We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, nice hotel, fantastic terrace but the rooms need a refurbishment” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Maastricht

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Maastricht
Ranked #11 of 40 Hotels in Maastricht
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
115 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Great location, nice hotel, fantastic terrace but the rooms need a refurbishment”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

When I am in Maastricht I like to sleep here. The location of this hotel is great. You can walk right into the city but you can park your car below the hotel. Their terrace (for drinks but also to eat) is fantastic. It is right next to the river and you have a fantastic view. The hotel has very friendly staff and you really feel at home. Nice bar. Nice restaurants surrounding the hotel including the Beluga restaurant which is just around the corner. The only disadvantage of this hotel is that the rooms urgently need refurbishment. They are not bad or dirty but they are old. When this will happen this hotel will stay my favourite hotel in Maastricht.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diederik B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Maastricht, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Diederik B,

Thank you for your review. All our guest comments are valuable and we consider them seriously in the consistent endeavor to improve the quality of our products and service.

I was delighted to read that despite your dissatisfaction with the room appearance, you were still able to enjoy your stay with us. I apologize for the shortfalls, nevertheless, I am glad that you were satisfied with most of the features provided. Since our guests are the center of our focus, it is customary for our hotel staff to continually create and provide the best product always. Therefore, we are pleased that these efforts reflected in your total guest experience.

I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. Rest assured that your comments will be reviewed by our team and take actions accordingly. We hope to get a chance of hosting you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    228
    125
    32
    11
See reviews for
70
203
18
149
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Netherlands
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed in a duplex junior suite which had 3 beds, two tvs and a mini bar. It didn't have a DVD player which was in room description. The furniture / decor was a bit outdated, scuff marks on walls etc, but it was very clean and the beds very comfy. The bathroom was well stocked with occitane products. We didn't eat here but breakfast was offered for €17 p.p. There are nice cafes around the corner from the hotel and great streets full of quirky, quaint little shops. The hotel offered valet parking for €22 per day, although expensive it was very handy. We arrived early Friday and left late Sunday and were charged €44. The staff were helpful and were also able to lend me a phone charger as I forgot my own.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DutchcatBreda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Level Contributor
109 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

I have been to this hotel many times, and was there for a two week stay in early 2012. The last time I went there was at the end of last year.
The hotel has a fantastic location, one of the best possible. A five minute walk from the station, and a five minute walk from the bridge. It is situated on the banks of the river, and this is marvellous.

The rooms in the normal category are small, but those in the executive floors/ categories have a good size. They could redesign the work desk, as I always had to work from the "wrong" side. The internet is fast and good.

Why do I like it, apart from the location? The service. I really like the people at the reception and in the restaurants. They are efficient, friendly, and warm. This is something that is really nice.

The food is fantastic, and they have some really good restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RajivC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Hotel location is excellent. Just by the picturesque river Maas and a short stroll away to the iconic St Servaas bridge. CoffeeLovers cafe just around the corner serves excellent coffee and breakfast. Directly opposite the lobby entrance is a very good Italian restaurant which opens till late, and at the corner of the same row is a most excellent gelateria called Luna Rossa.
Hotel room is spacious, the bed and pillows were very comfortable. They provided an aromatherapy kit which will help one to sleep better, which is a nice touch. Toiletries were L'Occitane branded, another plus point. No complaints about customer service, they were helpful and English-speaking.
In all a great place to stay. Plenty of food and shopping nearby. Town centre is a few mins walk away. Maastricht is a very pedestrian friendly city.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank BoonH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leusden
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Located on the Maas (Meuse) river, this property provides for a good nights' sleep within walking distance of just about every attraction in the center of Maastricht. From other reviews it seems a bit of a gamble on your interactions with the staff, I can only say that all staff I met were friendly and helpful. A criticism I do share is that the air conditioning was less effective than I prefer, leaving the room warmer than I would have liked. Then again I was there on a fairly warm day. I stayed in one of the club rooms, no river view but a comfortable and spacious room in the "new" side of the hotel.

Room Tip: River view for a romantic getaway, but you do run the risk of some noise from foot traffic along the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bram s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Stayed with a group of friends for 3 nights in early july. In maastricht to see Andre Rieu --great.The Crown Plaza was an overpriced disappointment,food was basic,expected better.Bed was good but not the split level room.The best thing about the hotel is the wonderful outside terrace. 3star at best.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank normanstephens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowne6221, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Maastricht, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. Our hotel is very proud of its 4 star level of service and quality of its product.

I can assure you that your comfort and satisfaction are of utmost importance to us and for that please accept my sincere apologies if your stay was negatively affected by service you received from our hotel.

Yours Sincerely,

Crowne Plaza Maastricht

Sander Janssen
Sales & Marketing Coördinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Went to Maastricht for a conference, and chose this hotel based on location on the river, and was not disappointed.
+ Location is excellent -- easy walk by the river to the convention center. The staff was friendly. The rooms were comfortable, clean and good-sized. The bed was divine! The hotel restaurant was surprisingly good! I ran every morning by the river!

- Wireless internet is relatively expensive compared to other places. No pool. No adjoining gym

Overall, a very pleasant place to stay! The only reason for not giving it 5 stars is the internet price.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IntnlTravelReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowne6221, Sales & Marketing Coördinator at Crowne Plaza Hotel Maastricht, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your feedback, we appreciate this very much!

The reason we still aks a fee for a wifi voucher is because we guarantee a high speed 100% safe and secure connection with a data transfer up to 250mb.

Yours Sincerely,

Crowne Plaza Maastricht

Sander Janssen
Sales & Marketing Coördinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maastricht hotels
0.7 mi away
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
#1 of 40 in Maastricht
4.5 of 5 stars 917 reviews
0.4 mi away
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
#5 of 40 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 stars 1,110 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampshire Designhotel - Maastricht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Beaumont
Hotel Beaumont
#4 of 40 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 stars 909 reviews
0.9 mi away
NH Maastricht
NH Maastricht
#8 of 40 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 stars 899 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kaboom Hotel
Kaboom Hotel
#2 of 40 in Maastricht
4.5 of 5 stars 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Maastricht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Maastricht

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel Maastricht
Address: De Ruiterij 1, 6221 EW Maastricht, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Maastricht
#9 Business Hotel in Maastricht
#9 Family Hotel in Maastricht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Maastricht 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Crowne Plaza Maastricht is the best hotel to stay in the centre of Maastricht, the city of the Maastricht treaty. The hotel is unique and quiet situated on the river Maas, in the city centre. Crowne Plaza Maastricht is easy accessible and has its own underground car park.Crowne Plaza offers luxuriously regular rooms as well as Clubrooms on a 5-star level, all equipped with air conditioning and high-speed internet.You are sure to find excellent wining and dining in the hotel's restaurant 'de Mangerie'. The kitchen team prepares Mediterranean as well as local cuisine with fresh seasonal products.In addition the hotel offers 9 meeting rooms for gatherings up to 400 peoples, dinners up to 700 peoples and parties up to 1500 peoples. Here too, service is of primary importance and the staff goes just that step further when advising their guests.You find the historical city centre, were the bars with the famous terraces, shops and restaurants are situated, within walking distance. In short: Hotel Crowne Plaza Maastricht is the address for a wonderful stay and a successful gathering!Special events during the year in Maastricht: TEFAF:The European Fine Art Fair, Carnival, Preuvenemint, concert of André Rieu, Winterland. Pursuant to the Dutch legislation regarding the ban on smoking the hotel is entirely non-smoking by 1 July 2008. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, IHG, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Maastricht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Maastricht
Maastricht Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing