We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location but a bit Tired!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Maastricht
Ranked #11 of 38 Hotels in Maastricht
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We exhibit at the TEFAF Art Fair every year in Maastricht for two weeks in March and have stayed in this Hotel for over 30 years! It has a wonderful location overlooking the River Meuse and is in an aera of good restaurants and a short walk to the main centre. However, it is now beginning to look and feel a bit tired - the rooms have not been updated for many years and the main reception aera needs modernising. The staff are delightful and most helpful - many have been there for a long time and greet us every year like friends. The Hotel restauranet serves good food but it can take far too long to be served - a problem throughout Holland.
For the 5 Star pricing this Hotel needs attention.

Room Tip: Choose one overlooking the River.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sasparilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowne6221, Sales Manager at Crowne Plaza Maastricht, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Dear Crowne Plaza Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this comment. We highly appreciate our guests feedback about their stay with us and hope you had a wonderful time in Maastricht during the TEFAF.

We always take our guests reviews very serious, which is why we will discuss yours during our next Management Team Meeting to see what we can improve to maintain our hotel and cuisine as good as our staff is.

Hopefully we may welcome you during next years TEFAF.

Kind regards
Mariska Schuurmans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (732)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

313 - 319 of 732 reviews

Reviewed March 9, 2013

I stayed at Friday night
Executive Room is good,
there were 2 bottle water (complimantary in the room)
Staffs were friendly and helpful
Breakfast was common as buffet
The only problem was the internet
No free wifi and
business center comp can be used only 15 minutes

Room Tip: IF you only want to find a room for relax and quiet You can choose this hotel, if you want to use i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RYDL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowne6221, Sales Manager at Crowne Plaza Maastricht, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Thank you for writing this comment, we really value our guests opinion about their stay.

Kind regards
Mariska Schuurmans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

During my stay in the Crowne Plaza I found the service an excellent and the reception perfect in suttisfying the needs of client. Especially nice was a man at the reception who was wondering politely about my country of origin, because of my complicate surname ) being an extremely 'charmant' he even showed me the shortest way to the railway station from the hotel and served the best cup of coffee I had in the Netherlands. Miracles of communication!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yana_Chernopyshchuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowne6221, Sales Manager at Crowne Plaza Maastricht, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Dear Crowne Plaza Guest,

Thank you for writing this nice review about your stay with us. It is always good to know that we helped as best as we can.

We hope to welcome you some time soon in Maastricht!

Warm regards
Mariska Schuurmans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I have stayed in this Hotel in the past and a lot of others in the area- I perfer this hotel as all personal are pleasent and call me by my first name- The rooms are excellent - the area is full of all different Restaurants within walking distants- All types of coffee shops. Besides the hotel has a restaurant and coffee shop- Most of the staff speak english. Site seeing is all around you and shoping night is on Thursday in which all the stores stay open till late' You can take a cruise on the Maas River. There is a train station just up the road in case you want to visit other towns in the area' For a business man or family I recommend this hotel

Room Tip: Just ask at the front desk and the the staff will help in chooseing a good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Henry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowne6221, Sales Manager at Crowne Plaza Maastricht, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Dear Mr. Henry,

Thank you for recommending our hotel in Maastricht. It is great to read you feel so much at home in our hotel. Of course the location is prefect, but without our team we couldn't do this.

It will be great to welcome you again some time soon in Maastricht!

Warm regards
Mariska Schuurmans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

After trekking through the cold weather in Maastricht we were greeted by a warm welcome of the Crowne Plaza Maastricht and its staff. The receptionist who checked us in and out, was extremely helpful and recommended 2 town squares we should visit, a beautiful coffee shop in a church amongst other things. The Executive Room we stayed in was very relaxing, extremely clean and with a large balcony which looked over the city of masstricht. Heating was fantastic and very quiet. The bed was one of the most comfortable I have ever stayed in! Towels were also MASSIVE!
Staff also allowed us store our bags after checking out while we toured the town further.
Only complaint I could give is that there should be free internet/wifi, in some parts of the hotel. At least even in the lobby, or in the form of a business centre etc. Even though it was cheap for one hour 3 euro.
Overall cleanliness perfect, staff very friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diarmuidv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowne6221, Sales Manager at Crowne Plaza Maastricht, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Dear Crowne Plaza Guest,

Thank you for writing such a nice comment about your stay with us! It is our aim to make sure all our guests have a good night of sleep. This is why Crowne Plaza invented the 'Sleep Advantage' program 4 years ago to make sure the beds a perfect.

The reason Wifi is not free in our hotel, is because we offer a high speed safe and secure connection.

It would be great to welcome you again in the near future.
Warm regards
Mariska Schuurmans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

The Crowne Plaza is right on the Maas river (hence, Maastricht) near the junction with another river that flows in to Belgium. The property's architecture and layout is strange, and would never be replicated as it is not efficient and seems to be quite expensive to run and maintain. However the front desk id all the usual helpful things, such as provide a map, recommend a restaurant hold our bags etc. Make sure you do a trip on the river, and if you are a D'Artagnan fan 'All for one and one for all' you are in luck. I also recommend the chalk caves under the hill; be on time as they leave punctually. We rode bikes everywhere, easy to rent at the train station. We also walked to the hotel from the station; about 15 to 20 minutes, easy. Breakfast was great!

Room Tip: The river view is good - but I like barges so I am biased.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AusInNetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowne6221, Sales Manager at Crowne Plaza Maastricht, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Dear Crowne Plaza Maastricht Guest,

Thank you writing this nice comment about our hotel. I would like to take the opportunity to inform you why the building differs in heights and why it looks the way it looks. The architect who designed the hotel, tried to maintain the differs in height in the close surrounding of the hotel in the building itself. The part of town called 'Wyck', where the hotel is locted, was kwnon for the different buildings, warehouses etc. And indeed, the hotel is build in the 70's.

I think it is great that while staying with us, you really did cultural things like the boat and the bikes. Whenever you visit Maastricht again, let us know and we are happy to provide you with even more information about all activities in town and the region.

Warm regards
Mariska Schuurmans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed with wife ..upgraded due to party in hotel, never a bad thing.
Very friendly staff ,fixed heating problem promptly.
Breakfast buffet ok , coffee almost drinkable by hotel standards.
Hotel will need a freshen up in a couple of years ,but overall would go back for quiet and riverside location if nothing else.
Italian restaurant across street friendly , good food , line storehouse on Sorr also good. Coffee shop in 100 metres...
Other hotels so far tried locally not better

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martinr56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowne6221, Sales Manager at Crowne Plaza Maastricht, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Dear Crowne Plaza Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this comment about our hotel, we really appreciate this. Of course we always want to make sure you enjoy your stay with us and the upgrade because of the event is one of the extra's we would like to do in this case.

It would be great if we may welcome you back in the near future.
Warm regards
Mariska Schuurmans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maastricht hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampshire Designhotel - Maastricht
0.9 mi away
NH Maastricht
NH Maastricht
#12 of 38 in Maastricht
1,321 reviews
0.4 mi away
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
#6 of 38 in Maastricht
1,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Beaumont
Hotel Beaumont
#5 of 38 in Maastricht
1,156 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
#3 of 38 in Maastricht
1,390 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kaboom Hotel
Kaboom Hotel
#2 of 38 in Maastricht
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Maastricht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Maastricht

Address: De Ruiterij 1, 6221 EW Maastricht, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Maastricht
#9 Business Hotel in Maastricht
#9 Family Hotel in Maastricht
Price Range: $115 - $333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Maastricht 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Crowne Plaza Maastricht is the best hotel to stay in the centre of Maastricht, the city of the Maastricht treaty. The hotel is unique and quiet situated on the river Maas, in the city centre. Crowne Plaza Maastricht is easy accessible and has its own underground car park.Crowne Plaza offers luxuriously regular rooms as well as Clubrooms on a 5-star level, all equipped with air conditioning and high-speed internet.You are sure to find excellent wining and dining in the hotel's restaurant 'de Mangerie'. The kitchen team prepares Mediterranean as well as local cuisine with fresh seasonal products.In addition the hotel offers 9 meeting rooms for gatherings up to 400 peoples, dinners up to 700 peoples and parties up to 1500 peoples. Here too, service is of primary importance and the staff goes just that step further when advising their guests.You find the historical city centre, were the bars with the famous terraces, shops and restaurants are situated, within walking distance. In short: Hotel Crowne Plaza Maastricht is the address for a wonderful stay and a successful gathering!Special events during the year in Maastricht: TEFAF:The European Fine Art Fair, Carnival, Preuvenemint, concert of André Rieu, Winterland. Pursuant to the Dutch legislation regarding the ban on smoking the hotel is entirely non-smoking by 1 July 2008. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Maastricht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maastricht Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing