We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Well located hotel but in need of some upgrading” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Maastricht

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Maastricht
Ranked #10 of 40 Hotels in Maastricht
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
57 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Well located hotel but in need of some upgrading”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

This hotel is located right on the east bank of the Maas river. City center is on the other side of the river, but it's just a short walk across the bridge. All west facing rooms have balconies with river view. The south facing rooms also have balconies but only the ones on the upper two floors (3rd & 4th) enjoy a good river view. Initially we got a south facing room on the first floor, but upon request we were moved to the 4th floor for free. Rooms are well decorated with rather new furniture, but carpets (outdated design, stains) and bathrooms (mediocre shower) are somewhat old, as are the elevators, and could do with an overhaul. We arrived when a storm was hitting maastricht. The sliding door to the balcony was not locking airtight, so occasionally we heard the wind whistling quite noisily.. But all in all a very decent stay, with a great, large bed ;-) and friendly staff.

Room Tip: Best value for money: South facing rooms on 3rd and 4th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarOhv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    235
    131
    32
    11
See reviews for
77
209
18
151
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

I was initially skeptical about booking here because of some of the reviews on various travel and hotel booking sites. However, I must say that those reviews don't do justice to Crowne Plaza. This hotel is way better and pretty excellent. We (me and my office colleagues) booked the river view room for five nights and got what we booked. The room was clean (and subsequent housekeeping service was great too), mini bar well stocked, complimentary stuff like 'This works: Sleep' etc. Bed was nice and comfy, the view was awsome. Overall the location is great, with a supermarket and Coffee Lovers nearby and a good plaza (Vrijthof) and shopping area just across the river bridge 10 min walk from the hotel. The staff was helpful and cooperative, check in was excellent.
Just one issue at check out, the lady on the counter was very unhelpful unattentive as if she didn't care I was even standing there. Then the bill she made included breakfast charges (I hadn't had breakfast) and she didn't show me the bill until I had paid already. Later when I asked her to check this out, she didn't say a word and went into the back room behind the counter. I assumed she was gonna check this but 5-10min and no response. Then another lady on the counter asked me what the issue was, checked her file, agreed it was a mistake and re-printed the invoice. The first lady came back and didn't bother to as much as even look at me or apologize or say anything. I think she was downright rude.

Room Tip: Get the room with a river view, its very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali_R_Fazal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

Very friendly and helpfull staff with a good knowlegde about the city and their history.
My tv wasnt working properly and even though I didnt watch a lot of TV I was granted a free breakfast for the inconvinience.

The hotel is situated close to the station and from the hotel you have a nice view onto the Maas and its skyline

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gejo-fototeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

The location at the river in the center of Maastricht is just perfect. Many nice shops and restaurants in walking distance. Great to go jogging along the water and through the city. We stayed there twice and twice we got a room near the elevator. The elevator and the hotel itself is all very old. Renovation is urgently needed and so the two times we were there we couldn't sleep because of the very loud elevator. Besides that the mirror just fell off the wall. The toilet pot is not white anymore but the inside turned brown (not properly cleaned during the years). All the amenities you need but the room was very full with furniture. Very helpful and friendly staff at the reception and when we complained about the fact that we couldn't sleep because of the elevator they gave us a fine reduction on the hotel rate. We didn't try the breakfast. We thought is was quite expensive 24 euro - I cannot eat for that price. They offered us the breakfast for 17 euro but we didn't take it. We didn't eat at all so we can not give any comments on the restaurant. If this hotel will be renovated we will go back again - if not we will choose another hotel.

Room Tip: ask for a room far away from the elevator but with a view over the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adriana V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Maastricht, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Dear Adriana V,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay with us. It is great to know you appreciate our location as well as your concerns were addressed by our staff during your stay. We always try our best to ensure we meet our guests needs and expectations and on this occasion we apologize for your disappointment with the condition of our hotel. We take all feedback seriously. It helps us gauge what we are doing right and what we need to improve on. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

I had to stay here when working with a client and flew into Brussels airport. My first shock was the taxi fare to the hotel (300Euros, my return was only 170). The hotel is located right next to the river Maas and in the centre of the town. Maastricht is quaint, with lots of old buildings and small restaurants - all very attractive and well worth a visit. The hotel stands out amongst these old buildings because it is quite modern. Big clean rooms with all the facilities you need. Good standard restaurant and bar with very helpful staff. What's missing is a gym. Internet is expensive.
The confrerence facilities are superb.

Room Tip: Choose a river view at executive level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NapierAssociates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
137 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

This hotel is right on the river. My wife and I have stayed here several times. I am Diamond with IHG so they usually give us an upgrade. We have gotten two story rooms and rooms on the club level that have access to the roof patio. A lot of the rooms have a view of the river. It's very easy to walk across the bridge to some of the most amazing shopping you will find anywhere. There are a lot of good restaurants and bars in walking distance. Coffeeshops are in walking distance, but they do not cater to those of us from the US anymore in the Limburg provence. If you are a US citizen, at the time of this writing, you need to go north to make purchases at a coffeeshop. Salvatore is a great door man/concierge. He has been there for most of our trips and is very friendly and helpful. You cannot go wrong with this hotel or Maastricht. One of our favorite cities of all time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samuel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonning
Level Contributor
119 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

This Crowne [why that pompous, superfluous 'e', for goodness sake?] Plaza has a great site, tucked away behind historic, arrow, cobbled shopping streets and right on the banks of the Maas.

So of course its architecture - typical '[--] you' American hotel style - clashes completely and spoils that corner of the town.

With such a site, it's guaranteed business; so it doesn't have to try that hard. It's filled most of the time with business conference groups. The rooms are adequate - US-chain standard - and not expensive. But food is [Euros 20 for breakfast, Euros 70 for dinner]. And the service is average.

Good for a business trip; not otherwise. There are better, more characterful hotels in and around Maastricht.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spanner48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Maastricht, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear spanner48,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. I am glad you enjoyed our great location. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Regards,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maastricht hotels
0.7 mi away
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
#2 of 40 in Maastricht
4.5 of 5 stars 996 reviews
0.4 mi away
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
#5 of 40 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 stars 1,129 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kaboom Hotel
Kaboom Hotel
#1 of 40 in Maastricht
4.5 of 5 stars 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hampshire Designhotel - Maastricht
0.2 mi away
Hotel Beaumont
Hotel Beaumont
#4 of 40 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 stars 924 reviews
0.9 mi away
NH Maastricht
NH Maastricht
#8 of 40 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 stars 955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Maastricht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Maastricht

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel Maastricht
Address: Ruiterij 1, 6221 EW Maastricht, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Maastricht
#9 Business Hotel in Maastricht
#9 Family Hotel in Maastricht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Maastricht 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Crowne Plaza Maastricht is the best hotel to stay in the centre of Maastricht, the city of the Maastricht treaty. The hotel is unique and quiet situated on the river Maas, in the city centre. Crowne Plaza Maastricht is easy accessible and has its own underground car park.Crowne Plaza offers luxuriously regular rooms as well as Clubrooms on a 5-star level, all equipped with air conditioning and high-speed internet.You are sure to find excellent wining and dining in the hotel's restaurant 'de Mangerie'. The kitchen team prepares Mediterranean as well as local cuisine with fresh seasonal products.In addition the hotel offers 9 meeting rooms for gatherings up to 400 peoples, dinners up to 700 peoples and parties up to 1500 peoples. Here too, service is of primary importance and the staff goes just that step further when advising their guests.You find the historical city centre, were the bars with the famous terraces, shops and restaurants are situated, within walking distance. In short: Hotel Crowne Plaza Maastricht is the address for a wonderful stay and a successful gathering!Special events during the year in Maastricht: TEFAF:The European Fine Art Fair, Carnival, Preuvenemint, concert of André Rieu, Winterland. Pursuant to the Dutch legislation regarding the ban on smoking the hotel is entirely non-smoking by 1 July 2008. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, IHG, Odigeo, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Maastricht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Maastricht
Maastricht Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing