We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great situation - A very good level of satisfaction”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Maastricht
Ranked #12 of 38 Hotels in Maastricht
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This hotel is amazingly situated.
10 minutes walking to the Vrijthoff!

Nice rooms, nice view (with a room on the river side).
Private parking!
Very good breakfast!
Beautifull terrace!
The only problem : for such an hotel, no pool, no SPA - that's pretty bad.

Room Tip: prefer a room on the river side!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (750)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

298 - 304 of 750 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2013

I can not fault any single aspect of this hotel. Friendly reception (they parked my car for me). Lovely, large room and beautiful bathroom. Comfortable bed and good linen. I had dinner in the hotel and it was divine. BUT: All in Euros: 22 per day for parking, 17 per day for WiFi and 372 for two nights stay. A room with absolutely NO VIEW. The room had good air conditioning.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We stayed here four nights on our recent trip to thee charming city of Maastricht, Holland. This is our second time staying here. It is located in the older section of town walkable from the main train station (10 min.) This property is showing wear: rooms are quite small and dated in need of a facelift; carpets are showing wear and tear. Floor in restaurant is definetly in need of replacement. We left our AC on high for the four days we were there and it barely cooled our room to 78 degrees. We opened the sliding door at night or it would have been extremely uncomfortable to sleep. Our TV stopped working the second morning. A staff member did try to fix it, but could not. We didn't get reception back until the night before we left. When inquiring about a credit upon check-out the only response was sorry for the inconvenience. The breakfast each day was decent. The choices are exactly the same each day however. No cooked to order eggs are available; only boiled eggs and scrambled which were not the best. Drinks in the bar were quite expensive, but the bartenders are all great. Everyone speaks wonderful English and are a lot of fun to talk with. This hotel is very overpriced for what you receive other than the location and great bartenders. Maastricht is a great town. Wonderful restaurants and many things to see and a great place to base yourself for several day trips. We enjoyed our stay, but please work on the AC!! We did receive a free newspaper for being Priority Club members each day. Staff are generally nice and English will not be a problem here in Maastricht or this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the higher floors with a glass sliding door and a balcony. It may be the only AIR...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chapmack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Maastricht, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Dear chapmack,

Thank you for being an IHG Rewards Club member. We appreciate your loyalty and your feedback regarding your experience at our hotel. Please accept our sincere apology for the shortcomings you experienced and regret we fell short of your expectations in some aspects of your stay. As our success is measured by how our guests evaluate our services and facilities, we want you to know that the feedback we receive are taken seriously. We have taken note of your valuable comments and these will be shared with our management team for the purpose of bringing improvement needed.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and leaving us a candid feedback.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We were in Maastricht as my wife wanted to see the Andre Rieu concert, so I chose the Crowne Plaza mainly because of it's central location. The hotel is just a short 5 euro taxi ride from the station and the check-in was very friendly and efficient. We had pre-booked an evening meal and our table was reserved with a minimum of fuss.
The room itself was very nice with a huge bed and with TV that had BBC1&2. The bathroom, as mentioned in other reviews, was a little worn and out of character with the bedroom. But it was clean and the shower was good, so not a real issue. My main issue with the hotel was the wi-fi. You get used to free wi-fi these days but here they still charge, I think 12 euros for 24 hours. It didn't really matter as I was on holiday, not business, so no real need, but they should re-think their policy.
We dined in the hotel restaurant and had a very pleasant meal overlooking the river. The same restaurant was used for breakfast which became a little chaotic as the hotel was full. But the selection was perfectly fine so no complaints there.
The center of Maastricht is a pleasant 15 minutes stroll and it is a lovely city. My only issue, as in other Dutch towns, are the bikes. There are literally thousands of the things rushing around so you have to be very careful even on walkways.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank soluta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I stayed 2 nights to attend a meeting and do a little sightseeing in the town. I can think of 2 positive things about this hotel: one is the location right on the river, right next to a foot bridge that leads to the centre of town. The other is that the bed was quite comfortable. Now for the negatives, my room and indeed much of the hotel was suffocatingly hot with inadequate ventilation. The a/c in my room churned non stop without actually putting out any cool air. The first morning, I asked for this to be looked at but it never was. I asked again the second day and the woman at the desk said she didn't know anything about it since she had just come on duty. When I checked out, I was asked how my stay was and I said not very good due to the malfunctioning a/c. The clerk remarked "Oh, that's strange" and no more was said. Other negatives, the food prepared for our meeting was plentiful but not very good and the conference facilities were cramped as well as hot. My bathroom had old, worn fixtures, no water pressure to speak of, and when I pulled out a tissue the whole box fell off the wall and swung by a nail. It didn't matter since when I pulled the one tissue, the box was empty. To top it off the internet was outrageously expensive. Not a pleasant experience overall.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Snarth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Maastricht, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Dear Snarth,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We are sorry for the problems you experienced in your room and regret the way your concerns were handled by our staff. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

In general a good, if expensive experience. The staff were very helpful. The dinner for €38 and breakfast at €28 were too much for what they were. However when I said we'd be eating breakfast elsewhere, a special offer of £17.50 was announced. As said by others, the hotel is dated and needs refurbishing.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Benecke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Maastricht, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Dear Benecke,

Thank you very much for your review. We are elated to know that you like our staff service. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product and we strive to provide competitive rates within the area. I'm deeply sorry that we fell below your expectations particularly with the restaurant rates. I have noted your valuable comments and I will make sure that this will be looked into and be forwarded to the departments involved. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to serve you again should your travels bring you back to the area.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

I and my wife stayed at this hotel whilst attending Andre Rieu's Maastricht concert and came away feeling they could do better. The bathroom and décor generally are dated, the air conditioning ineffective, whilst additional services seemed expensive (e.g. parking). On top of that the food (on the Chef's Menu) was uninspired, insipid and tasteless. We had one of everything off the first three courses and were unimpressed. The spinach overdose didn't improve matters.

On the positive side, the staff were friendly, helpful, spoke English. Our room was clean, of a decent size, the beds were comfy and we had a river view. The hotel is nicely located next to the river Maas, within easy walking distance to the (wonderful) city centre.

Would we come to Maastricht again - yes, but we'd look for a different hotel. If we stayed at this hotel again we would certainly eat out. So overall an average hotel but at an expensive price.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view on the second or higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MKOxon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Maastricht, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Dear MKOxon,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. I'm glad to hear you found our staff to be friendly and helpful. However, I would like to apologize for the overall dissatisfaction you had experienced because of the rates. We are hospitality professionals who work diligently to ensure our facilities are well maintained and we strive to provide service rates that are competitive in the area. It is certainly not our intent to inconvenience our valued customers, but to instead provide good value, comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. Thank you for staying with us and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maastricht hotels
0.9 mi away
NH Maastricht
NH Maastricht
#13 of 38 in Maastricht
1,370 reviews
0.4 mi away
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
#6 of 38 in Maastricht
1,361 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampshire Designhotel - Maastricht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Beaumont
Hotel Beaumont
#5 of 38 in Maastricht
1,203 reviews
2.5 mi away
Buitenplaats Vaeshartelt
Buitenplaats Vaeshartelt
#10 of 38 in Maastricht
876 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
#4 of 38 in Maastricht
1,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Maastricht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Maastricht

Address: De Ruiterij 1, 6221 EW Maastricht, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Maastricht
#7 Luxury Hotel in Maastricht
#9 Business Hotel in Maastricht
Price Range: $125 - $404 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Maastricht 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Crowne Plaza Maastricht is the best hotel to stay in the centre of Maastricht, the city of the Maastricht treaty. The hotel is unique and quiet situated on the river Maas, in the city centre. Crowne Plaza Maastricht is easy accessible and has its own underground car park.Crowne Plaza offers luxuriously regular rooms as well as Clubrooms on a 5-star level, all equipped with air conditioning and high-speed internet.You are sure to find excellent wining and dining in the hotel's restaurant 'de Mangerie'. The kitchen team prepares Mediterranean as well as local cuisine with fresh seasonal products.In addition the hotel offers 9 meeting rooms for gatherings up to 400 peoples, dinners up to 700 peoples and parties up to 1500 peoples. Here too, service is of primary importance and the staff goes just that step further when advising their guests.You find the historical city centre, were the bars with the famous terraces, shops and restaurants are situated, within walking distance. In short: Hotel Crowne Plaza Maastricht is the address for a wonderful stay and a successful gathering!Special events during the year in Maastricht: TEFAF:The European Fine Art Fair, Carnival, Preuvenemint, concert of André Rieu, Winterland. Pursuant to the Dutch legislation regarding the ban on smoking the hotel is entirely non-smoking by 1 July 2008. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, IHG, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Maastricht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maastricht Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing