It still had chunks of tomato pulp stuck to it!

The room was clean, but nothing special. In fact, it was so comically small that we laughed when we opened the door. When the sofa bed was open, there was nowhere to walk. We had a choice between a shower or a bath, so we chose a shower. It was in a separate room from the toilet, which is in a room that affords just enough room for you to get in and sit down. No lock on the door, which was dangerous because if someone were to fling the door open while you were on the toilet, it would result in concussion.

The bed was one of the most uncomfortable I have experienced in my lifetime.

The breakfast buffet was mediocre at best.

Overall, this was not a good place for a family to be. It may be a better fit for a business traveler.

Room Tip: Find another hotel. ;)
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daynasu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for a weekend. The hotel is modern with comfortable rooms, and the personnel is friendly and helpful. The hotel is located out of the centre, and it is convenient if you have a car (there is a parking which is free for guests). From there it is only a five minutes' straightforward drive to the city centre. There is free wifi internet access in the hotel, but I used the public computer in the lobby, which worked very well. Breakfast was a buffet and it was ok with a decent selection. The price is a bit steep - considering the location - if you choose the flexible rate (as I did as I wanted to be able to change if needed), otherwise quite reasonable for the quality offered.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TridentMick
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maastricht hotels
0.5 mi away
NH Maastricht
NH Maastricht
#12 of 38 in Maastricht
1,298 reviews
0.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Maastricht
Crowne Plaza Maastricht
#11 of 38 in Maastricht
730 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kaboom Hotel
Kaboom Hotel
#2 of 38 in Maastricht
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
#6 of 38 in Maastricht
1,313 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hampshire Designhotel - Maastricht
0.2 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Maastricht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Maastricht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Maastricht

Address: Sibemaweg 10, 6227 AH Maastricht, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Maastricht
#5 Family Hotel in Maastricht
#8 Business Hotel in Maastricht
#9 Luxury Hotel in Maastricht
#11 Romantic Hotel in Maastricht
Price Range: $102 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Maastricht 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Maastricht is situated on the edge of Maastricht city centre, close to the Maastricht Exhibition & Congress Center (MECC). The Novotel Maastricht is ideal for business trips and weekend breaks, and can be easily reached by car or public transport. There is a Shuttle bus to the city center, central train station or MECC. The Novotel Maastricht welcomes children, and in the summer months you can enjoy the heated outdoor swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, ACCOR, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Maastricht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maastricht Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing